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3505.00.00      OVERVIEW OF THE HEALTHY INDIANA PLAN (HIP) 

The Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) is a demonstration waiver approved under Section 1115(a) 
of the Social Security Act effective January 1, 2008, and it was authorized to continue 
through January 31, 2014.  

HIP 2.0 is a demonstration waiver approved under Section 1115(a) of the Social Security 
Act effective February 1, 2015, and is authorized to run for 3 years and is subject to 
renewal.  Effective February 1, 2018 the HIP waiver was extended another 3 years with 
improvements and updates that will be explained in the following sections. The authority 
for this program is derived from the Special Terms and Conditions approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), along with regulations at 405 Indiana 
Administrative Code Article 9. 

HIP provides a comprehensive benefit plan for eligible uninsured adults.  It is a high-
deductible health plan that utilizes an account similar to a health savings account called 
the POWER account - Personal Wellness and Responsibility Account - which provides 
incentives for members to obtain recommended preventive care.   



The following sections of this chapter explain the eligibility requirements and 
methodologies used by the Division of Family Resources to determine HIP eligibility and 
the policies regarding POWER account contributions.  Additional information about HIP 
and how to apply can be found on the website www.in.gov/fssa/HIP/. 

3510.00.00 MCE SELECTION PERIOD FOR HIP MEMBERS (MCE LOCK-IN) 

Once fully open after an application, all HIP members are assigned and/or select an MCE 
for a calendar year and are not able to switch until the end of that calendar year.  This is 
also referred to as a “lock-in” to a specific MCE.  Every year between the dates of 
November 1st and December 15th, enrolled HIP members are eligible to pick a new MCE 
for the following year.  

All changes will be effective January 1st and stay in effect for the next calendar year, even 
if the member has a gap in coverage during the year. If a new application is submitted 
and a different MCE is picked and/or paid, the member will automatically be reassigned 
to their calendar year MCE and payment will be refunded and HIP will not open until the 
correct MCE is paid.   The member is not eligible to be opened for a past month paid to a 
wrong MCE, and a member (or ICP or AR) who mistakenly paid the wrong MCE cannot 
call the enrollment broker to move payment or change MCE. 

The only time a HIP applicant can change an MCE with the enrollment broker is: 
 

1. When they are completely new to the system, have not already paid an MCE, and 
have never been fully open in HIP during the current calendar year. These 
pending/conditional members have 55 days to make a change but their 60 days 
to pay does not restart.  
 

2. During the annual MCE Selection period for HIP which occurs every year from 
November 1 to December 15. The new assignment will not be effective until 
January 1 of the next year.    
 

3. At any time of the year, when a member requests a “Just Cause” review of their 
MCE selection because they are completely unable to access the needed provider 
type (preference for a specific provider is not a “Just Cause”) within their 
currently assigned MCE.  This request should first be made to their current MCE. 
If the current MCE cannot assist or member is not satisfied with decision, member 
should contact Maximus. Maximus will coordinate with MCE, and if they believe it 
to be a “Just Cause” will then forward it to OMPP for a final decision. 

 

    

 

http://www.in.gov/fssa/HIP/


 

 

3515.00.00      GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: AGE AND HEALTH  
                         INSURANCE  
 
To qualify for HIP, an individual must1  

(1) Be at least age 19 but not yet age 65.  
 
(2) Not be enrolled in or eligible for enrollment in the federal Medicare program. 
 
(3) Not be eligible and not enrolled in another Medicaid assistance category. 
 
(4) Have countable household income equal to or less than 133% (plus the 5% 

disregard) of the federal poverty level (FPL). 

An applicant who may be eligible both for HIP and another Medicaid category will first 
have their eligibility assessed for the other category of Medicaid. An individual may be 
enrolled in HIP only if they are ineligible for the other aid category.  

However, a person claiming to be disabled, who is not in an institution or approved for 
HCBS waiver services, may be approved for HIP pending a determination for Medicaid 
disability, if they request HIP during this time.  This can be asked during the interview.  If 
later found eligible for another Medicaid category, HIP must be discontinued to allow for 
the person’s eligibility to be transferred to the other category the following month. 

If a disabled person fails to complete the initial interview within 30 days, they should be 
processed for HIP, rather than automatically denied. 

3515.05.00      MEDICALLY FRAIL 

Medically frail means an individual who is determined to have any one of the following: 

1) A disabling mental disorder 
2) A chronic substance abuse disorder 
3) A serious and complex medical condition 
4) A physical, intellectual, or developmental disability that significantly impairs 

the individual’s ability to perform one or more activities of daily living.2  
5) A disability determination from SSA but is not eligible for MA A, MA B or MA D 

due to income or resources 

HIP health plans will confirm the member’s frailty within 60 days of the member’s 
authorization to receive HIP benefits. Effective January 1, 2016, HIP health plans will 
confirm the member’s frailty within 30 days of the member’s authorization to receive HIP 



benefits. 

