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4% Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!

e What's the difference between a deduction,
exemption, and a credit?

e A deduction reduces the assessed value being
taxed, an exemption excludes property from
assessment and/or taxation, and a credit reduces
the tax bill.



Y Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!

This presentation and other Department of Local
Government Finance materials are not a substitute
for the law! This is not legal advice, just an
informative presentation. The Indiana Code always
governs.

Most importantly, if you're not sure about
something, ask first! The Department will do its best
to answer your questions. If the Department can’t
help, it will either refer you to the right agency or to
your county attorney. Don’t rely on rumors or third
party information.



& Applying the Deduction to Real Estate

Assessed value of real estate S 90,000

— Less Homestead Deduction: - S 45,000
— Less Supplemental: -$ 15,750
— Less Mortgage Deduction: -$ 3,000

— Less Partially Disabled Vet Deduction - S 24,960*
Net Assessed Value of Property = $1,290

e |tissuggested that the veteran deduction be applied last so that if there
is an unused portion remaining, the vet can seek an excise tax credit.

e Homestead donated to a veteran deduction can be applied in any
order!

e |tis possible for deductions to zero out a tax bill (personal property
mobile homes may be an exception).

e Deduction applications must be filled out and signed by December 31
and filed or postmarked by January 5.



ix Overview of Common Deductions

Homestead Standard Deduction

Lesser of $45,000 or 60% of the gross AV of the property;

Applies to the dwelling (and those structures, such as decks and
patios attached to the dwelling) and the surrounding acre (even if
the acre straddles multiple parcels);

Applies to property that is the applicant’s principal place of
residence, meaning the individual’s true, fixed, permanent home
TO WHICH THE INDIVIDUAL HAS THE INTENTION OF RETURNING
AFTER AN ABSENCE.

Applicant must own or be buying under recorded contract that
provides that the buyer is responsible for the taxes (the latter is a
pretty universal principle when a contract is involved).

NOTE: If the applicant is a contract buyer, a recorded
memorandum of contract may be used, instead. See SEA 505-
2017, Sec. 1.



)2 Overview of Common Deductions

Supplemental Homestead Deduction

e Applied to the net AV resulting after application of
the standard homestead deduction;

e Deduction equals 35% of the net AV (if the net is

less than $S600,000) or 25% of the net AV (if the net
is greater than $600,000).



| Overview of Common Deductions

Energy Deductions

Solar Energy Heating or Cooling System (deduction equals the out-
of-pocket expenditures for the components and labor);

Solar Power Device, Wind Power Device, Hydroelectric Power
Device, Geothermal Device (deduction equals the AV of the
property with the device less the AV of the property without the
device [for a solar power device assessed as distributable or
personal property, the deduction equals the AV of the device]).
Please note: hydroelectric and geothermal devices must be
certified by the Indiana Department of Environmental
Management (if certified, subsequent owner does NOT need to
seek certification again).

The device is assessed even if no deduction is applied!



1 Overview of Common Deductions

Mortgage

Lesser of: $3,000, balance of mortgage or contract
indebtedness on assessment date, or one-half of the total AV
of property;

A person may not have more than one mortgage deduction
in his name. However, if a married couple owns two pieces
of property and each property is mortgaged in the spouses’
names, one spouse could have a mortgage deduction in his
name on one property while the other spouse has a
mortgage deduction in her name on the other property.
Likewise, if a person owns a business (e.g., LLC), the person
could have a mortgage deduction in his name and the
business could have a mortgage deduction in its name.



i) Overview of Common Deductions

Mortgage (continued)

e Although there must be a mortgage balance in

place, there is no statutory minimum balance.

e The mortgage deduction is available for property on
which a person has a home equity line of credit that
is recorded in the county recorder’s office.




Overview of Common Deductions

Mortgage (continued)

e Note how statute defines key terms, effective July 1, 2017:

“Installment loan” means a loan under which

e alender advances money for the purchase of
e amobile home that is not assessed as real property; or
e amanufactured homes that is not assessed as real property; and

e aborrower repays the lender in installments in accordance with the
terms of an installment agreement.

“Mortgage” means a lien against property that

e anowner of the property grants to secure an obligation, such as a debt,
according to terms set forth in a written instrument, such as a deed or a
contract; and

e is extinguished upon payment or performance according to the terms of
the written instrument.

e Thetermincludes a reverse mortgage.
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i1 Overview of Common Deductions

Over 65 Deduction

Lesser of one-half of the gross AV of the property or $12,480
(can zero out bill!);

Applicant must have owned (or been buying) the property
for at least one year before “claiming” the deduction;
Applicant and any joint tenants or tenants in common must
reside on the property;

Combined, adjusted gross income of applicant and
applicant’s spouse or applicant and any joint tenants or
tenants in common for preceding year did not exceed
$25,000;

AV of property cannot exceed $182,430;
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)2 Overview of Common Deductions

Over 65 Deduction (continued)

Applicant must be at least 65 by December 31 of the year
preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed (in
other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2015 to
receive the deduction for ‘15 Pay ‘16);

The same person cannot have the over 65 deduction in
conjunction with deductions other than the homestead,
mortgage, and fertilizer storage deductions;

The deduction cannot be denied on the basis that the
recipient is away from the property while in a hospital or
nursing home;

If any joint tenants or tenants in common are not at least 65,
the deduction is reduced by a fraction.
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g1 Overview of Common Deductions

Over 65 Circuit Breaker

Credit prevents recipient’s homestead tax liability from increasing
by more than 2% over previous year;

Applicant must have been eligible for homestead deduction in
preceding year as well as current year;

If applicant filed an individual income tax return for the preceding
year, income cannot have exceeded $30,000 (or $40,000 if filed
jointly with spouse);

Gross AV of homestead cannot exceed $160,000;

No restrictions on combining credit with other deductions;
Applicant is or will be at least 65 on or before December 31 of the
calendar year immediately preceding the current calendar year (in
other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2017 to receive
the credit for ‘17 Pay ‘18).
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ix Overview of Common Deductions

Blind/Disabled Person Deduction

Deduction is $12,480;

Applicant must use property as principal place of
residence;

Applicant must own or be buying the property
under recorded contract;

Applicant must provide proof of blindness or
disability;

Applicant’s individual income for preceding year did
not exceed $17,000.
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)2 Overview of Common Deductions

Blind/Disabled Person Deduction (continued)

Question: | have a couple that both applied for the
disabled deduction. This will take the value to zero
on their primary residence. They have two other
parcels. Can you put the rest of the disabled
deduction on other property they own?

