Former Gov. Mitch Daniels' Newsroom

Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Mar 2, 2005
Governor names IEDC board members

INDIANAPOLIS (March 2, 2005) ? Governor Mitch Daniels today named several entrepreneurs, business and manufacturing executives, and an agri-business leader to the newly formed Indiana Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors. The board will coordinate Indiana?s economic development efforts and be closely involved in statewide strategy for growing the Hoosier economy.

Daniels signed legislation on Feb. 9 that created the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC), which will actively work to attract, grow and retain business in Indiana. The board, which replaces eight boards that had nearly 100 members, brings all economic development activities into one organization.

?These are people of proven business talent, from companies old and new, large and small, traditional and new economy. I?ve told them all that we expect them to work hard between meetings, developing leads and personally helping to market Indiana worldwide,? said Daniels, who will chair the board.

The board will complement the experience and skills of Patricia Miller, IEDC chief executive officer, and Mickey Mauer, chief operating officer, both distinguished Hoosier business people in their own rights. Miller, who also serves as Secretary of Commerce, was a founding partner of Vera Bradley, a leading women?s accessories business located in Fort Wayne, and Maurer has a long and distinguished career in law, cable television, newspaper publishing and commercial banking.

The following are members of the board.

  • Sally Rushmore Byrn, West Lafayette, is president and chief executive officer of SSCI, Inc., a company which provides cGMP research and analytical services to pharmaceutical and other industries in the characterization and chemistry of solid materials. She serves on the Lafayette West Lafayette Economic Development Corporation Board and the BioCrossroads Entrepreneurial Advisory Board, among other business and community affiliations. Her company?s rapid growth has been recognized by Indiana University, which named SSCI as a Growth 100 Award in 1998 through 2003.

  • John A Hillenbrand II, Batesville, is chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Glynnadem, Inc., and a member of the board of Hillenbrand Industries. He has been a member of many boards, business associations and appointed positions, including serving as chairman of the Indiana State Chamber of Commerce and as an officer and member of the board of the Health Industries Association and the Indiana Manufacturers? Association. He has been chairman of the Commission of the Department of Natural Resources and co-chairman of the Governor?s Committee for Educational Excellence.

  • Robert L. Koch II, Evansville, is president and chief executive officer of Koch Enterprises, Inc., world leaders in the production of aluminum and magnesium die castings, sealants and adhesives, the design and construction of industrial paint finishing systems and other products and services. He is a member of the board and past chair of the University of Evansville Board of Trustees, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and the Indiana Business-Higher Education Forum. Among his civic involvement, he was chairman of the 1998 United Way Campaign of Southwestern Indiana and co-founder and director of the Community Alliance Foundation and the Vanderburgh Community Foundation for Southwestern Indiana.

  • Cathy Langham, Indianapolis, is president and owner of Langham, a global freight management company which provides transportation, warehousing and distribution services. This family-owned company has grown more than 35 percent in each of the past three years and has created a global network of 800 agents and carriers that provide excellent service. Langham is on the board of directors of Marsh Supermarkets, Inc., Union Planters Bank, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce. She also is the board president of the National Association of Women Business Owners.

  • James C. Marcuccilli, Fort Wayne, is president and CEO of STAR Financial Bank, director of STAR Insurance Agency, Inc., executive vice president and director of STAR Financial Group, Inc., and officer and director of STAR Wealth Management. He is the Indiana representative on the American Bankers Association, board member of the Indiana State Chamber of Commerce and chair of the federal issues committee of the Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce.

  • William G. Mays, Indianapolis, is president of Mays Chemical Company, Inc., a fully integrated chemical distributor which serves a variety of customers, including the food, pharmaceutical, beverage and automotive industries. His one-person company now has more than 180 employees and more than $180 million in sales. He also is the owner of the Indianapolis Recorder, the nation?s fourth oldest surviving black newspaper. Among board memberships, Mays serves on the Indianapolis Convention and Visitors Association, the Indiana University Foundation and the United Way of Central Indiana.

  • Dane A. Miller, Warsaw, is founder, president, chief executive officer and director of Biomet, Inc., a leading designer and manufacturer of total joint replacement products. The company has grown from sales of $17,000 in 1978 to an international business with sales exceeding $500 million. Miller is a member of the board of directors at First Source Bank, South Bend, and Catheter Research, Inc., Indianapolis, as well as chair of the industry council for the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

  • John M. Mutz, Indianapolis, chairman of the board of the Lumina Foundation for Education, retired in 1999 as president of PSI Energy, Indiana?s largest electric utility. He served two terms as lieutenant governor and was a member of the Indiana General Assembly for 13 years. Mutz also served for more than four years as president of the Lilly Endowment, Inc. During that time, the Endowment expanded its work outside of the Indianapolis area by using matching grants to encourage the creation of more than 45 local community foundations.

  • T.M. (Tim) Solso, Columbus, is chairman and chief executive officer of Cummins, Inc., which designs, manufactures, distributes and services engines and other technologies. He joined Cummins in 1971 and has served in a number of capacities with the company. Solso is a member of the DePauw University Board of Trustees as well as a board member of Ashland Inc., Irwin Financial Corporation, Cummins Foundation, Heritage Fund of Bartholomew County, Central Indiana Corporate Partnership and Ball Corporation.

  • Kip Tom, Leesburg, is president of Tom Farms, a family business that is a leader in seed corn production and provides services globally to Pioneer HiBred. The company has seed corn production operations in the United States and Argentina. Tom is a member and past chair of the Texas Executive Agriculture Producers Association and a member and past chair of the AAPEX Association of Global Farm Executives. He also has served on the Governor?s Commission on Groundwater.

  • Bruce White, Merrillville and Edwards, Colo., is chairman and chief executive officer of White Lodging Services Corporation, a hotel ownership, development and operating company headquartered in Merrillville. He has developed hotels in excess of $500 million. White is charter president of Marriott?s Courtyard and Fairfield Inn Franchise Advisory Council, a member of the Residence Inn Association and chairman of the System Marketing Fund. He also has been a trustee of the University of Chicago Hospitals.


Additional biography information and headshots are available. Please contact Jason Tomcsi, governor?s fellow in the Office of the Governor, 317/232-1800; e-mail,

Office of the Governor media contact: Jane Jankowski, 317/232-1622;