3515.10.00      OTHER MEDICAID AND MEDICARE COVERAGE 

An eligible Medicaid recipient enrolled in another category cannot choose to voluntarily 
withdraw from another Medicaid category for the purpose of enrolling in HIP. However, a 
HIP recipient that becomes eligible for another Medicaid category (excluding pregnancy, 
refer to 3515.10.00) must have HIP discontinued so that the recipient is eligible in the 
other Medicaid category. Additionally, DFR must evaluate whether the person is entitled 
to any retroactive coverage under the other Medicaid category, since HIP benefit begin 
dates are determined upon financial contribution to a POWER account. 

In situations of dual processing, it is important to inform the applicant/AR that HIP 
coverage will not be removed retroactively.  For applicants that are in a nursing facility or 
are in the process of being approved for a waiver, it is best practice to pursue the MA D 
process as opposed to process for HIP coverage.   
 

Medicare beneficiaries are categorically ineligible for HIP. If a HIP member becomes 
eligible for Medicare, including eligibility for retroactive Medicare benefits that overlap 
HIP eligibility, HIP eligibility shall cease to allow for advanced notice of adverse action 
(see section IHCPPM 2232.00.00). However, the health plan is prevented from recovering 
any payment for services, where there was overlapping Medicare and HIP coverage, 
when the member’s overlapping Medicare coverage is limited to Part A only. 

3515.15.00      MINIMUM ESSENTIAL COVERAGE OF DEPENDENTS 

This section is not applicable to low-income parent/caretakers and TMA.  

HIP applicants/recipients, who are either a parent or other caretaker relative of a 
dependent under 19 are required to have their dependents covered under Medicaid, 
CHIP, or other minimum essential coverage. This is considered verified through 
attestation by the applicant/recipient parent/caretaker. Such dependents that have 
applied for or are receiving Medicaid or CHIP meet this requirement. 

3515.20.00      OTHER GENERAL HIP ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

The Medicaid requirements outlined in Chapter 2400 regarding the following are 
applicable to the HIP program: 

Requirement to provide a Social Security Number; 
 
State residency; 
 
Assignment of medical rights and medical support cooperation (does not apply to 
pregnant women and HIP TMA eligible recipients); 



 
Citizenship status, including the documentation requirements; 

Emergency-services-only health coverage is available for eligible immigrants who 
categorically qualify for HIP. Refer to section 2402.20.50.05. Immigrants who 
categorically qualify for HIP with limited emergency-services-only will be placed under 
the MARB category, and the effective date of coverage will be the month benefits are 
authorized by DFR. Immigrants eligible under MARB with limited emergency-only 
coverage will not be placed into managed care with a HIP health plan. Immigrants who 
categorically qualify for HIP with limited emergency-services-only are not required to 
make any financial contribution to a POWER account. The month of authorization is 
viewed as the month the payment would have been made had the person been subject 
to POWER account contributions. DFR must not delay authorization of benefits when an 
immigrant has met and verified all financial and non-financial requirements to be 
determined eligible for MARB with limited emergency-services-only. There is no 
retroactive coverage for any individual receiving emergency services under HIP.  

3520.00.00      CATEGORICAL ELIGIBILITY FOR HIP 

The following subsections explain the categorical requirements for each HIP category. 

3520.05.00      AMERICAN INDIAN/ALASKA NATIVE 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MANA.  

An American Indian or Alaska Native eligible for MARP or MASP will also have the option 
to Opt-out to MANA. Coverage under MARP or MASP is a managed-care health plan, but 
MANA provides fee-for-service coverage that is equivalent to Package A, but specific to 
the HIP program. Once an eligible American Indian/Alaskan Native is authorized under 
HIP Plus or HIP State Plan Plus they will have the option to Opt-out into MANA. An 
American Indian/Alaskan Native who meets the eligibility requirements for HIP eligibility 
shall not be subject to any cost-sharing requirements under any HIP category.[2] In order 
to be eligible for no cost-sharing the individual must be a “verified” American 
Indian/Alaska Native. Please refer to section 2402.15.10 for a list of acceptable 
documents.    