Answer: The property for which the deduction is
sought must be the applicant’s principal residence.
Thus, only property that is principally used and
occupied by the individual as the individual’s
residence qualifies.
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i) Overview of Common Deductions

Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

(A) was constructed before 1950; and

(B) retains sufficient integrity of design, materials, and
construction to clearly identify the building as a
barn.

e (Cannot be a dwelling.

e Must have mortise and tenon construction (i.e.,
built using heavy wooden timbers, joined together
with wood-pegged mortise and tenon joinery, that
form an exposed structural frame).
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Overview of Common Deductions

Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

Statute now requires the applicable township or county assessor to verify that
the barn was constructed before 1950. Moreover, the auditor must apply the
deduction to a heritage barn that received the deduction in the preceding year
unless the auditor determines that the property is no longer eligible for the
deduction because the barn was not constructed before 1950. Statute did not
previously include this phrase. The Department understands this to mean that if
Barn A qualified for and received the heritage barn deduction under the previous
version of the law on January 1, 2016, but Barn A is not a mortise and tenon
barn, Barn A will NOT lose the deduction for January 1, 2017 since Barn A was
built before 1950. It is still the case that this deduction terminates following a
change in ownership of the heritage barn (if John sells Barn A to Bob, John’s
heritage barn deduction is removed for the following assessment date and Bob
must apply in his own name). Generally, however, the only basis an auditor has
now for removing a heritage barn deduction from a heritage barn already
receiving it is if the auditor determines that the barn was not constructed before
1950. Thus, auditors and assessors should give special attention to ensuring that

barns for which the deduction is initially granted are in fact eligible. r



i1 Overview of Common Deductions

Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)
e How many heritage barn deductions can a person receive?
e A person could receive more than one heritage barn
deduction.
e What about a barn that’s been refurbished?
e |f the core of the heritage barn is still there, then it
probably could still qualify.
e What about a barn that was originally built before 1950, but
has been disassembled and reassembled since then?
e |f the barn has been rebuilt after 1950, then it probably
can no longer be considered “constructed before 1950.”
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Overview of Common Deductions

Heritage Barn (continued)

Our assessor’s office is saying that they have to put heritage barn owners’
names, addresses, and phone numbers on a list for tourist/promotional
information.

Section 3 of HEA 1046-2014 says that “Before July 1, 2015, the office [of
tourism development] shall, using only the resources available to the office
under P.L.205-2013 and this chapter, develop print and electronic media
promoting tourism, visitation, and other hospitality opportunities that
feature heritage barns located in Indiana. The department of agriculture
and the office of community and rural affairs shall provide the office
assistance in developing a heritage barn tourism program in Indiana.” | see
nothing about assessors compiling a list of names, addresses, and phone
numbers. Whether or not some other state office is doing that or has
directed assessors to do that, | don’t know, but the statute is silent.
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1: Overview of Common Deductions

Disabled Veteran Deductions (discussed later in this
presentation)

20



B Overview of Common Deductions

Deductions in which assessor has role in verifying application
(because the deduction corresponds to the assessed value of the

property):

rehabilitation of residential property (IC 6-1.1-12-20)
rehabilitation of historic property (IC 6-1.1-12-24)

heritage barn (IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

solar energy heating/cooling system/solar power device (IC
6-1.1-12-27.1)

wind power device (IC 6-1.1-12-30)
coal/hydroelectric/geothermal device (IC 6-1.1-12-35.5)
fertilizer storage (IC 6-1.1-12-38)
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If a deduction is validly in place on the assessment
date, it will stay in place for the assessment year,
even if the property changes hands and the new
owner is ineligible for it.

What if a person has a homestead on his principal
place of residence on January 1 but moves to new
principal place of residence later in the year? The
deduction will stay on the old property for that tax
cycle and can be granted a homestead deduction
for the new property for the same tax cycle. See IC
6-1.1-12-37(h).
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Remember...

A person must actually use the property as his or
her principal place of residence in the year in which
the deduction application/SDF is signed.

23



it Taxing Questions

Question: Can one spouse or owner receive an over 65
deduction while the other spouse or owner receives a
veteran deduction?

Answer: YES! State law prohibits the same PERSON from
receiving an over 65 deduction AND certain other
deductions, but it does not prohibit one spouse or owner
from receiving an over 65 deduction and the other spouse or
owner receiving a disability or veteran deduction. Please
note that the fractional reduction in the over 65 deduction
only occurs if the other owner is not 65 and NOT the
applicant’s spouse. If the applicant’s spouse is under 65,
there is no reduction!

24



. 1: Taxing Questions

Remember that a homestead deduction applies to a dwelling
and up to one acre surrounding that dwelling. Even if that acre
straddles or overlaps two or more parcels, the deduction must
be applied to that full acre. The fact that the acre straddles or
overlaps multiple parcels doesn’t preclude the taxpayer from
receiving a complete deduction on that acre! State law does not
require the taxpayer to combine the parcels in order to receive
the deduction on the acre.

Also remember that for ‘14 Pay ‘15 and beyond, property must
actually be receiving a homestead deduction to receive the 1%
cap!

25



. 1: Taxing Questions

Remember that if someone failed to file a verification form, the
auditor may, in his or her discretion, terminate the deduction for
the ‘12 Pay ‘13 cycle forward. To go back previous years, the
auditor must have an independent reason for doing so. If a
taxpayer who failed to file the verification form provides proof
of his or her eligibility for the deduction for the ‘12 Pay '13 cycle
(or a subsequent cycle for which the deduction was terminated
for failure to file the form), the deduction MUST be reinstated
(no statutory deadline for taxpayer; no interest due; no
statutory obligation to file Form 133).
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. 1: Taxing Questions

An auditor may limit what evidence he or she requests to a state
income tax return, a valid driver’s license, or a valid voter
registration card.

A dispute over eligibility for a homestead deduction in one year
does not necessarily justify requesting documentation for
multiple years, unless there truly is a basis for disputing
eligibility in all those years. In other words, if there’s a dispute
over a person’s eligibility for the deduction in ’13 Pay "14, the
auditor shouldn’t tell the taxpayer to supply proof of eligibility
for multiple years unless eligibility is genuinely in dispute for
those years.
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Likewise, an auditor should not tell taxpayers that he or she will
accept a homestead deduction application only if the applicant
attaches or provides a Social Security card or tax return. If the
auditor reviews the application and determines that there is a
legitimate need for supporting documentation, that’s one thing,
but an auditor cannot impose additional criteria or steps for
applying for a homestead deduction (there are some deductions,
such as the vet deductions, that do require that supporting
documentation be attached).

NOTE: YOU CANNOT REQUIRE SUBMISSION OF AN ENTIRE
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER UNLESS THERE IS EXPLICIT LEGAL
AUTHORITY TO DO SO!
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Please note that if you have two unmarried individuals
who own a property and one of them uses it has his

nomestead, he is not precluded from applying for the
nomestead deduction even if his co-owner receives a

nomestead deduction on the property where she lives.

By way of example, if Bob and Sue are siblings and own
House A, which Bob uses as his homestead, Bob can
claim a homestead deduction on House A even if Sue
claims a homestead deduction on House B, which she

uses as her homestead.

29



B Taxing QueStiOnS

However, if there are two or more people who own the
same house and are each eligible for the homestead
deduction, only one homestead deduction can be

applied on the house.

The auditor must record and apply the deduction for
the qualifying individual.

See IC 6-1.1-12-37(b).
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What'’s the deal with driver’s licenses?

The homestead deduction application must contain “either:

(A)

(B)

the last five (5) digits of the applicant's Social Security number and the last five

(5) digits of the Social Security number of the applicant's spouse (if any); or

if the applicant or the applicant's spouse (if any) does not have a Social Security

number, any of the following for that individual:

(i) The last five (5) digits of the individual's driver's license number.

(i) The last five (5) digits of the individual's state identification card number.

(iii) The last five (5) digits of a preparer tax identification number that is
obtained by the individual through the Internal Revenue Service of the
United States.

(iv) If the individual does not have a driver's license or a state identification
card, the last five (5) digits of a control number that is on a document issued
to the individual by the federal government.”

“The county auditor may limit the evidence that an individual is required to

submit to a state income tax return, a valid driver's license, or a valid voter

registration card showing that the residence for which the deduction is claimed is
the individual's principal place of residence.”
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. What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?

Although a person has 60 days to obtain an Indiana
driver’s license after becoming a resident of the state,
the person’s failure to do so would not necessarily
prohibit him from obtaining the homestead
deduction.

32



8% What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?

Question: If the wife is applying, she must list her husband’s
identification information. What if the husband does not
have an Indiana license or his out-of-state license is expired?

