Contact the Division of Reclamation

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): (812) 665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts:

Consultants and contractors interested in design or construction of abandoned mine land reclamation projects may click here for more information. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here:

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: (812) 665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: (812) 665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Name Title Phone Email
Steve Weinzapfel Director, Division of Reclamation
Carrie Dohner Administrative Assistant ext 4078
Technical Services
Pete Sartoris Assistant Director,
Technical Services/Inspection & Enforcement
ext 4073
Colleen Baughman Permit Coordinator/AVS Coordinator ext 4069
Teri Maddox Secretary ext 4079
Ron Pearson Hydrogeologist ext 4087
Todd Huff Hydrogeologist ext 4085
Jayne Peltier Water Quality Specialist ext 4038
Alan Kern Mining Engineer ext 4062
Montana Martin Archaeologist ext 4092
Kelsey Pearman Wildlife Biologist ext 4089
Shelby Johnston Hydrogeologist ext 4088
Inspection and Enforcement
Kevin Geier Field Supervisor ext 4060
Shasta Keller Secretary ext 4047
John Voigt Mine Inspector ext 4065
Luke Sweet Mine Inspector
Clay Dayson Mine Inspector
Jeanne Lorenzo Mine Inspector
Keith Swihart Mine Inspector
Jamie Brown Mine Inspector ext 4058
Support Services
Brock Mayes Assistant Director, Support Services ext 4072
Vacant Program Coordinator    
Shanda Messmer Secretary/Records ext 4091
Kelli Zsebehazy Bond Recorder ext 4082
Todd Sellers Bond Coordinator ext 4081
Chris Carver GIS Specialist ext 4090
Phyllis Hart Blasting Specialist ext 4051
Paul Davis Blasting Specialist ext 4061
Restoration - Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
Marvin Ellis Director, Abandoned Mine Lands ext 4034
Gayla Reedy Secretary ext 4011
Andy Ripley Site Investigator/Field Operation Coordinator ext 4013
Mark Stacy Technical Mgmnt Supervisor/Environmental Specialist ext 4016
Peter Burch Water Quality Specialist ext 4010
Stephen Floreck GIS Inventory Specialist ext 4015
Vacant Financial Officer ext 4018  
Chris Hostetler Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisor ext 4029
Vacant Hydraulic Engineer ext 4027  
Shawn Clifford Hydraulic Engineer ext 4028
Randy Tabler Survey Project Manager ext 4030
Kit Turpin Project Manager Supervisor ext 4033
Jay Akes Project Manager ext 4031
Vacant Project Manager ext 4014  
Bob Jones Project Manager/Realty Coordinator ext 4035
Nick Lorenzo Project Manager/Emergency Coordinator ext 4012
Operation Services
Kim Tibbett Assistant Director, Operations ext 4082
Patty Beard Purchasing Administrator ext 4039
Cyndi Husband Purchasing Administrator ext 4094