Language Translation
  Close Menu

32nd Annual Surface Mined Land Reclamation Technology Transfer Seminar

Dear Friends & Associates,

The 32nd annual Technology Transfer Seminar is Dec. 3-4, 2018. As Chairman of the Indiana Society of Mining and Reclamation, I am extending an invitation for you to attend. This year’s seminar will be held at the Tropicana Convention Center, Evansville, IN. We have a variety of topics and speakers on the latest mining and reclamation technology.

This year, on Monday, there will be three concurrent workshops and a Monday evening poster session and reception. The “NPDES Wastewater Technology and Treatment” workshop is pending approval for 5 technical hours of continuing education toward renewal of Indiana Wastewater licenses. The “Blaster Retraining” Workshop is approved for 5 hours of continuing education toward IN Blaster Certification renewal and IN Dept. of Homeland Security 5 hours renewal for Regulated Explosives Use-Operator and Regulated Use-Blaster License. The third workshop is “Surface Mine Design from Layout Through Reclamation.”

Certificates for all three workshops will be provided that may be used for consideration of Professional Development Hours requirements for licensed Indiana Professional Engineers. Tuesday will be a full day of presentations on various topics. I look forward to your participation at this year’s seminar.

Chris Smith

About ISMR

The Indiana Society of Mining and Reclamation works in partnership with the Indiana Natural Resources Foundation as their financial fiduciary. Since its founding in 1990, the Indiana Natural Resources Foundation has worked with the people of Indiana, the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, advocacy groups, volunteer organizations, and land trusts across the state.

Executive membership

The Executive Committee of ISMR comprises members appointed by the Director of the Department of Natural Resources. Chairperson is the Director of the Bureau of Regulatory Team Management. Members are:

  • Mr. Chris Smith, ISMR Chairman & Deputy Director, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Ex-Officio Member
  • Mr. Jim Buck, Buckridge Environmental Engineering, Inc.
  • Mr. Marvin Ellis, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Division of Reclamation
  • Mr. John Endress, Natural Resource Professionals
  • Mr. Tommy Sutton, Sunrise Coal LLC
  • Ms. Rose McDaniel, Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • Mr. Dana Meier, Indianapolis Power & Light Company
  • Mr. Alex Messamore, Vigo Coal Operating Co., LLC
  • Dr. Todd Thompson, Indiana Geological and Water Survey Mr. Michael Owen, Solar Sources Mining, LLC Mr. Tristan Vance, Indiana Office of Energy Development Dr. Terry West, Purdue University

Seminar information

Overnight accommodations

The Tropicana Convention Center is offering a special overnight room rate of $89 plus applicable taxes for ISMR attendees. For reservations at this rate, call 1-800-544-0120 and use Code GISMR18 to identify yourself as an ISMR attendee. Deadline for this special room rate is Nov. 3, 2018. Contact Colleen Baughman at 812-665-2207 or with questions.

Call for posters for Monday evening display

The board invites you to participate in the Monday evening poster session/reception. If you have a technical display that pertains to mining and reclamation, we would love to have you share it at the poster session. Please contact Colleen Baughman, or 812-665-2207 with questions or if you have a display you would like to share.

2018 call for award nominations

Excellence in Mining & Reclamation Award
Nominations due Monday, Oct. 15

Nominations are being accepted once again for the Excellence in Mining and Reclamation Award (EMRA). This is the Division of Reclamation’s highest award for outstanding achievement in the field of surface coal mining and reclamation. Former recipients of the Indiana EMRA have received national recognition as a result of participation in awards programs administered by the Office of Surface Mining and the Interstate Mining Compact Commission. We are proud of the mining and reclamation operations here in Indiana, and the EMRA program is one way for us to recognize your efforts and to reveal your successes to the rest of the state and the nation.

Questions: Contact Colleen Baughman, ISMR Secretary at 812-665-2207 or

Vance “Pat” Wiram Award For Innovation in Reclamation and Mining Technology
Nominations due Monday, Nov. 5

ISMR is seeking nominations for individuals who have made significant contributions to the development or implementation of new technologies or concepts in mining and reclamation. We urge you to nominate an individual you feel has gone the extra step in applying new and innovative ideas toward the enhancement of surface mining and reclamation.

Questions: Contact Colleen Baughman, ISMR Secretary at 812-665-2207 or

2017 award winners

  • Indiana Excellence in Mining & Reclamation Award
    Peabody Midwest Mining, LLC Wild Boar Mine – Barren Fork Pit
  • Vance “Pat” Wiram Award for Innovation in Reclamation and Mining Technology
    Mr. Richard Williams, Peabody Midwest Mining, LLC

 DNR News

More News

 Top FAQs