Answer: The wife, as applicant, should be able to show the
auditor a valid driver’s license if asked and if she drives
(again, need not necessarily be an Indiana license). If the
husband has no driver’s license, this is not a problem (even
the applicant is not required to have a driver’s license if she
does not drive). If the husband has an out-of-state license
(valid or expired), the last five digits of this number can be
used in the application.
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8% What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?

By analogy, if you have a husband and wife and the husband
lives in Belgium, the fact that he wouldn’t have an Indiana
driver’s license and would not be using the Indiana property as
his principal place of residence does not prevent the wife from
claiming the deduction (so long as he’s not claiming a
homestead deduction equivalent in Belgium [see next slide]).
The wife would still need to include identification information
for him in the application and the couple would be limited to the
one homestead deduction, but the point is that the wife is really
the applicant, so her eligibility is critical.

If she could provide no identification information for her
husband, then that would be a problem.
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. 1: Taxing Questions

Remember that unless a couple is legally divorced, the couple is
still married and entitled to only one homestead deduction. This
is true even if the couple is living apart.

The only exception to this idea is the following:

IC 6-1.1-12-37(n)

A county auditor shall grant an individual a deduction under this
section regardless of whether the individual and the individual‘s
spouse claim a deduction on two (2) different applications and
each application claims a deduction for different property if the
property owned by the individual's spouse is located outside
Indiana and the individual files an affidavit with the county
auditor containing the following information:

35



gt Taxing Questions

IC 6-1.1-12-37(n) (cont’d)

The names of the county and state in which the individual’s

spouse claims a deduction substantially similar to the deduction

allowed by this section.

A statement made under penalty of perjury that the following are

true:

e That the individual and the individual's spouse maintain
separate principal places of residence.

e That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has an
ownership interest in the other's principal place of residence.

e That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has, for
that same year, claimed a standard or substantially similar
deduction for any property other than the property

maintained as a principal place of residence by the respective
individuals. 36



it Taxing Questions

Continued. ..

A county auditor may require an individual or an individual's spouse to
provide evidence of the accuracy of the information contained in an
affidavit submitted under this subsection. The evidence required of the
individual or the individual's spouse may include state income tax
returns, excise tax payment information, property tax payment
information, driver license information, and voter registration
information.

HEA 1450 removed a provision in law that entitles an individual receiving
sole ownership of property in a divorce decree to a carryover of certain
deductions. However, HEA 1450 included a new provision addressing
changes in marital status...
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¢ Taxing Questions

Change in marital status & the homestead deduction - IC 6-1.1-12-17.8(d)

An unmarried individual who receives a homestead deduction must refile for the
deduction if the individual marries and remains eligible for the deduction. The
deduction must be filed for on the assessment date following the marriage. Likewise,
a married individual receiving the homestead deduction who subsequently divorces
must reapply for the deduction for the assessment date following the divorce.
However, if the divorcing individual fails to reapply for the deduction, it does not
make the former spouse ineligible for the homestead deduction.

If a person who is receiving the Over 65 deduction for a property and subsequently
owns the property with another person jointly or as a tenant in common, assuming he
remains eligible, the person must reapply for the deduction for the following
assessment date. If an unmarried individual who is receiving an Over 65 credit for a
property subsequently marries, assuming he remains eligible for the credit, the
individual must reapply for the credit for the following assessment date.
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¢ Taxing Questions

Question: In December, | received a letter from a taxpayer stating that they have
moved and would like their mail forwarded to a new address. Should | pull that
person’s homestead deduction for the preceding assessment date based on that
letter?

Answer: Again, if the deduction was validly in place on the assessment date, it
will stay in place for that tax cycle. Here, the auditor may have to seek additional
information from the taxpayer, such as whether the taxpayer had moved out
prior to the assessment date or whether the taxpayer is seeking a homestead
deduction in another state for the same tax cycle that would require termination
of the Indiana deduction. It is true that the taxpayer is the one obligated to notify
the auditor of ineligibility, but the letter cited above isn’t necessarily sufficient
proof of ineligibility.

Auditors should perform due diligence before pulling a deduction.

Note: a person can use an out-of-state driver’s license number to apply for the
homestead deduction, but the auditor will probably want to follow-up with the
taxpayer to ensure the person is actually an Indiana resident.
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Taxing Questions

o Question: How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65 deduction and
blind/disabled deductions?

Over 65 Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-9, 10.1):
. “the combined adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal
Revenue Code) of:
(A) theindividual and the individual's spouse; or
(B) theindividual and all other individuals with whom:
(i) the individual shares ownership; or
(i)  theindividual is purchasing the property under a contract;
as joint tenants or tenants in common;
for the calendar year preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed did not exceed
twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

“In order to substantiate the deduction statement, the applicant shall submit for inspection
by the county auditor a copy of the applicant's and a copy of the applicant's spouse's
income tax returns for the preceding calendar year. If either was not required to file an
income tax return, the applicant shall subscribe to that fact in the deduction statement.”
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‘Taxing” Questions

Over 65 Credit (IC 6-1.1-20.6-8.5):

“(A) in the case of an individual who filed a single return,
adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the
Internal Revenue Code) not exceeding thirty thousand
dollars ($30,000); or

(B) in the case of an individual who filed a joint income tax
return with the individual's spouse, combined adjusted gross
income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue
Code) not exceeding forty thousand dollars ($40,000);

for the calendar year preceding by two (2) years the calendar
year in which property taxes are first due and payable.”

41



 Taxing Questions

e Question: How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65
deduction and blind/disabled deductions?

Blind/Disabled Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-11, 12):

e “[T]he individual's taxable gross income for the calendar year preceding
the year in which the deduction is claimed did not exceed seventeen
thousand dollars ($17,000).”

e “For purposes of this section, taxable gross income does not include
income which is not taxed under the federal income tax laws.”

e Notice that only the over 65 deduction/credit requires submission of an
income tax return!

e Adjusted gross income stated here:

e Form 1040 - Line 37
e Form 1040A - Line 21
e Form 1040EZ-Line 4
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¢ What about trusts?

IC6-1.1-12-17.9
Trust eligibility for certain deductions; requirements
e Atrustis entitled to a deduction under section 9 [over 65], 11
[blind/disabled], 13 [partially-disabled veteran], 14 [totally disabled
veteran], or 16 [surviving spouse of WW | vet], or 17.4 [WW | vet —
section expired] of this chapter for real property owned by the trust and
occupied by an individual if the county auditor determines that the
individual:
(1) upon verification in the body of the deed or otherwise, has either:
(A) a beneficial interest in the trust; or
(B) the right to occupy the real property rent free under the terms of a
qualified personal residence trust created by the individual under
United States Treasury Regulation 25.2702-5(c)(2); and
(2) otherwise qualifies for the deduction.

A trust can also receive the homestead deduction!!!
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. 1: Taxing Questions

Question: Can our county collect on ineligible deductions
other than the homestead?

