Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Jan 19, 2006
Hoosier mayors endorse Major Moves

(INDIANAPOLIS) January 19, 2006 ? More than 30 Indiana mayors met with Governor Daniels today to express their support for his Major Moves economic development plan doubling new construction spending on over 200 transportation projects over the next 10 years. Other mayors from across the state have also expressed their support but were unable to attend the news conference.

?Jobs and growth are issues beyond politics. The presence of mayors of both parties from small and large communities from all corners of the state is appropriate to the goal that must transcend partisanship: the jobs vote of a generation,? said Daniels.

Earlier in the day, mayors met individually with legislators to solicit their support for Major Moves. House Bill 1008, which would authorize public-private partnerships as a funding source for projects included in Major Moves, is currently being considered by the House Ways and Means Committee.

Major Moves has already received the endorsement of over 35 coalition and industry groups including the Indiana Motor Truck Association, Build Indiana Council, Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and the Indiana Association of Realtors. (A complete list is included below.)

The $10.6 billion plan includes such projects as completing the Hoosier Heartland Corridor, accelerating construction of I-69 between Evansville and Indianapolis, and the construction of two Ohio River bridges near Louisville.

To date, more than 50 mayors have expressed support for Major Moves.

The following mayors and municipal leaders attended the news conference to endorse Major Moves:

David W. Abel, Washington

Donald Bowling, Loogootee

James Brainard, Carmel

Kevin Burke, Terre Haute

Jon Costas, Valparaiso

Jon Craig, Petersburg

Steve Croyle, Winchester

Max Ellison, Connersville

Scott Faultless, President, Fishers Town Council

Michael Fincher, Logansport

Bill Graham, Scottsburg

Suzanne Handshoe, Kendallville

Charles Henderson, Greenwood

Don Henderson, President, Pendleton Town Council

Lee Hoard, Delphi

Bruce Hosier, Portland

Dan Klein, Crown Point

Joe Klumpp, Bedford

Matt McKillip, Kokomo

Dave Miller, Elkhart

Terry Mooney, Vincennes

Leigh Morris, LaPorte

Wayne Seybold, Marion

Kevin Smith, Anderson

Don Stock, Frankfort

Gayle Strassell, Tell City

Larry Thompson, Nappanee

Nannette Tunget, Southport

Ernie Wiggins, Warsaw

Joe Wright, Beech Grove

The following mayors have endorsed Major Moves but were unable to attend:

James Acton, Lebanon

Fred Armstrong, Columbus

Herbert Arihood, Rensselaer

Bob Bridges, Rushville

Dan Canan, Muncie

Brad Crain, Covington

John Ditslear, Noblesville

Robert Fox, Monticello

Scott Furgeson, Shelbyville

James Garner, Sr., New Albany

Donnie Hastings, Jr., Aurora

Pam Hendrickson, Boonville

Sam Hubbard, Dunkirk

Bob Hurst, Princeton

Fred Isch, Decatur

Gail Kemp, Huntingburg

Scott King, Gary

Frank P. Manus, Greensburg

Melvin McBrayer, Cannelton

Jan Mills, West Lafayette

Tom Nipp, New Castle

Charles Oberlie, Michigan City

George Ogden, Tipton

Doug Olson, Portage

Beth Packer, Rockport

Jeff Rea, Mishawaka

Tony Roswarski, Lafayette

Ron Shepard, Clinton

Steven Skaggs, Alexandria

Deon Swift, II, Attica

Merrill Taylor, Elwood

Robert Vanlandingham, Wabash

Hugh Wirth, Oakland City

John Zumer, Crawfordsville