

Homeschool Information for Parents and Guardians Frequently Asked Questions

Number	Question	Answer			
	Indiana Homeschool Laws				
1	How does Indiana State law refer to homeschools?	Homeschools in Indiana are referred to as nonpublic non-accredited schools in <u>IC 20-33-2-12</u> .			
2	What are the legal requirements for homeschools in Indiana?	IC 20-33-2-20 requires homeschools to maintain an accurate daily record of attendance to verify the enrollment and attendance of a student. Attendance records must be provided upon the request of the Secretary of Education or the public school superintendent where the student resides. There is no specific form required to maintain attendance records. IC 20-33-2-27 and IC 20-33-2-28 provide that it is unlawful for a parent to fail, neglect, or refuse to send the parent's child to a public school for a full term unless the child is being provided with instruction equivalent to that given in public schools. State law does not define "instruction equivalent to that given in public schools." IC 20-33-2-12 provides that a homeschool is not bound by any legal requirements set forth in IC 20 or IC 21 with regard to curriculum or the content of educational programs offered by the homeschool.			
3	At what age must I begin homeschooling?	Age 7. IC 20-33-2-8 states that students are not bound by the compulsory school attendance law until they are seven (7) years of age. Parents who wish to begin homeschooling prior to age 7 may do so.			
4	At what age are homeschooled students finished with school?	Age 18.			
5	What records do I have to maintain for students I homeschool?	IC 20-33-2-20 requires that attendance records be maintained. Parents should provide 180 days of instruction in an academic year, which runs from July 1, of a given year through June 30, of the following year. The days the student was enrolled in a public school or another accredited school count toward the 180 days of attendance. Indiana law does not require specific educational records to be maintained. If there is ever a question of educational neglect, keeping good attendance records and other documentation regarding attendance and continuing educational activity is highly instrumental in addressing these concerns.			
6	What records do I send to the Indiana Department of Education?	None. Parents are responsible for maintaining any records related to their student(s) homeschool program. IDOE does not accept or maintain educational records for students who are homeschooled.			



Withdraw	Withdrawal from Public or other Accredited School and Registration		
7	Are Indiana homeschool families required to register with the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE)?	No. Registration as a homeschool family is not required in the State of Indiana. If parents choose to submit homeschool enrollment information to IDOE, they may do so at <u>https://www.doe.in.gov/school-improvement/home-school</u> , by clicking the link under the "Register your Homeschool" heading. An email with a verification number will be automatically generated and sent to the email address provided.	
8	If I choose to register as a homeschool family, must I register every year?	No. When you register as a homeschool family, you only register one time. The registration remains active year after year and applies to any students you homeschool.	
9	Is there a difference between homeschooling and other learning from home options?	Yes. Homeschooling is the term used when parents or guardians withdraw from public and non-public accredited school options in order to educate their students themselves. Although homeschool parents and guardians may participate in co-ops or other options, the education is based in the home with the parent or guardian making the decisions about curriculum and instructional matters. Homebound instruction and virtual schools, based and accredited in Indiana, including virtual charter schools, are examples of home-based programs that are not homeschools.	
10	I want to withdraw my high school student to homeschool them. The school wants me to sign a form. Is it a homeschool registration form?	No. The <i>Withdrawal to Non-Accredited Nonpublic School Located in Indiana</i> form is not a homeschool registration form. The form is required by <u>IC 20-33-2-28.6</u> for high school students who have withdrawn to homeschool. It is not a registration form but does allow a high school to remove a student who is withdrawn to homeschool from the graduation cohort. If a parent or guardian chooses not to sign the form, the student is regarded as a high school dropout and the principal must report the student to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to revoke or refuse to issue a driver's license or learner's permit to the student. The withdrawal form has a statement that if the homeschool verification email is available it should be attached to the form. If a parent or guardian chooses not to register as a homeschool family or if the verification is not available, the form will still be considered complete with just the parent/guardian signature.	
11	I want to withdraw my elementary or middle school student to homeschool. The school wants me to sign a form in order to withdraw. Do I have to sign the form?	No. State law does not require parents and guardians of students in elementary or middle school to sign a specific form in order to withdraw from school in order to begin homeschooling. The school cannot require parents or guardians to register or provide proof of enrollment in a homeschool program prior to withdrawing the student.	