Answer: While it is possible that a taxpayer who received a
deduction for which he was not eligible may be liable for the
taxes associated with that ineligible deduction, for all but the
homestead deduction, statute does not provide a
mechanism for counties to pursue action against these
taxpayers. There is no statutory process outlined for
identifying these taxpayers, notifying them of the issue, or
collecting these taxes. We do believe, however, that a
county could take legal action through a court.
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Please note that HEA 1072-2012 amended the homestead
deduction statute so that:

If a property owner’s property is not eligible for the homestead
deduction because the county auditor has determined that the
property is not the property owner’s principal place of
residence, the property owner may appeal the county auditor’s
determination to the PTABOA as provided in IC 6-1.1-15. The
county auditor must inform the property owner of the owner’s
right to appeal to the PTABOA when the county auditor informs
the property owner of the county auditor’s determination.
(Effective July 1, 2012)
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Reminder

IC 6-1.1-36-17
Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of adjustments in tax due;
nonreverting fund
(b) If a county auditor makes a determination that property was not eligible for a standard deduction
under IC 6-1.1-12-37 in a particular year within three (3) years after the date on which taxes for the
particular year are first due, the county auditor may issue a notice of taxes, interest, and penalties due
to the owner that improperly received the standard deduction and include a statement that the
payment is to be made payable to the county auditor. The additional taxes and civil penalties that result
from the removal of the deduction, if any, are imposed for property taxes first due and payable for an
assessment date occurring before the earlier of the date of the notation made under subsection
(c)(2)(A) or the date a notice of an ineligible homestead lien is recorded under subsection (e)(2) in the
office of the county recorder. The notice must require full payment of the amount owed within:
(1) one (1) year with no penalties and interest, if:

(A) the taxpayer did not comply with the requirement to return the homestead verification form

under IC 6-1.1-22-8.1(b)(9) (expired January 1, 2015); and

(B) the county auditor allowed the taxpayer to receive the standard deduction in error; or
(2) thirty (30) days, if subdivision (1) does not apply.
With respect to property subject to a determination made under this subsection that is owned by a
bona fide purchaser without knowledge of the determination, no lien attaches for any additional taxes
and civil penalties that result from the removal of the deduction.
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Reminder

IC6-1.1-36-17
Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of
adjustments in tax due; nonreverting fund

What this does:

e Auditors now have discretion to seek the taxes and penalty
corresponding to an ineligible homestead deduction. Moreover, if
an auditor chooses to seek the taxes and penalty, the auditor may
do so only within three years after the date on which taxes for the
particular year are first due. An auditor choosing to seek the taxes
and penalty must issue a notice of taxes, interest, and penalties
due to the owner that improperly received the deduction and
include a statement that the payment is to be made payable to
the county auditor.
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Reminder

IC 6-1.1-36-17
Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of adjustments in tax due;
nonreverting fund

J By way of example, if John did not return a verification form for his property and the county
erroneously left the deduction on the property anyway, John would have one year to repay
the taxes if the auditor chooses to seek those taxes from John. However, John would NOT
owe the 10% civil penalty. Conversely, if Bob returned a verification form for his property
indicating his eligibility for the deduction and it turns out he was not in fact eligible, and if
the auditor chooses to seek the taxes and penalty from Bob, Bob would have 30 days to pay
the amount due (taxes and 10% civil penalty). What is more difficult to classify under this
new amendment is the situation where a person did return a verification form indicating his
ineligibility for the deduction, but the county erroneously leaves the deduction in place
nonetheless. Under those circumstances, the Department would encourage auditors to use
their discretion and NOT seek the taxes and penalty from such a person.

J The Department strongly recommends that auditors and their staff read through IC 6-1.1-
36-17 in its entirety to fully understand the process for handling an ineligible homestead
deduction.
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More on ineligibility

HEA 1450-2017 imposes a requirement for a person receiving or seeking to
receive a homestead deduction.

e |[fthe person

e changes the use of the individual’s property so that part or all of the
property no longer qualifies for the deduction; or

e s not eligible for a deduction because the person is already receiving
e a homestead deduction in the person’s name as an individual or a

spouse; or
e adeduction under the law of another state equivalent to the
homestead deduction in Indiana;

e the person must file a certified statement with the auditor of the county
stating that the person is ineligible. A person who fails to file the
statement may be liable under IC 6-1.1-36-17 for any additional taxes
that would have been due on the property if the person had filed the

statement timely. v



;2 Carry on, wayward son

Changes to the one-year carryover (IC 6-1.1-12-45)

A person who fails to apply for a deduction or credit by the
prescribed deadlines may not apply for the deduction or credit
retroactively. This provision is effective July 1, 2017.

For example, a taxpayer acquired property in August 2017 from a
previous owner who had been receiving a homestead deduction on
that property. Hence, the taxpayer was entitled to receive the
homestead deduction for the January 1, 2018 assessment date, but
he would have to apply for the deduction for the January 1, 2019
assessment date. The taxpayer fails to apply by the deadline, filing
the application on January 6, 2020. The filing will first apply for the
January 1, 2020 assessment date.
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gt Carry on, wayward son

Changes to the one-year carryover (IC 6-1.1-12-45)

For purposes of the mortgage deduction, a taxpayer receiving the
deduction will have to reapply for the assessment date following a
refinancing.

Where applying for a deduction requires recording a contract with
a county recorder, the taxpayer must record the contract or a
memorandum of the contract before or concurrently with the
filing of the corresponding deduction application.

Before a county auditor terminates a deduction, the auditor must
notify the person claiming a deduction in writing that the auditor
intends to terminate the deduction and specifying the auditor’s
reasons. The auditor may send the notice by mail or e-mail. This
notice is not appealable, but the taxpayer may appeal the
auditor’s termination of the deduction.
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Veteran Deductions




IDVA has discontinued the “Codes.” The 1, 2, 3
system was actually never a part of the property tax
deduction statutes. Those numbers were used by

IDVA to classify vets based on disability.
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2 Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability

IC6-1.1-12-13

e Anindividual may have $24,960 deducted from the
assessed value of the taxable tangible property that
the individual owns, or real property, a mobile
home not assessed as real property, or a
manufactured home not assessed as real property
that the individual is buying under a contract (the
contract or a memorandum of the contract must be
recorded in the county recorder’s office) if ...
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1)

2)
3)
4)

5)

Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability

the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States during

any of its wars;

the individual received an honorable discharge;

the individual has a disability with a service connected disability of 10% or more;

the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

(A) a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability
compensation check issued by the United States Department of Veterans
Affairs; or

(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana Department
of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined that the individual’s
disability qualifies the individual to receive a deduction; and

the individual:

(A) owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home; or

(B) is buying the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home under
contract;
on the date the deduction application is filed.
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‘_g Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability

A person who receives this deduction may not receive the
deduction provided by IC 6-1.1-12-16, which is the deduction
for the surviving spouse of a World War | veteran.

An individual who has sold real property, a mobile home not
assessed as real property, or a manufactured home not
assessed as real property to another person under a contract
that provides that the contract buyer is to pay the property
taxes on the real property, mobile home, or manufactured
home may not claim this deduction against that real
property, mobile home, or manufactured home.
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a2, Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or
>, Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over

IC 6-1.1-12-14

e An individual may have the sum of $12,480 deducted
from the assessed value of the tangible property that
the individual owns (or the real property, mobile
home not assessed as real property, or manufactured
home not assessed as real property that the
individual is buying under a contract that provides
that the individual is to pay property taxes on the real
property, mobile home, or manufactured home if the
contract or a memorandum of the contract is
recorded in the county recorder's office) if ...
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a2 Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or
>, Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over

(1) the individual served in the military or naval forces
of the United States for at least 90 days;
(2) the individual received an honorable discharge;
(3) the individual either:
(A) has a total disability; or
(B) is at least 62 years old and has a disability of at
least 10% (need not be service-connected);
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92 Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or
% Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over

(4) the individual’s disability is evidenced by:
(A) a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued
by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; or
(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the
IDVA after it has determined that the individual’s
disability qualifies him or her to receive this deduction;
and
(5) the individual:
(A) owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured
home; or
(B) is buying the real property, mobile home, or
manufactured home under contract;
on the date the deduction application is filed.
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a2 Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or
>, Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over

No one is entitled to this deduction if the assessed

value of the individual’s tangible property, as shown

by the tax duplicate, exceeds $175,000. YOU MUST
CONSIDER ALL THE VET’S PROPERTY!

