
Governor Daniels signed Senate Enrolled Act 
293 on March 20, 2012. This new law will 
have significant impact on the administration 

of Indiana’s inheritance tax laws. SEA 293: 

1)	 Increases Class A Exemption to $250,000

2)	 Expands the definition of Class A transferee

3)	 Phases out inheritance tax from 2013 to 2021 
via an increasing credit

Increases Class A Exemption to 
$250,000
The Class A Exemption has been increased to 
$250,000 for decedents dying after December 
31, 2011. However, please keep in mind that for 
individuals dying before January 1, 2012, but 
after June 30, 1997, the Class A Exemption is still 
$100,000. If you have already processed returns for 
individuals dying in 2012 using the $100,000 Class 
A Exemption amount, the estate may need to file a 
revised IH-6 and obtain a new order determining tax 
(Form IH-9) if one has already been issued by the 
court.

The Class B and C Exemptions remain the same:

	 Class B – $500 Exemption

	 Class C – $100 Exemption

The tax rates and method of calculating tax on the 
transfer of an amount over the exemption for Class A, 
B, and C transferees remain the same.

Expands the Definition of Class A 
Transferee
 
SEA 293 has also expanded the definition of Class A 
transferee to include a spouse, a widow, or a widower 
of a child or stepchild of a transferor for a decedent 
who dies after December 31, 2011. Decedents dying 
before January 1, 2012, who made taxable transfers 
to a spouse, widow, or widower of a child or stepchild 
have the following exemption amounts:

Natural child – Class B ($500 Exemption)

Stepchild – Class C ($100 Exemption)

Phases Out Inheritance Tax from 2013 
to 2021 via an Increasing Credit
There will be a gradual nine-year phase-out of 
Indiana’s inheritance tax starting in 2013 and ending 
in 2022 via an increasing credit. The credit is tied to 
individuals dying during a particular calendar year, 
and the credit increases in 10% increments each 
year starting in 2013. 

The tax is repealed for decedents dying after 
December 31, 2021. The credit is to be applied by 
the county treasurer or Department of Revenue 
when the tax is paid.

 
Inheritance Tax Phase-Out 

Year of Death Credit
2012 0%

2013 10%

2014 20%

2015 30%

2016 40%

2017 50%

2018 60%

2019 70%

2020 80%

2021 90%

2022 Repealed

If you have any questions about this new law, please 
contact Don Hopper, Inheritance Tax Administrator, 
at dhopper@dor.in.gov or call 317-232-2154 to talk 
with him or other Department staff.