3520.10.00      HIP Plus-State Plan (MED 3) 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MASP. 

To be eligible for MASP an adult must be an Indiana resident who is at least 19 years of 
age and less than 65 years of age and have income less than 133% of the FPL, unless the 
person qualifies for TMA. An individual may not be enrolled in or eligible for enrollment 
in the federal Medicare program. Participants included are: 
 

1. Low-income parents and caretaker relatives 



2. TMA eligible individuals 
3. Individuals who qualify as medically frail 

 
HIP Plus State Plan requires the member to pay a monthly POWER Account contribution 
(PAC) and only has co-payments on non-emergency use of the hospital emergency 
department. MASP members who are American Indian/Alaska Natives are not required to 
make financial contribution to a POWER Account. The HIP PLUS State Plan has no 
provision for retroactive coverage. The effective date of HIP PLUS State Plan coverage 
begins the first day of the month in which the individual makes an initial POWER account 
contribution.3 
 
3520.15.00      HIP Basic-State Plan (MED 3) 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MASB.  

To be eligible in this category an adult must be an Indiana resident who is at least 19 
years of age and less than 65 years of age with income at or below 100% FPL.  The 
individual will be enrolled in HIP Basic State Plan if they fail to make financial 
contributions towards a POWER account and meet one of the following groups: 

1. Low-income parents and caretaker relatives 
2. individuals that qualify as medically frail 

An individual may not be enrolled in or eligible for enrollment in the federal Medicare 
program. The HIP Basic State Plan has no provision for retroactive coverage. The effective 
date of HIP Basic State Plan coverage begins in the month in which the 60 days to make a 
power account contribution has expired. 4  

3520.20.00      HIP Plus-State Plan with Co-pays (MED 3) 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MAPC. 

To be eligible in this category an adult must have been eligible under MASP, while being 
determined medically frail, having income between 100% FPL and 133%FLP, and fail to 
make ongoing financial contributions to a POWER account.  An individual may not be 
enrolled in or eligible for enrollment in the federal Medicare program. There will be no 
lockout periods for MAPC AGs. The effective date of MAPC coverage begins in the month 
in which the 60 days to make a power account contribution has expired.  

 

3520.25.00      HIP Regular Plus (MED 3) 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MARP. 



To be eligible in this category an adult must be an Indiana resident who is at least 19 
years of age and less than 65 years of age. An individual may not be enrolled in or eligible 
for enrollment in the federal Medicare program or be eligible for any other Medicaid 
category.5 The income standard is 133% FPL.  HIP Regular Plus requires the participant to 
pay a monthly POWER Account contribution (PAC) and only has co-payments on non-
emergency use of the hospital emergency department. The HIP PLUS State Plan has no 
provision for retroactive coverage. The effective date of HIP PLUS coverage begins the 
first day of the month in which the individual makes an initial POWER account 
contribution.6  

3520.30.00      HIP Regular Basic (MED 3) 

This category is identified in the Eligibility System as MARB. 

To be eligible in this category an adult must be an Indiana resident who is at least 19 
years of age and less than 65 years of age with incomes at or below 100% FPL will be 
enrolled in HIP Basic after failing to make financial contributions to a POWER account 
within 60 days of authorization. An individual may not be enrolled in or eligible for 
enrollment in the federal Medicare program or be eligible under any other Medicaid 
category.7 The HIP Basic benefit package applies co-payments to services. The “HIP Basic” 
plan maintains essential benefits, but incorporates reduced benefit coverage and a more 
limited pharmacy benefit. The HIP Basic plan has no provision for retroactive coverage. 
The effective date of HIP Basic coverage begins when the client does not make a POWER 
account contribution within the sixty (60) day payment period.8  

3525.00.00      HIP EFFECTIVE DATE FOR ELIGIBILITY 

For individuals meeting all financial and non-financial requirements to be considered HIP 
eligible, the effective date of eligibility is determined upon whether the person makes a 
timely financial contribution to his POWER account. 

For HIP Regular Plus or HIP State Plus, coverage begins the first day of the month in 
which the individual makes an initial POWER account contribution. There is no retroactive 
coverage under HIP PLUS categories (MARP and MASP).9 

The effective date of HIP Regular Basic or HIP State Basic coverage begins in the month 
the member, whose income is at or below 100% FPL, fails to make a required 
contribution to his POWER account within his sixty (60) day payment period. There is no 
retroactive coverage under HIP Basic categories (MARB and MASB).10 

 

3525.05.00      FAST TRACK ELIGIBILITY (FTE) 

Upon receipt of an application for health coverage but prior to a HIP eligibility 
determination, a HIP health plan will send the pending HIP applicant a $10 fast track 



prepayment invoice that is due within sixty (60) calendar days.11 This initial fast track 
invoice begins the individual’s 60-day deadline to make a required contribution to a 
POWER account. 

If the applicant makes the $10 fast track payment and is subsequently determined 
eligible for HIP, the member will have HIP Plus coverage beginning the month the fast 
track payment was made, and the $10 will be applied toward any remaining amount 
owed by the member toward their POWER account. 

