

Indiana Department of Labor 402 West Washington St., Rm 195 Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 232-2655 www.in.gov/dol

## INDIANA MINIMUM WAGE LAW \$7.25 per hour

Indiana law requires this poster to be displayed in a conspicuous place in the area where employees are employed.

Most Indiana employers and employees are covered by the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA); however, those not covered under federal law may still be covered by the Indiana Minimum Wage Law.

Both the federal and Indiana state minimum wage increased from \$6.55 per hour to \$7.25 per hour, effective July 24, 2009.

The Indiana Minimum Wage Law generally requires employers to pay employees at least the minimum wage for all hours worked and to pay employees  $1\frac{1}{2}$  times their regular rate of pay ("Overtime compensation") when employees work more than forty (40) hours during a work week. However, there are many exceptions to the overtime pay requirement. Most of those exceptions can be found at Indiana Code § 22-2-2-3 (a) – (p).

Indiana law requires every employer subject to the Indiana Minimum Wage Law to furnish each employee a statement of the hours worked by the employee, the wages paid to the employee, and a listing of the deductions made. The Indiana Minimum Wage Law also prohibits pay discrimination on the basis of sex.

## **Tipped Employees**

Generally, employers must pay tipped employees at least \$2.13 per hour if the employer claims a tip credit. If the employee's tips combined with the hourly wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

## **Training Wage**

Indiana employers may pay \$4.25 per hour to employees under 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive calendar days after the employee is initially employed by the employer.

## **Violations**

Indiana law provides for both civil and criminal penalties for violation of the Indiana Minimum Wage Law.

For Additional Information For additional information, please contact the Indiana Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division by email at <a href="mailto:wagehour@dol.in.gov">wagehour@dol.in.gov</a> or phone (317) 232-2655