12	Do I need to inform my school of my decision to withdraw my student to homeschool?	Yes. Parents and guardians must inform the school of their decision to withdraw. There is no specific method required to withdraw established in state law. A phone call to the school may suffice, but it is recommended that parents and guardians inform the school of their decision in writing. Failure to inform the school of the decision to homeschool could result in the student being reported as truant.
13	Can the school my student attends prevent me from withdrawing my student to homeschool?	No. The decision to homeschool is left up to the parent or guardian. The school may not require the parent or guardian to register, provide proof of curriculum, or otherwise impede the decision to withdraw to homeschool.
14	Can the school where my student is enrolled make me withdraw my students to homeschool?	No. The decision to homeschool is left up to the parent or guardian. The school should not suggest or require any parents or guardians to homeschool students, even if the student is behind academically or potentially subject to suspension or expulsion. If a student has been suspended or expelled, the parent or guardian cannot be required to homeschool the student.
15	My student has an IEP, can I still homeschool?	Yes. Parents and guardians of students with IEPs may still decide to homeschool. There may be some services that the student is still entitled to receive through their previous school if the student is withdrawn to homeschool. You should talk to your student's school about how those services might be provided.
16	If I decide to quit homeschooling, may I enroll my students in school again?	Yes. The public school corporation in which you live must enroll students if you wish to return them to public school. If you choose to enroll in a public charter school, you may not be able to enroll right away, if the charter school is at its enrollment capacity. If you choose to enroll in an accredited nonpublic school, you will be subject to their admissions policies and procedures. Students who have been suspended or expelled from a school and whose parents have decided to homeschool, will most likely have to wait until their term of suspension or expulsion is over before enrolling in the public school corporation where they reside. Once that term of suspension or expulsion is over, however, the school corporation must enroll the student. When students return to school, the school retains the right of placement for the student. This means that the school may place the student in the grade or class where they feel the student will be most successful. The school is not required to accept work completed as part of a homeschool education.



Dr. Katie Jenner, Secretary of Education

17	Do I have to homeschool my child if they have been expelled from school?	No. Indiana Code <u>20-33-8-19</u> requires school corporations to provide parents of students who have been expelled a list of alternative education programs and virtual charter schools the student might be allowed to enroll in while the student is under a term of expulsion. Parents are not required to provide homeschooling for their students if other enrollment options are not available.
Curriculu	m, Diplomas, and Exemp	otions
		When you are ready to begin homeschooling, you should inform the school where your student(s) attend of your decision to withdraw to homeschool. If your student is in high school, the school should ask you to sign the <i>Withdrawal to Non-accredited Nonpublic School Located in Indiana</i> form.
18	How do I begin homeschooling?	You should also prepare to begin homeschooling. You should decide what type of educational program you will provide and what materials you will use. An internet search will provide many options for parents to consider. Options range from educational programs put together by parents to participation in homeschool curriculum programs created by various organizations. The costs of programs will vary.
		IDOE does not review or endorse any homeschool programs. It is up to parents and guardians to determine what type of program will meet their needs and to implement the program.
		None. Homeschools are, by definition, nonpublic non-accredited schools. Parents and guardians are free to select any curriculum they choose to provide a program of education to their student(s).
19	What homeschool programs are accredited in Indiana?	Some curriculum providers may have received accreditation from various entities. That accreditation does not mean they are accredited as schools by the State of Indiana. Accreditation held by a homeschool curriculum provider is not a guarantee that courses, classes, or diplomas earned by students in the program will be accepted in the same manner as learning completed in a state accredited school. Public and other accredited schools are not required to accept or provide credit for work completed in a homeschool setting, regardless of any accreditation status the curriculum provider may have.
20	Do I have to use the Indiana Academic Standards to homeschool legally?	No. Indiana Academic Standards do not have to be used by parents who homeschool. If you choose to use the standards, you can find them <u>here</u> .
21	Do I have to conduct school for a certain number of hours per day?	No. Instructional time requirements do not apply to homeschools. Public schools must provide 5 hours of instruction for elementary students and 6 hours of instruction to secondary students.



22	Do homeschool students have to participate in statewide testing, including ISTEP+ or ILEARN	No. Unless the student is enrolled in at least one class in a public or accredited school, homeschool students are not allowed to participate in statewide testing.	
23	Does my homeschool student have to meet all the graduation requirements, including Graduation Pathways?	No. Homeschools are nonpublic non-accredited schools.Consequently, graduation requirements do not apply to them.	
24	Will my student receive a high school diploma?	Homeschool students will not receive a diploma accredited by the Indiana State Board of Education (ISBOE). Students who wish to receive a diploma accredited by the State of Indiana may take the High School Equivalency (HSE) exam. The HSE is administered by the Department of Workforce Development.	
25	Will my student receive a Core 40 or Core 40 with Academic or Technical Honors diploma?	No. Homeschools are nonpublic, non-accredited schools.	
26	Do students who are homeschooled qualify for the 21 st Century Scholars Program?	No. Information from <u>Learn More Indiana</u> , a site operated by the Commission for Higher Education, states that homeschooled students are not eligible for the 21 st Century Scholars Program.	
Relationsh	Relationship with the local public school corporation		
27	Can my homeschooled student take a class or classes in my local school corporation?	This is a local decision. Check with your local school corporation to inquire about enrolling in classes.	
28	Can my student participate in extracurricular activities at our local school?	This is a local decision. Check with your local school corporation to inquire about their policies.	

For additional information, please contact studentpathways_homeschool@doe.in.gov.

Version: 2021.07.21