Main Content


Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission

During his 2019 State of the State Address, Governor Eric J. Holcomb announced the volunteer citizen members of the Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission as a part of his effort to make teacher pay competitive with surrounding states. Governor Holcomb and the commission are committed to raising teacher pay in Indiana.

The commission has been tasked with determining what constitutes competitive teacher compensation in Indiana and with providing recommendations for how to achieve it. The commission will deliver the recommendations to the governor and the General Assembly prior to the 2021 legislative session.

Commission and advisory council members

  • Commission Chairman Michael L. Smith (Indianapolis), former chairman, president and CEO of Mayflower Group and former executive vice president and CFO of Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
  • Melissa Ambre (Noblesville), director of the Office of School Finance for the Indiana Department of Education
  • Jená Bellezza (Gary), COO of Indiana Parenting Institute
  • Tom Easterday (Zionsville), former senior executive vice president, secretary & chief legal officer for Subaru of Indiana Automotive
  • Rebecca Gardenour (New Albany), member of the New Albany-Floyd County Board of School Trustees and member of the Indiana School Boards Association
  • Marianne Glick (Indianapolis), chair of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation and board member of the Gene B. Glick Company
  • Emily Holt (Arcadia), math teacher at Westfield High School
  • Dan Holub (Indianapolis), executive director of the Indiana State Teachers Association
  • Katie Jenner (Madison), senior education advisor to Gov. Holcomb
  • Bob Jones (Evansville), chairman and former CEO of Old National Bancorp
  • Nancy Jordan (Fort Wayne), former senior vice president of Lincoln Financial Group
  • Lee Ann Kwiatkowski (Greenwood), director of public education and CEO of Muncie Community Schools
  • Denise Seger (Granger), chief human resource officer for Concord Community Schools in Elkhart
  • David Smith (Evansville), superintendent of Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation

Input Sessions

The commission wants to hear from you. It will be conducting public events in different parts of the state to solicit ideas and solutions.

  • Monday, August 19, 7:00 p.m. ET at
    Ivy Tech Culinary and Conference Center, Second Floor Ballroom,
    2820 N. Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208
  • Saturday, August 24, 10:00 a.m. CT at
    Central High School auditorium,
    5400 First Avenue, Evansville, IN 47710
  • Tuesday, August 27 at 7:00 p.m. ET at
    Concord Jr. High Cafeteria,
    59397 County Road 11, Elkhart, IN 46517

Get Email Updates

Page Updates
Email Topics