An individual who has sold real property, a mobile
home not assessed as real property, or a
manufactured home not assessed as real property
to another person under a contract that provides
that the contract buyer is to pay the property taxes
on the real property, mobile home, or
manufactured home may not claim this deduction.
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| Applying for the Veterans Deductions

IC6-1.1-12-15

An individual who desires to claim the partially or totally disabled veteran
deductions must file a statement with the auditor of the county in which the
individual resides (more appropriately, the individual should apply to the
auditor of the county in which the property is located). Application should
preferably list all of the vet’s Indiana property.

With respect to real property, the statement must be completed and signed
on or before December 31 and filed or postmarked on or before the
following January 5.

With respect to a mobile home that is not assessed as real property or a
manufactured home that is not assessed as real property, the statement
must be filed during the 12 months before March 31 of each year for which
the individual wishes to obtain the deduction.

The statement may be filed in person or by mail. If mailed, the mailing must
be postmarked on or before the last day for filing. The statement must
contain a sworn declaration that the individual is entitled to the deduction.
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Applying for the Veterans Deductions

In addition to the statement, the individual shall submit to the county

(1)

(2)

(3)

auditor for the auditor’s inspection:

a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability
compensation check issued by the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs if the individual claims the partially disabled veteran
deduction;

a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs if the individual claims
the totally disabled veteran; or

the appropriate certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by
IDVA if the individual claims either deduction.

If the individual claiming the deduction is under guardianship, the
guardian shall file the statement.

The statement must contain the record number and page where the
contract or memorandum of the contract is recorded, if applicable.
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gt Surviving Spouses

The surviving spouse of a veteran may receive these deductions if
the veteran satisfied the eligibility requirements of these
deductions at the time of his or her death and the surviving
spouse owns or is buying the property under contract at the time
the deduction application is filed. The surviving spouse is entitled
to the deduction regardless of whether the property for which the
deduction is claimed was owned by the deceased veteran or the
surviving spouse before the deceased veteran’s death.

If a deceased veteran’s surviving spouse is claiming a veteran
deduction, the surviving spouse shall provide the documentation
necessary to establish that at the time of death the deceased
veteran satisfied the requirements of IC 6-1.1-12-13 or IC 6-1.1-12-
14, whichever applies.
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i1 Deductions for World War | Veterans

e |C6-1.1-12-17.4,1C6-1.1-12-16, and IC6-1.1-12-17
provide for a deduction for World War | veterans,
their surviving spouses, and the process by which
surviving spouses claim the deduction.

e [C6-1.1-12-17.4 has been sunset, as there are no
longer any surviving World War | veterans.

e Please note that although IC 6-1.1-12-17 is entitled
“Claim by surviving spouse of veteran,” this is for
the surviving spouse of a World War | veteran only!
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Excise Taxes

If there is an unused portion of a veteran’s deduction remaining after the
application of the deduction to a veteran’s real property, the unused portion may
be applied first toward any personal property taxes and then to any excise taxes
the veteran owes.

Indiana Code 6-6-5-5.2 enables veterans (or their surviving spouses) who do not
own or are not buying property under contract that qualifies for a veteran
deduction to receive a credit toward vehicle excise taxes. This statute applies to a
registration year beginning after December 31, 2013 and was effective July 1,
2013.

Thus, if a vet literally owns no property (or is not buying property under recorded
contract) or if the only property he owns exceeds the assessed value threshold,
then he does not own land that qualifies for a vet deduction and thus may qualify
for the “excise-only” option. However, if the vet does qualify for the partially
disabled vet deduction but does not qualify for the totally disabled vet deduction
because of the assessed value of the property, then the vet may only apply any
unused portion of the partially disabled vet deduction to excise taxes. He cannot
also have the “excise-only” option.
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The Department has prescribed an affidavit
template, which is available at
http://www.in.gov/dlgf/files/Auditor Affidavit.doc.
The maximum number of motor vehicles for which
an individual may claim a credit is two. This credit
must be claimed on a form prescribed by the
bureau of motor vehicles. An individual claiming the
credit must attach to the form the affidavit.
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http://www.in.gov/dlgf/files/Auditor_Affidavit.doc

Excise Taxes

Question: What if a vet receiving a vet deduction on his property on March 1
sells the property later in the year and begins renting property? Can he still
receive his excise credit in the following year? What’s the timing for
providing the credit/affidavit?

Answer: If disabled veteran Bob owned property on March 1, 2014, received
the disabled vet deduction for that assessment date, then sold the property
later in 2014 and began renting, the amount of credit he gets would be
determined when the "14 Pay 15 bill is calculated in spring, 2015. He would
receive his coupon from the county in 2015. If there was no unused portion
remaining, then Bob would get nothing for excise credit in 2015 (because
there’s no unused portion leftover and because he technically owns property
that qualifies for the deduction). If Bob sold his property in late 2014 and
there was an unused portion of the deduction, then he could claim that
credit in 2015. If Bob sold his property in late 2014 and there was NO unused
portion of the deduction, then he could request the affidavit and take it to
the BMV for the $70 credit.
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Deduction for donating homestead

SEA 304 introduces a new deduction at IC 6-1.1-12-14.5, effective January 1, 2017
(the 2017 Pay 2018 cycle), which allows a veteran to claim a deduction from the
assessed value of the individual’s homestead if:
(1) theindividual served in the military or naval forces of the United States for at
least 90 days;
(2) theindividual received an honorable discharge;
(3) theindividual has a disability of at least 50%;
(4) theindividual’s disability is evidenced by:
(A) a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the United
States Department of Veterans Affairs; or
(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana
Department of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined
that the individual’s disability qualifies the individual to receive a
deduction under this new statute; and
(5) the homestead was conveyed without charge to the individual who is the
owner of the homestead by an organization that is exempt from income

taxation under the federal Internal Revenue Code. -



| Deduction for donating homestead

The amount of the deduction is determined as follows:

(1) If the individual is totally disabled, the deduction is equal to 100% of the
assessed value of the homestead.

(2) If the individual has a disability of at least 90% but the individual is not
totally disabled, the deduction is equal to 90% of the assessed value of
the homestead.

(3) If the individual has a disability of at least 80% but less than 90%, the
deduction is equal to 80% of the assessed value of the homestead.

(4) If the individual has a disability of at least 70% but less than 80%, the
deduction is equal to 70% of the assessed value of the homestead.

(5) If the individual has a disability of at least 60% but less than 70%, the
deduction is equal to 60% of the assessed value of the homestead.

(6) If the individual has a disability of at least 50% but less than 60%, the
deduction is equal to 50% of the assessed value of the homestead.

e “Homestead” has the meaning set forth in IC 6-1.1-12-37, the homestead

deduction statute (dwelling and immediately surrounding acre). -



s ) Deduction for donating homestead

A veteran who claims this deduction for an
assessment date may not also claim a “partially
disabled veteran deduction” or “totally disabled
veteran deduction” under IC 6-1.1-12-13 or 14,
respectively, for that same assessment date. Also,
an unused portion of this deduction, if any, CANNOT
be applied to excise taxes.

A veteran claiming this deduction must do so on a
form prescribed by the Department. The
Department has updated State Form 12662 in late
2016 to include this deduction.
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e j2 Frequently Asked Questions

e (Question: Can a veteran receive more than one veteran’s
deduction?

e Answer: The total amount of the deductions combined
cannot exceed the maximum established by statute. In other
words, if the veteran owns two properties in a county, he
can receive a deduction on both properties, but these
deductions combined cannot exceed $24,960 or $12,480 (or
possibly $37,440). You can view this as either two deductions
or one deduction split between properties. The application
should list the properties to which the vet wants the
deduction applied.
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e j2 Frequently Asked Questions

Question: What if two veterans own a property?
Answer: If two individuals, both eligible veterans, own a
property, then each is entitled to a full deduction.

