
INTENTION TO EMPLOY/A1
State Form 896 (R11 / 4-20)
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

NOTE: This form must be presented by the minor to the proper issuing officer 

before a certificate will be issued. For employer’s protection, the minor must 

also present an acceptable proof of age to obtain an employment certificate. 

The hours the minor may work are shown below.

Name of minor (intend to employ) Date (month, day, year) 

Residential street address City, State, ZIP 

Hours per day (approximate) Days per week (approximate) Hours per week (approximate) Is minor on school-directed Vocational Education Program with your firm?
Yes                       No 

List exact duties. Type of business (Restaurant, Retail, etc.) 

Name of business Telephone number Business e-mail 

Business street address City, State, ZIP 

Signature of employer’s representative Signature of minor Signature of parent or guardian 

EMPLOYERS, PARENTS, AND MINORS!  Know what hours minors may work! 

14- and 15-year-old minors
The hours below reflect the more restrictive of federal and state laws 

. 

• 3 hours per school day
• 18 hours per school week
• 8 hours per non-school day
• 40 hours per non-school week
• May only work outside of school

hours (not during normal school hours)

• No work before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m.
➢ Between June 1 and Labor Day until

9:00 p.m., except nights followed by
a school day when minor may only

work until 7:00 p.m.

16- and 17-year-old minors

• 9 hours per day
• 40 hours per school week
• 48 hours per non-school week
• No more than 6 days per week
• Not before 6:00 a.m.
• Until 10:00 p.m. on nights followed

by a school day

• No restricted end time on nights not followed by
a school day

• May not work in an establishment open to the 
public after 10:00 p.m. or before 6:00 a.m. unless 
another employee at least 18 years of age also works
during the same hours as the minor

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS (UNDER 18) 
NO ONE UNDER THE AGE OF 18 MAY BE EMPLOYED IN ANY OCCUPATION DEEMED PROHIBITED UNDER 

THE CHILD LABOR PROVISIONS OF THE FEDERAL FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT. 
PLEASE CHECK ADDITIONAL JOB AND HOUR RESTRICTIONS IN FEDERAL LAW WITH  

THE WAGE AND HOUR OFFICE, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, NEAREST YOU. 
For more information, contact Indiana Department of Labor, 402 W. Washington St., Rm. W195, Indianapolis, IN 46204. 

(Telephone: 317-232-2655/TT Voice 1-800-743-3333)   E-mail: youthemployment@dol.in.gov   Web: www.in.gov/dol/youthemployment.htm