If the applicant who makes the $10 fast track payment is subsequently determined 
ineligible for HIP, the member is entitled to a refund from the managed care health plan 
that received the $10 payment. Please, note it may take up to 60 days for the health plan 
to issue any refund. 

If the applicant does not make a $10 fast track payment and is subsequently determined 
conditionally eligible for HIP, the member will have the option of either paying the $10 
fast track prepayment or paying the amount set forth in the conditional eligibility 
notice.12  

3525.05.05      FAST TRACK ELIGIBILITY (FTE) WITH CREDIT CARD 

When an application for health coverage is completed on-line, applicants who meet the 
following conditions will have the option to make the $10 fast track payment on-line with 
a credit card:  

a) A health plan was chosen on the application 
b) The applicant is at least 19 years old and is less than 65 
c) The applicant is not eligible for Medicare 
d) The applicant is not identified as former foster youth  
e) The applicant is not incarcerated 
f) The applicant does not have a HIP lock-out penalty period in force (refer to 

3555.15.00) 

If an applicant makes a $10 fast track on-line payment with a credit card and is 
subsequently determined eligible for HIP, coverage begins the month the payment was 
made, which would be the month of application, and the $10 will be applied toward any 
remaining amount owed by the member toward their POWER account. A maximum of 5 
individuals on a single application can be eligible for FTE. The Pre-POWER Account 
Contribution (PPAC) payment of $10 is required for each individual who is eligible for FTE.   

If an applicant who makes a $10 fast track on-line payment with a credit card is 
subsequently determined ineligible for HIP, the member is entitled to a refund from the 
HIP health plan that received the $10 payment. Please, note it may take up to 60 days for 
the health plan to issue any refund.  

 



3525.05.10      FAST TRACK ELIGIBILITY AND PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY 

As of 2/1/2018 Presumptive Eligibility (PE) members are no longer eligible to make fast 
track eligibility (FTE) payments during their PE period.  The members going from PE to 
HIP will go Basic Potential Plus as of the month after authorization of their HIP.  The 
intent of this is to eliminate any possibility of overlap between PE and HIP.    

3530.00.00      FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

The income standards for the HIP program are in Section 3010.30.10. 

3530.05.00      INCOME ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

To be eligible for the HIP program, an individual’s countable household income may not 
exceed 133 percent of the Federal Poverty Level for the appropriate household size, 
effective February 1, 2015. Household size and income is determined using Modified 
Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) methodology. Refer to Chapter 2800 and Chapter 3200 of 
the IHCPPM for policy surrounding income and assistance group formation.  

3530.05.05      ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR HIP LOW-INCOME PARENT-CARETAKERS 

This section applies to MASP and MASB. 

To be considered HIP eligible as a low-income parent/caretaker, the HIP adult must be 
the parent or caretaker relative (refer to sections 2420.05.05 and 2420.10.05) of a 
dependent less than 18 years of age and have household income that is equal to or less 
than the standard set in IHCPPM 3010.30.10.05. 

HIP low-income parent/caretakers may be eligible to receive coverage for medical 
services that were received in the ninety (90) calendar days prior to enrollment in HIP. 
This will be limited to new applicants, defined as those not covered through HIP or 
Medicaid within the past two years who:  

i. Did not gain coverage through presumptive eligibility;  
 

ii. Received medical care within the 90 days prior to the   effective date of eligibility; 
and 

 
iii. Submitted for reimbursement within 90 days of the individual’s receipt of the bill for 

such care.  
 

 

 



3530.05.10      ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR HIP TMA 

To be considered HIP eligible for transitional medical assistance (TMA), the HIP adult 
must have been financially eligible as a low-income parent/caretaker (refer to Section 
3530.05.05) in three of the six months immediately preceding ineligibility as a low-
income parent/caretaker due to new or increased earnings. HIP TMA coverage can last 
up to 12 months. For TMA eligibility periods and requirements, refer to Chapter 3800. 

3530.05.15       ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENT FOR POTENTIAL PLUS 

For members’ eligible under either MASB or MARB who experience a verified change in 
which the new household income is above 100% FPL, they will be required to switch to 
either MASP or MARP and will have 60 days to make a required financial contribution to a 
POWER account.  

Members who are required to be switched to MARP and fail to make a timely payment 
will be discontinued and may be subject to a 6-month penalty period.13 Refer to Section 
3555.15.00. 

3530.05.20      ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR HIP LOW-INCOME 19/20 YEAR OLD 

This designation is no longer applicable. 

3530.10.00      RESOURCE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

There is no resource limit for HIP eligibility. 