Question: What if a veteran owns only personal property —
can he still receive the deduction or must he own real
property first?

Answer: The veteran’s deductions statutes say that the
deduction is made to the assessed value of the taxable
tangible property that the individual owns. Thus, if the
veteran owns only personal property, the deduction can be
applied to this property.
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Deductions on Mobile Homes
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Deductions on Mobile Homes

e (Question: Can a deduction eliminate a taxpayer’s liability on a
mobile or manufactured home?

e Answer: No. IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 provides that the total deductions
applicable to a mobile/manufactured home, not assessed as real
estate, may not exceed one-half of the assessed valuation of the
mobile/manufactured home (this does not apply to the
supplemental homestead deduction!):

IC6-1.1-12-40.5

Limits on deductions for mobile or manufactured homes

Sec. 40.5. Notwithstanding any other provision, the sum of the

deductions provided under this chapter to a mobile home that is not

assessed as real property or to a manufactured home that is not
assessed as real property may not exceed one-half (1/2) of the
assessed value of the mobile home or manufactured home.
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1 Deductions on Mobile Homes

The homestead deduction statute and IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 seem
to provide conflicting information regarding the maximum
allowable deduction and the allocation of the deduction
between the mobile home and real estate.

IC 6-1.1-12-37: Except as provided in section 40.5 of this
chapter, the total amount of the deduction that a person
may receive under this section for a particular year is the
lesser of: (1) sixty percent (60%) of the assessed value of the
real property, mobile home not assessed as real property, or
manufactured home not assessed as real property; or (2)
forty-five thousand dollars (S45,000).
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i) Deductions on Mobile Homes

e |C6-1.1-12-40.5: Notwithstanding any other
provision, the sum of the deductions provided
under this chapter to a mobile home that is not
assessed as real property or to a manufactured
home that is not assessed as real property may not
exceed one-half (1/2) of the assessed value of the
mobile home or manufactured home.

*(Please note that the supplemental homestead
deduction is not subject to the 50% limit!)*
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Deductions on Mobile Homes

50 IAC 24-3-5 Limitation on homestead standard deduction

(c) With respect to a personal property mobile home and up to one (1)

acre of the land surrounding the mobile home owned by an individual,

the overall sum of the deduction is limited to sixty percent (60%) of the

combined assessed value of the homestead, that is, mobile home and

qualified land. The county auditor shall allocate the deduction as follows:

1) A maximum of fifty percent (50%) of the assessed value of the
personal property mobile home.

2) The remainder of the deduction shall be applied to the assessed
value of the qualified land.

3) The deduction shall be applied to the personal property mobile
home and qualified land before all other deductions.

To follow the statutory limitations set in both of these sections of the

Indiana Code, the Department recommends that the homestead

deduction be applied to the personal property mobile home and the land

surrounding it up to one acre as follows:
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Deductions on Mobile Homes

Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value $15,000
Land Assessed Value (Same Owner) + $5,000
Homestead (Personal Property Mobile Home and Land up to 1 acre)

Assessed Value =$20,000
Per IC 6-1.1-12-37, 60% deduction of homestead =$12,000

Allocation of Deduction:
Per IC 6-1.1-12-40.5, maximum deductions of 50% of

Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value =$7,500
Remainder of deduction applied to Assessed Value of Land
(512,000 - $7,500) = 54,500

This leaves us with a net homestead AV of $8,000

(57,500 attributable to the mobile home and $500 to the land).
Supplemental homestead deduction of 35% would be
applied to this $8,000 ($2,800).

Here a deduction could potentially eliminate the taxpayer’s liability on the real estate.
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e j2 Frequently Asked Questions

Question: Our county’s vendor’s software is set-up so that if
all of a veteran’s deduction cannot be applied to a mobile
home, we apply it all toward excise taxes. Is this acceptable?

Answer: If even a portion of a veteran’s deduction (or any
other deduction) can be applied to a mobile home before it
reaches the 50% limit or to the real estate on which the
mobile home sits (if owned by the same party), then either
the software must be modified or the county will have to
make manual adjustments to the data so that the mobile
home receives as much of the deductions for which it is
eligible as possible.
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: Thank you!

e Dave Marusarz, Deputy General Counsel
e Telephone: 317.233.6770
e E-mail: dmarusarz@dlgf.in.gov (preferred)
Website: www.in.gov/dlIgf
e “Contact Us”: www.in.gov/dlgf/2338.htm
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“Fall” into Deductions

David Marusarz, Deputy General Counsel

Assessors’ Conference - August 2017
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What’s the difference between a deduction, exemption, and a credit?

A deduction reduces the assessed value being taxed, an exemption excludes property from assessment and/or taxation, and a credit reduces the tax bill.

2

Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!
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This presentation and other Department of Local Government Finance materials are not a substitute for the law! This is not legal advice, just an informative presentation. The Indiana Code always governs. 

Most importantly, if you’re not sure about something, ask first! The Department will do its best to answer your questions. If the Department can’t help, it will either refer you to the right agency or to your county attorney. Don’t rely on rumors or third party information.
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Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!
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Assessed value of real estate			$ 90,000

– Less Homestead Deduction:			- $ 45,000

– Less Supplemental:				- $ 15,750

– Less Mortgage Deduction:			- $ 3,000

– Less Partially Disabled Vet Deduction		- $ 24,960*

Net Assessed Value of Property =			$ 1,290



It is suggested that the veteran deduction be applied last so that if there is an unused portion remaining, the vet can seek an excise tax credit.

Homestead donated to a veteran deduction can be applied in any order!

It is possible for deductions to zero out a tax bill (personal property mobile homes may be an exception).

Deduction applications must be filled out and signed by December 31 and filed or postmarked by January 5.
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Applying the Deduction to Real Estate





Homestead Standard Deduction

Lesser of $45,000 or 60% of the gross AV of the property;

Applies to the dwelling (and those structures, such as decks and patios attached to the dwelling) and the surrounding acre (even if the acre straddles multiple parcels);

Applies to property that is the applicant’s principal place of residence, meaning the individual’s true, fixed, permanent home TO WHICH THE INDIVIDUAL HAS THE INTENTION OF RETURNING AFTER AN ABSENCE.

Applicant must own or be buying under recorded contract that provides that the buyer is responsible for the taxes (the latter is a pretty universal principle when a contract is involved).

NOTE: If the applicant is a contract buyer, a recorded memorandum of contract may be used, instead. See SEA 505-2017, Sec. 1.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Supplemental Homestead Deduction

Applied to the net AV resulting after application of the standard homestead deduction;

Deduction equals 35% of the net AV (if the net is less than $600,000) or 25% of the net AV (if the net is greater than $600,000).
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Overview of Common Deductions





Energy Deductions

Solar Energy Heating or Cooling System (deduction equals the out-of-pocket expenditures for the components and labor);

Solar Power Device, Wind Power Device, Hydroelectric Power Device, Geothermal Device (deduction equals the AV of the property with the device less the AV of the property without the device [for a solar power device assessed as distributable or personal property, the deduction equals the AV of the device]).

Please note: hydroelectric and geothermal devices must be certified by the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (if certified, subsequent owner does NOT need to seek certification again).

