### POST CONSPICUOUSLY WHERE EMPLOYEES MAY READ

## YOUR RIGHTS UNDER INDIANA'S MINIMUM WAGE ACT

# Indiana's Minimum Wage

(Applies to small employers that are not covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act)

# **\$7.25** per hour effective July 24, 2009

**Training Wage**—Employees under 20 years of age may be paid \$4.25 per hour during their first 90 consecutive days of employment with an employer.

**Exemptions**—Certain persons may be paid less than the minimum wage as provided by Indiana Code 22-2-2-3 subsections (a) through (p) (Attached to this posting).

**Tip Credit**—Employers of "Tipped Employees" must pay cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee's tips combined with the employer's cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference. Certain other conditions may apply.

### **Overtime Pay**

Under Indiana law, employers who are exempt from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act must pay at least 1<sup>1/2</sup> times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. Tipped employees must receive at least \$10.88 an hour for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. Certain other conditions may apply.

For Additional Information, contact the Indiana Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division by email at <a href="mailto:wagehour@dol.in.gov">wagehour@dol.in.gov</a> or by phone at (317) 232-2655.

#### **Indiana Department of Labor**

Wage and Hour Division 402 West Washington Street, Room W195 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 www.in.gov/dol/wagehour.htm



Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., Governor Lori A. Torres, Commissioner