3540.00.00      POWER ACCOUNT CONTRIBUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

HIP Plus members must make monthly contributions to their POWER account to move 
from conditional to fully eligible status after initial determination. Members must 
continue to make monthly contributions in a timely manner to maintain program 
enrollment. The following sections discuss the specifics of POWER account contribution 
requirements.  

3540.05.00      POWER ACCOUNT CONTRIBUTION AMOUNT DETERMINATION  

All HIP members are initially required to help fund the $2,500 deductible by contributing 
to the POWER account, established by the member’s health plan and jointly funded by 
the member and the State, unless the person is an American Indian/Alaska Native.14 The 
amount of the required member contribution is determined based on the person’s 
countable household income using MAGI methodology. The difference between the 
amount of the deductible and the member’s annual contribution is paid by the State. If 
an individual (at or below 100% FPL) does not make the fast track prepayment nor the 
initial POWER account contribution for HIP Plus, the client will begin HIP Basic or HIP 
State Plan Basic benefits, as applicable, on the first day of the month in which the sixty 



(60) day payment period expires.15   

A member’s monthly POWER Account contribution (PAC) amounts will be tiered, based 
on the Federal Poverty level (FPL) percentage ranges.  The PAC will change only when a 
member’s income change moves them to a different FPL percentage range.  Table 1 
defines the required PAC amounts associated with each tier of FPL percentages.16 

HIP will implement a tobacco use surcharge on PAC amounts for all tobacco users 
effective 1/1/2019.  The MCE and/or Maximus will be in charge of assessing and 
maintaining the member’s tobacco use.   None of the tobacco use information will be 
kept in the State Eligibility System, the DFR will merely pass the information on to the 
MCEs when the member indicates tobacco use or non-use on new applications.  The 
tobacco use surcharge will be equal to a 50% increase in a member’s required PAC.  PAC 
amounts for spouses who are tobacco users will also be assessed a tobacco surcharge.  
See table 1 for the surcharge amounts associated with each PAC tier.     

 

Table 1 – Monthly PAC amounts based on FPL percentages and tobacco surcharges. 

FPL% Individual PAC Amount Individual PAC with 
Tobacco Surcharge 

≤ 22% $1.00 $1.50 

23-50% $5.00 $7.50 

51-75% $10.00 $15.00 

76-100% $15.00 $22.50 

101-138% $20.00 $30.00 

 

An employer or health care provider or provider-related entity may contribute up to one 
hundred percent (100%) of a member's annual POWER account obligation.17 A health 
care provider or provider-related entity may make a contribution to a member’s POWER 
account provided: 

1) The provider or provider-related entity establishes criteria for providing 
assistance that do not distinguish between individuals based on whether they 
receive or will receive services from the contributing provider or providers or 
class of providers; and 
 

2) The provider or provider-related entity does not include the cost of such 



payments in either the cost of care for purposes of Medicare or Medicaid cost 
reporting or as part of a Medicaid shortfall or uncompensated care for any 
purpose.18  

Except for the $1 minimum contribution to a POWER account, a member's out-of-pocket 
cost sharing amount shall not exceed five percent (5%) of the member's annual 
household income.19 The 5% maximum contribution value will be calculated by ICES on a 
quarterly frequency. In the case where two members are married, the combined total of 
both spouses’ required POWER account contributions cannot exceed two percent (2%) of 
the monthly household income, subject to the one dollar ($1) minimum contribution 
amount.20  A member’s POWER account under either MASP or MARP may change in 
accordance with change processing policy when changes are verified. 

3545.00.00      CHANGE PROCESSING 

HIP members are required to timely notify DFR of any changes. (Refer to sections 
2220.05.00 and 2220.10.00). Members receive notice of this requirement through the 
Rights and Responsibilities portion of their application for health coverage.  

An individual who is in the HIP program, who become pregnant during their eligibility 
period will be transitioned to the MAMA category, have their POWER Account suspended 
and stop all cost sharing, refer to Section 2426.00.00.  For pregnant HIP members during 
redetermination, refer to 3550.10.00. 

3545.05.00      POWER ACCOUNT CONTRIBUTIONS IN MULTIPLE-MEMBER HOUSEHOLDS  

For households in which two members are enrolled in HIP, each enrollee will have his/her 
own POWER account. However, for a married couple, the total of both enrollees’ POWER 
account contributions may not exceed two percent (2%) of the family’s household 
income as specified in Section 3550.05.00 of this Chapter. This does not apply to 
unmarried couples.  

3545.10.00      POWER ACCOUNT CONTRIBUTIONS AND INITIAL ELIGIBILITY 

After an individual meets all eligibility requirements for the HIP program, they are 
considered “conditionally eligible” until the first POWER account contribution is made to 
the health plan, unless an FTE payment had already been made (refer to 3525.05.05). If 
the individual fails to make this initial payment within a 60 day timeframe, they are no 
longer conditionally eligible for HIP PLUS. If the individual income is at or below 100% FPL 
they will be enrolled in HIP Basic after failing to make the first POWER account 
contribution. If the individual’s income is above 100% FPL, they are denied HIP eligibility 
for failure to pay Pac payment.    