The device is assessed even if no deduction is applied!
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Overview of Common Deductions





Mortgage

Lesser of: $3,000, balance of mortgage or contract indebtedness on assessment date, or one-half of the total AV of property;

A person may not have more than one mortgage deduction in his name. However, if a married couple owns two pieces of property and each property is mortgaged in the spouses’ names, one spouse could have a mortgage deduction in his name on one property while the other spouse has a mortgage deduction in her name on the other property. Likewise, if a person owns a business (e.g., LLC), the person could have a mortgage deduction in his name and the business could have a mortgage deduction in its name.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Mortgage (continued)

Although there must be a mortgage balance in place, there is no statutory minimum balance.

The mortgage deduction is available for property on which a person has a home equity line of credit that is recorded in the county recorder’s office.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Mortgage (continued)

Note how statute defines key terms, effective July 1, 2017:

“Installment loan” means a loan under which

a lender advances money for the purchase of

a mobile home that is not assessed as real property; or

a manufactured homes that is not assessed as real property; and

a borrower repays the lender in installments in accordance with the terms of an installment agreement.

“Mortgage” means a lien against property that

an owner of the property grants to secure an obligation, such as a debt, according to terms set forth in a written instrument, such as a deed or a contract; and

is extinguished upon payment or performance according to the terms of the written instrument. 

The term includes a reverse mortgage.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Over 65 Deduction

Lesser of one-half of the gross AV of the property or $12,480 (can zero out bill!);

Applicant must have owned (or been buying) the property for at least one year before “claiming” the deduction;

Applicant and any joint tenants or tenants in common must reside on the property;

Combined, adjusted gross income of applicant and applicant’s spouse or applicant and any joint tenants or tenants in common for preceding year did not exceed $25,000;

AV of property cannot exceed $182,430;
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Overview of Common Deductions





Over 65 Deduction (continued)

Applicant must be at least 65 by December 31 of the year preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed (in other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2015 to receive the deduction for ‘15 Pay ‘16);

The same person cannot have the over 65 deduction in conjunction with deductions other than the homestead, mortgage, and fertilizer storage deductions;

The deduction cannot be denied on the basis that the recipient is away from the property while in a hospital or nursing home;

If any joint tenants or tenants in common are not at least 65, the deduction is reduced by a fraction.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Over 65 Circuit Breaker

Credit prevents recipient’s homestead tax liability from increasing by more than 2% over previous year;

Applicant must have been eligible for homestead deduction in preceding year as well as current year;

If applicant filed an individual income tax return for the preceding year, income cannot have exceeded $30,000 (or $40,000 if filed jointly with spouse);

Gross AV of homestead cannot exceed $160,000;

No restrictions on combining credit with other deductions;

Applicant is or will be at least 65 on or before December 31 of the calendar year immediately preceding the current calendar year (in other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2017 to receive the credit for ‘17 Pay ‘18).
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Overview of Common Deductions





Blind/Disabled Person Deduction

Deduction is $12,480;

Applicant must use property as principal place of residence;

Applicant must own or be buying the property under recorded contract;

Applicant must provide proof of blindness or disability; 

Applicant’s individual income for preceding year did not exceed $17,000.
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Overview of Common Deductions





Blind/Disabled Person Deduction (continued)

Question: I have a couple that both applied for the disabled deduction. This will take the value to zero on their primary residence. They have two other parcels. Can you put the rest of the disabled deduction on other property they own?

Answer: The property for which the deduction is sought must be the applicant’s principal residence. Thus, only property that is principally used and occupied by the individual as the individual’s residence qualifies.
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Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

was constructed before 1950; and

retains sufficient integrity of design, materials, and construction to clearly identify the building as a barn.



Cannot be a dwelling.

Must have mortise and tenon construction (i.e., built using heavy wooden timbers, joined together with wood-pegged mortise and tenon joinery, that form an exposed structural frame).
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Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

Statute now requires the applicable township or county assessor to verify that the barn was constructed before 1950. Moreover, the auditor must apply the deduction to a heritage barn that received the deduction in the preceding year unless the auditor determines that the property is no longer eligible for the deduction because the barn was not constructed before 1950. Statute did not previously include this phrase. The Department understands this to mean that if Barn A qualified for and received the heritage barn deduction under the previous version of the law on January 1, 2016, but Barn A is not a mortise and tenon barn, Barn A will NOT lose the deduction for January 1, 2017 since Barn A was built before 1950. It is still the case that this deduction terminates following a change in ownership of the heritage barn (if John sells Barn A to Bob, John’s heritage barn deduction is removed for the following assessment date and Bob must apply in his own name). Generally, however, the only basis an auditor has now for removing a heritage barn deduction from a heritage barn already receiving it is if the auditor determines that the barn was not constructed before 1950. Thus, auditors and assessors should give special attention to ensuring that barns for which the deduction is initially granted are in fact eligible. 
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Overview of Common Deductions





Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

How many heritage barn deductions can a person receive?

A person could receive more than one heritage barn deduction.

What about a barn that’s been refurbished?

If the core of the heritage barn is still there, then it probably could still qualify.

What about a barn that was originally built before 1950, but has been disassembled and reassembled since then?

If the barn has been rebuilt after 1950, then it probably can no longer be considered “constructed before 1950.”
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Overview of Common Deductions





Heritage Barn (continued)

Our assessor’s office is saying that they have to put heritage barn owners’ names, addresses, and phone numbers on a list for tourist/promotional information.

Section 3 of HEA 1046-2014 says that “Before July 1, 2015, the office [of tourism development] shall, using only the resources available to the office under P.L.205-2013 and this chapter, develop print and electronic media promoting tourism, visitation, and other hospitality opportunities that feature heritage barns located in Indiana. The department of agriculture and the office of community and rural affairs shall provide the office assistance in developing a heritage barn tourism program in Indiana.” I see nothing about assessors compiling a list of names, addresses, and phone numbers. Whether or not some other state office is doing that or has directed assessors to do that, I don’t know, but the statute is silent.
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Disabled Veteran Deductions (discussed later in this presentation)
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Overview of Common Deductions





Deductions in which assessor has role in verifying application (because the deduction corresponds to the assessed value of the property):

rehabilitation of residential property (IC 6-1.1-12-20)

rehabilitation of historic property (IC 6-1.1-12-24)

heritage barn (IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

solar energy heating/cooling system/solar power device (IC 6-1.1-12-27.1)

wind power device (IC 6-1.1-12-30)

coal/hydroelectric/geothermal device (IC 6-1.1-12-35.5)

fertilizer storage (IC 6-1.1-12-38)
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Overview of Common Deductions





If a deduction is validly in place on the assessment date, it will stay in place for the assessment year, even if the property changes hands and the new owner is ineligible for it. 

What if a person has a homestead on his principal place of residence on January 1 but moves to new principal place of residence later in the year? The deduction will stay on the old property for that tax cycle and can be granted a homestead deduction for the new property for the same tax cycle. See IC 6-1.1-12-37(h).
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A person must actually use the property as his or her principal place of residence in the year in which the deduction application/SDF is signed.
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Question: Can one spouse or owner receive an over 65 deduction while the other spouse or owner receives a veteran deduction?



Answer: YES! State law prohibits the same PERSON from receiving an over 65 deduction AND certain other deductions, but it does not prohibit one spouse or owner from receiving an over 65 deduction and the other spouse or owner receiving a disability or veteran deduction. Please note that the fractional reduction in the over 65 deduction only occurs if the other owner is not 65 and NOT the applicant’s spouse. If the applicant’s spouse is under 65, there is no reduction!
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Taxing Questions





Remember that a homestead deduction applies to a dwelling and up to one acre surrounding that dwelling. Even if that acre straddles or overlaps two or more parcels, the deduction must be applied to that full acre. The fact that the acre straddles or overlaps multiple parcels doesn’t preclude the taxpayer from receiving a complete deduction on that acre! State law does not require the taxpayer to combine the parcels in order to receive the deduction on the acre.



