Header

Main Content

Article

Contact the Division of Reclamation

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): 812-665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts: AbandonedMinesRestoration@dnr.IN.gov.

Consultants and contractors interested in design or construction of abandoned mine land reclamation projects may click here for more information. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here: amlconstruction@dnr.IN.gov

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.
 

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: 812-665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: 812-665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Name Title Phone Email
Steve Weinzapfel Director, Division of Reclamation ext 4077 sweinzapfel@dnr.IN.gov
Patty Beard Administrative Assistant/AVS Coordinator ext 4078 pbeard@dnr.IN.gov
Technical Services
Pete Sartoris Assistant Director,
Technical Services/Inspection & Enforcement
ext 4073 psartoris@dnr.IN.gov
Teri Maddox Secretary ext 4090 tmaddox@dnr.IN.gov
Ron Pearson Hydrogeologist ext 4087 rpearson@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Huff Hydrogeologist ext 4085 thuff@dnr.IN.gov
Jayne Peltier Water Quality Specialist/Permit Coordinator ext 4038 jpeltier1@dnr.IN.gov
Alan Kern Mining Engineer ext 4062 akern@dnr.IN.gov
Kelsey Pearman Wildlife Biologist ext 4089 kpearman1@dnr.IN.gov
Shelby Valenza Hydrogeologist ext 4088 sjohnston@dnr.IN.gov
Inspection and Enforcement
Kevin Geier Field Supervisor ext 4060 kgeier@dnr.IN.gov
Shanda Messmer Secretary/Records ext 4091 smessmer@dnr.IN.gov
John Voigt Mine Inspector ext 4065 jvoigt@dnr.IN.gov
Luke Sweet Mine Inspector   lsweet@dnr.IN.gov
Clay Dayson Mine Inspector   cdayson@dnr.IN.gov
Jeanne Lorenzo Mine Inspector   jlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
Keith Swihart Mine Inspector   kswihart@dnr.IN.gov
Jamie Brown Mine Inspector ext 4058 jabrown3@dnr.IN.gov
Support Services
Brock Mayes Assistant Director, Support Services ext 4072 bmayes@dnr.IN.gov
Montana Martin Archaeologist ext 4092 momartin@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Sellers Bond Coordinator ext 4081 tsellers@dnr.IN.gov
Eunmok Lee GIS Specialist ext 4079 elee1@dnr.IN.gov
Phyllis Hart Blasting Specialist ext 4051 phart@dnr.IN.gov
Paul Davis Blasting Specialist ext 4061 pdavis2@dnr.IN.gov
Restoration - Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
Marvin Ellis, LPG Director, Abandoned Mine Lands ext 4034 mdellis@dnr.IN.gov
Gayla Reedy Secretary ext 4011 greedy@dnr.IN.gov
Andy Ripley Emergency Coordinator/Field Operation Coordinator/Technical Mgmt. Supervisor ext 4018 aripley@dnr.IN.gov
Peter Burch Water Quality Specialist ext 4013 pburch@dnr.IN.gov
Hannah Walker Environmental Specialist/Site Investigator ext 4016 hwalker1@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Hostetler, P.E. Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisor ext 4029 chostetler@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Hydraulic Engineer ext 4027  
Shawn Clifford, P.E. Hydraulic Engineer ext 4028 sclifford@dnr.IN.gov
Randy Tabler Survey Project Manager ext 4030 rtabler@dnr.IN.gov
Kit Turpin Project Manager Supervisor ext 4033 cturpin@dnr.IN.gov
Jay Akes, LPG Project Manager ext 4031 rakes@dnr.IN.gov
Greg Ubelhor Project Manager ext 4010 gubelhor@dnr.IN.gov
Bob Jones Project Manager/Realty Coordinator ext 4035 bcjones@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Project Manager ext 4012  
Operation Services
Kim Tibbett Assistant Director, Operations ext 4069 Ktibbett@dnr.IN.gov
Shasta Keller Purchasing Administrator ext 4039 slkeller@dnr.IN.gov
Cyndi Husband Purchasing Administrator ext 4094 chusband@dnr.IN.gov
Kelli Zsebehazy Bond Recorder ext 4082 kzsebehazy@dnr.IN.gov