The effective date of HIP coverage is the first day of the month in which the health plan 
receives the first contribution and establishes the member’s POWER account.21 



3545.15.00      POWER ACCOUNT CONTRIBUTIONS AND CONTINUED ELIGIBILITY 

Members must continue to make POWER account contributions in a timely manner to 
remain enrolled in HIP Plus. If an enrollee fails to make a required contribution within 60 
days after the due date, they will be terminated from HIP Plus. If the individual income is 
at or below 100% FPL they will be enrolled in HIP Basic. 

If an individual is dis-enrolled for failing to make a required contribution, they will be 
ineligible for six (6) months. 

3550.00.00      HIP REDETERMINATIONS 

Sections 2205.00.00, 2205.05.00, 2205.10.00, and 2205.15.00 are applicable to HIP 
members. 

HIP Plus members (MASP or MARP) are required to continue making contributions to 
their POWER account during their redetermination, and if redetermined eligible for HIP 
will be re-enrolled as HIP Plus members (MASP or MARP). 

HIP TMA recipients are exempt from being required to complete an annual 
redetermination. Refer to Chapter 3800. 

3550.05.00      BASIC POTENTIAL PLUS AT REDETERMINATION 

Members that are eligible under either MASB or MARB during their annual 
redetermination and are re-enrolled into HIP with household income less than 100% FPL 
will have the potential to switch to either MASP or MARP if they make a financial 
contribution to a POWER account.22 

3550.10.00      PREGNANT HIP MEMBERS AT REDETERMINATION 

Pregnant hip members will not change categories during redetermination, regardless of 
income changes.  Due to the pregnancy, the member is not required to complete the 
annual redetermination.  

3555.00.00 LOSS OF ELIGIBILITY 

When an eligible HIP recipient loses eligibility for HIP, the member may or may not be 
subject to a 6-month penalty period depending on the reason for termination. If a 
member has eligibility terminated for failing to make a required contribution if over 100% 
FPL, the member will be subject to a 6-month penalty period.23  During this time, the 
individual will not be considered eligible for HIP. Members whose benefits are terminated 
for reasons listed in section 3555.15.05 will not be subject to any 6-month penalty and 
refer to 3555.15.05 for exemption process.  

 



3555.05.00      LOSS OF ELIGIBILITY 

In addition to the failure to make required POWER account contributions in a timely 
manner and voluntarily withdrawing,24 there are several other reasons a member may 
lose HIP eligibility within the 12 month coverage period: 

(1) The individual is no longer an Indiana resident; 
 
(2) The member is enrolled or is otherwise eligible for enrollment in the 

federal Medicare program. 
 

(3) The individual becomes eligible for another Medicaid category, except for 
pregnant women (refer to section 2220.05.00); 
 

(4) The member has household income above one hundred percent (100%) of 
the FPL and is discontinued for failing to make the required POWER account 
contributions.  

 
(5) The member or the member's duly authorized representative requests in 

writing that coverage be terminated (voluntary withdrawal). 
 
(6) The State discovers that the individual has falsified information on the 

application. In this case, the individual may be held financially responsible 
for the amount of payments made on his behalf by the State, including 
POWER account contributions. 

 
(7) The member turns 65 years old. 

 
(8) Except for a member eligible for transitional medical assistance, the 

member's household income exceeds one hundred thirty-three percent 
(133%) of the FPL. 

 
(9)The member fails to verify citizenship or immigration status within 95 days of 

being determined eligible for HIP or conditionally eligible for HIP. (Refer to 
Sections 2402.15.10 and 2402.20.50). 

 
(10) The member dies. 

 
(11) The member does not complete a redetermination timely. Refer to 

Section 3555.10.00. 

NOTE:  If continued eligibility for HIP under these requirements cannot be determined due 
to failure of the member to respond to a request for verification of new or changed 



information, HIP will be closed according to normal MAGI Medicaid guidelines for advance 
notice and appeal rights.25 

3555.10.00  LOSS OF ELIGIBILITY AT REDETERMINATION  

In order to continue HIP participation, members must complete a renewal process every 
12 months. If the agency is unable to redetermine the eligibility of the individual with 
already available information the member is sent an Eligibility Review Form. Members 
who do not follow the renewal process and do not return all documentation requested 
by the agency within 45 days (before the end of the individual’s 12 month coverage 
period) will be dis-enrolled.  
 
