Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

For Immediate Release: Oct 11, 2005
Governor names new members of Indiana State Board of Education

INDIANAPOLIS (October 11, 2005) – Governor Mitch Daniels today named six new members of the Indiana State Board of Education. The appointments include two school superintendents, two current or former school board members, a college president, and a business leader who works with K-12 schools.

“There is no more important task in Indiana than improving the quality of our citizens’ education. We’ve named individuals who bring a fresh outlook to the board and are committed to helping kids reach their full potential and our schools achieve true academic excellence,” said the governor. “They bring helpful experience and perspectives to their work with Dr. Reed on the board.”

Daniels said his charge to the board would include:

• reviewing rules and regulations with an eye toward changes that will give teachers more time to teach and principals more time to lead

• spending funds more wisely and moving more dollars to the classroom

• deepening the state’s commitment to accountability and results

“Teachers and principals constantly tell me the state imposes too much red tape. I’m sure there were good reasons to create each rule we have, but clearly some are hindering teachers from doing what they need to do most – spend time with kids,” said Daniels. “Likewise, we must find ways to direct more of the $10,000 per student we now spend to the classroom, in the form of better pay for teachers, making classes smaller and achieving better results at all grade levels.”

The governor’s appointments to the board of education are:

• Jo Blacketor of South Bend. She is an insurance agent and served as an at-large school board member of the South Bend Community School Corporation from 1997 to 2004. She is also a member of the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce.

• Jim Edwards of Santa Claus. He is president of Edwards and Associates, a management consulting firm. He has worked with K-12 schools in southwestern Indiana on workforce development issues.

• Edward Eiler of Lafayette. He is the superintendent of the Lafayette School Corporation and a member of the Lafayette-West Lafayette Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

• Daniel J. Elsener, president of Marian College in Indianapolis. He has worked in the K-12 education community as a teacher, principal and superintendent.

• Todd Huston of Fishers. He is director of business operations for Komputrol, a company which provides schools and municipalities with financial accounting software. He serves as a member of the board for Hamilton Southeastern Schools.

• Michael Pettibone of Monroe. He is superintendent of Adams County Community Schools. He is a member of the board of the Indiana Small and Rural Schools Association.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Suellen Reed chairs the Board of Education. The 10 other members must represent each of the state’s congressional districts. All appointments are for four years, retroactive to July 1.