Closure due to eligibility failure in the month of redetermination (ex. over the income 
limit for month of redetermination) is not eligible for rescission even if circumstances 
change; a new application would be required. However, if the closure happened because 
correct/complete documentation was not provided, the member may qualify to have the 
closure rescinded.  
 
To qualify for rescission of the closure, the member must comply with returning all 
needed documentation (including signature on the redetermination form, if applicable) 
and if the paperwork is returned late, but before the end of the redet month, the 
member’s HIP may be restored with no gap in coverage and no lockout will apply.  If the 
member complies after the redet month but before the 90th day after the eligibility 
period ends, a new application is not required, but the member can only be authorized 
conditionally. Fully open HIP will not resume until the member either pays the first 
POWER Account payment and opens in Plus coverage, or waits 60 days and defaults to 
Basic coverage. At the end of this 90 day period, a new application would be required in 
order for benefits to be reopened.   
 

3555.15.00      SIX MONTH PENALTY PERIOD 

When a member is discontinued from HIP eligibility for failing to make a required 
financial contribution toward a POWER account, the member is subject to a 6-month 
penalty period, in which the member is ineligible for HIP.26 The penalty period will begin 
the first day of the month following the month the individual was discontinued and will 
last for 6 months.  
 

When a member is closed for failure to complete a redetermination, (for example: failure 
to sign or complete the Redetermination Mailer or failure to verify requested 
verifications) the member has 90 days from the effective date of closure to rectify the 
issue and get benefits reopened.  After the first 90 days have passed and if the client did 
not turn in the verifications needed, the member will be locked out for an additional 90 
days and will not be eligible for benefits until that time is over, for a total lockout period 



of 6 months.   

3555.15.05      EXCEPTIONS TO THE SIX-MONTH PENALTY PERIOD 

When a member is subject to a penalty period (refer to Section 3555.15.00), the person 
may have that penalty period lifted under the following circumstances. 

The following exceptions are applicable26: 

a) the member is confirmed to be frail; 
 

b) the member obtained and subsequently lost private insurance coverage; 
 

c) the member had a loss of income after disqualification due to increased 
income; 

 
d) the member took up residence in another state and later returned to Indiana;  

 
e) the member was a victim of domestic violence; 

 
f) the member was residing in a county subject to a disaster declaration made at 

any time during the sixty (60) calendar days prior to or including the date such 
member was terminated from the plan; 

 

The following members are exempt from lockout of coverage for any reason.  If such a 
member is closed and reapplies, the system should not show a lockout and no lockout 
exemption form is required from them to be reselected for coverage and processed as a 
normal application.  

1) Have a current Medically Frail confirmation 
2) Pregnant or in the postpartum period 
3) Low-Income Parent/Caretakers 
4) Verified Native Americans 
5) Ryan White program members 

 

3560.00.00      Gateway to Work Program 

Gateway to Work is a part of the Healthy Indiana Plan that connects HIP members 
with job training and search assistance, education, community engagement or work 
opportunities.  Starting in 2019, some HIP members will be required to work, go to 
school, volunteer or participate in other qualifying Gateway to Work activities.  

  



Any HIP member can participate in the Gateway to Work program but some are 
required to participate. Based upon the information the member has in their file, one 
of the following status has been assigned to every HIP member: 

Exempt – Exempt members are not required to participate for as long as they remain 
exempt. 

Reporting met – These members already work at least 20 hours per week.  As long 
as their employment information in ICES (screen AEINC) reflects at least 20 hours a 
week or 80 hours a month, they are not required to do anything new for Gateway to 
Work. 

Reporting – These members are required to participate in Gateway to Work by 
working, attending classes or volunteering.   

If the member feels that their current status is not accurate, please have them contact 
their MCE to discuss.   

 Anthem –  1-866-408-6131 
 Caresource – 1-844-607-2829 
 MHS -  1-877-647-4848 
 MDWise - 1-800-356-1204 

  

Many resources are available to help participate in the Gateway to Work program.   

• Website: www.HIP.in.gov, click on “Gateway to Work” 
• General information about Gateway to Work with helpful links to 

assessments, reporting and partners.   
• How and when to contact their health plan and how they can assist with 

this program. 

Required Reporting Hours 

If the Gateway to Work status is “reporting,” they must participate in qualifying 
activities for a set number of hours each month. The number will gradually increase 
over several months following the schedule listed below. 

Date       Required participation hours 

January 2019 – June 2019    0 hours per week/0 hours per month 

July 2019 – September 2019     5 hours per week/20 hours per month 

October 2019 – December 2019   10 hours per week/40 hours per month 

January 2020 – June 2020     15 hours per week/60 hours per month 

http://www.hip.in.gov/


July 2020 – Ongoing 20 hours per week/80 hours per month 

Hours can carry over from week to week, but cannot carry over from month to month. 
The requirement can be met by completing all the hours in one activity or by 
combining multiple activities to reach the required number of hours.  

  Reporting Hours 

Members can report hours:  

• Online – using the member portal.  This can be done on their phone or with a 
desktop computer. 

• With a Partner – they can find a partner on the GTW website to help report 
hours. 

• At their Health Plan – they can call their health plan to report hours. 

Members will need to report the type of activity, the date the activity occurred, the 
location of the activity and the number of hours completed.  

Compliance and Suspension 

Gateway to Work compliance will be reviewed each year. Reporting members will 
need to meet their participation requirement in at least 8 of 12 months of the calendar 
year. Any months they are not enrolled in HIP will not count against them and are 
counted as meeting. The health plan will send them their Gateway to Work status each 
month on a monthly statement. This will help them keep track of their progress 
throughout the year. They may also log on to the member portal to review progress.   

Beginning in October 2019, and annually in October for subsequent years, if they have 
not yet met their requirement for the year, they will have the chance to complete 
online pre-suspension activities to avoid suspension. If they do not meet the annual 
requirement, their HIP health benefits will be suspended on January 1 of the following 
year. The suspension could last up to one full calendar year. They can reactivate 
benefits by completing a month of qualified activity or if they become exempt during 
the suspension. If they are still suspended for Gateway to Work noncompliance at 
year end, the suspended HIP benefits will be fully terminated effective December 31 
of the year of the suspension and will need to reapply for HIP benefits.  

Exemptions 

If they meet any of the following exemptions, they will not be required to participate 
in Gateway to Work. Members may have more than one exemption at a time 

• Age 60 years and older  
• TANF/SNAP recipients (A loss in SNAP/TANF benefits will result in a loss of 

this exemption) 
• Medically frail (A loss in frail status will result in a loss of this exemption) 



• Pregnant  
• Homeless  
• Institutionalized  
• Substance use disorder treatment 
• Recently incarcerated (for a period of at least 30 days in the past six months) 
• Certified temporary illness or incapacity  
• Caregiver: 

o Primary caregiver of a dependent child under age 7 
o Primary caregiver of a disabled dependent  
o Kinship caregivers of abused or neglected children. 

• Student (full- or half-time) 
• Good cause exemption based on individual review 

 
If they meet one of the above listed exemptions and have not been given Gateway to 
Work status of “exempt,” they would need to report the exemption to their health 
plan. Good cause exemptions will be reviewed by the Gateway to Work Unit on an 
individual basis, when necessary.  There is also a process that has been established 
with each MCE to address exemptions. 

Qualifying Activities 

Any combination of activities and hours may be applied each month. 

Work 
• Employment 
• Job search activities  
• Education related to employment (On-the-job training)  
• Homeschooling  
• Members of the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi participating in the tribe’s 

Comprehensive Pathways program  
 

Learn 

• Adult education (GED/HSE) 
• General education 
• College level courses 
• Job skills training  
• Vocational education or training  
• English as a Second Language education  

 
Serve 

• Volunteer work  



• Community service/public service  
• Community work experience 
• Caregiving services 
• Other qualifying activity based on individual review  

3565.00.00      HIP ID CARDS 

A HIP card will be issued from the assigned managed care health plan within five (5) 
calendar days of a new member’s full enrollment. 

 
3570.00.00      FOOTNOTES FOR CHAPTER 3500 
 
The following are the footnotes for Chapter 3500: 

1 405 IAC 10-4-1 
2 405 IAC 10-2-1 
[2] 405 IAC 10-4-7 
3 405 IAC 10-3-2 
4 405 IAC 10-3-2 
5 405 IAC 10-4-1 
 
6 405 IAC 10-3-2 
7 405 IAC 10-4-1 
8 405 IAC 10-3-2 
9 405 IAC 10-3-2 
10 405 IAC 10-3-2 
11 405 IAC 10-3-3 
12 405 IAC 10-3-3(e) 
13 405 IAC 10-4-9(f) 
 
14 405 IAC 10-10-3 
15 405 IAC 10-3-3 
3 CFR 435.603 
17 405 IAC 10-10-10 
18 405 IAC 10-10-4 
19 405 IAC 10-10-3 
20 405 IAC 10-10-3 
 
 
21 405 IAC 10-3-3(f)(1) 
22 405 IAC 10-4-9(e)(2); 405 IAC 10-4-9(e)(4) 
23 405 IAC 10-10-12 
24 405 IAC 10-10-12 
 
25 42CFR 435.916(c)(d) 

                     



                                                             
26 405 IAC 10-10-13 
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