Also remember that for ‘14 Pay ‘15 and beyond, property must actually be receiving a homestead deduction to receive the 1% cap!
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Taxing Questions





Remember that if someone failed to file a verification form, the auditor may, in his or her discretion, terminate the deduction for the ‘12 Pay ‘13 cycle forward. To go back previous years, the auditor must have an independent reason for doing so. If a taxpayer who failed to file the verification form provides proof of his or her eligibility for the deduction for the ‘12 Pay ’13 cycle (or a subsequent cycle for which the deduction was terminated for failure to file the form), the deduction MUST be reinstated (no statutory deadline for taxpayer; no interest due; no statutory obligation to file Form 133).
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Taxing Questions





An auditor may limit what evidence he or she requests to a state income tax return, a valid driver’s license, or a valid voter registration card.



A dispute over eligibility for a homestead deduction in one year does not necessarily justify requesting documentation for multiple years, unless there truly is a basis for disputing eligibility in all those years. In other words, if there’s a dispute over a person’s eligibility for the deduction in ’13 Pay ’14, the auditor shouldn’t tell the taxpayer to supply proof of eligibility for multiple years unless eligibility is genuinely in dispute for those years.
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Taxing Questions





Likewise, an auditor should not tell taxpayers that he or she will accept a homestead deduction application only if the applicant attaches or provides a Social Security card or tax return. If the auditor reviews the application and determines that there is a legitimate need for supporting documentation, that’s one thing, but an auditor cannot impose additional criteria or steps for applying for a homestead deduction (there are some deductions, such as the vet deductions, that do require that supporting documentation be attached).



NOTE: YOU CANNOT REQUIRE SUBMISSION OF AN ENTIRE SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER UNLESS THERE IS EXPLICIT LEGAL AUTHORITY TO DO SO!
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Please note that if you have two unmarried individuals who own a property and one of them uses it has his homestead, he is not precluded from applying for the homestead deduction even if his co-owner receives a homestead deduction on the property where she lives.



By way of example, if Bob and Sue are siblings and own House A, which Bob uses as his homestead, Bob can claim a homestead deduction on House A even if Sue claims a homestead deduction on House B, which she uses as her homestead.
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Taxing Questions





However, if there are two or more people who own the same house and are each eligible for the homestead deduction, only one homestead deduction can be applied on the house.



The auditor must record and apply the deduction for the qualifying individual.



See IC 6-1.1-12-37(b).
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The homestead deduction application must contain “either:

the last five (5) digits of the applicant's Social Security number and the last five (5) digits of the Social Security number of the applicant's spouse (if any); or

if the applicant or the applicant's spouse (if any) does not have a Social Security number, any of the following for that individual:

The last five (5) digits of the individual's driver's license number.

The last five (5) digits of the individual's state identification card number.

The last five (5) digits of a preparer tax identification number that is obtained by the individual through the Internal Revenue Service of the United States.

If the individual does not have a driver's license or a state identification card, the last five (5) digits of a control number that is on a document issued to the individual by the federal government.”

“The county auditor may limit the evidence that an individual is required to submit to a state income tax return, a valid driver's license, or a valid voter registration card showing that the residence for which the deduction is claimed is the individual's principal place of residence.”
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What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?





Although a person has 60 days to obtain an Indiana driver’s license after becoming a resident of the state, the person’s failure to do so would not necessarily prohibit him from obtaining the homestead deduction.
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What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?





Question: If the wife is applying, she must list her husband’s identification information. What if the husband does not have an Indiana license or his out-of-state license is expired?



Answer: The wife, as applicant, should be able to show the auditor a valid driver’s license if asked and if she drives (again, need not necessarily be an Indiana license). If the husband has no driver’s license, this is not a problem (even the applicant is not required to have a driver’s license if she does not drive). If the husband has an out-of-state license (valid or expired), the last five digits of this number can be used in the application.
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What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?





By analogy, if you have a husband and wife and the husband lives in Belgium, the fact that he wouldn’t have an Indiana driver’s license and would not be using the Indiana property as his principal place of residence does not prevent the wife from claiming the deduction (so long as he’s not claiming a homestead deduction equivalent in Belgium [see next slide]). The wife would still need to include identification information for him in the application and the couple would be limited to the one homestead deduction, but the point is that the wife is really the applicant, so her eligibility is critical.



If she could provide no identification information for her husband, then that would be a problem.
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What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?





Remember that unless a couple is legally divorced, the couple is still married and entitled to only one homestead deduction. This is true even if the couple is living apart.



The only exception to this idea is the following:

IC 6-1.1-12-37(n)

A county auditor shall grant an individual a deduction under this section regardless of whether the individual and the individual‘s spouse claim a deduction on two (2) different applications and each application claims a deduction for different property if the property owned by the individual's spouse is located outside Indiana and the individual files an affidavit with the county auditor containing the following information:
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IC 6-1.1-12-37(n) (cont’d)

The names of the county and state in which the individual‘s spouse claims a deduction substantially similar to the deduction allowed by this section.

A statement made under penalty of perjury that the following are true:

That the individual and the individual's spouse maintain separate principal places of residence.

That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has an ownership interest in the other's principal place of residence.

That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has, for that same year, claimed a standard or substantially similar deduction for any property other than the property maintained as a principal place of residence by the respective individuals.
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Continued . . .

A county auditor may require an individual or an individual's spouse to provide evidence of the accuracy of the information contained in an affidavit submitted under this subsection. The evidence required of the individual or the individual's spouse may include state income tax returns, excise tax payment information, property tax payment information, driver license information, and voter registration information.

HEA 1450 removed a provision in law that entitles an individual receiving sole ownership of property in a divorce decree to a carryover of certain deductions. However, HEA 1450 included a new provision addressing changes in marital status… 
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Change in marital status & the homestead deduction - IC 6-1.1-12-17.8(d)



An unmarried individual who receives a homestead deduction must refile for the deduction if the individual marries and remains eligible for the deduction. The deduction must be filed for on the assessment date following the marriage. Likewise, a married individual receiving the homestead deduction who subsequently divorces must reapply for the deduction for the assessment date following the divorce. However, if the divorcing individual fails to reapply for the deduction, it does not make the former spouse ineligible for the homestead deduction.



If a person who is receiving the Over 65 deduction for a property and subsequently owns the property with another person jointly or as a tenant in common, assuming he remains eligible, the person must reapply for the deduction for the following assessment date. If an unmarried individual who is receiving an Over 65 credit for a property subsequently marries, assuming he remains eligible for the credit, the individual must reapply for the credit for the following assessment date.
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Question: In December, I received a letter from a taxpayer stating that they have moved and would like their mail forwarded to a new address. Should I pull that person’s homestead deduction for the preceding assessment date based on that letter?



Answer: Again, if the deduction was validly in place on the assessment date, it will stay in place for that tax cycle. Here, the auditor may have to seek additional information from the taxpayer, such as whether the taxpayer had moved out prior to the assessment date or whether the taxpayer is seeking a homestead deduction in another state for the same tax cycle that would require termination of the Indiana deduction. It is true that the taxpayer is the one obligated to notify the auditor of ineligibility, but the letter cited above isn’t necessarily sufficient proof of ineligibility.

Auditors should perform due diligence before pulling a deduction.

Note: a person can use an out-of-state driver’s license number to apply for the homestead deduction, but the auditor will probably want to follow-up with the taxpayer to ensure the person is actually an Indiana resident.
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Question: How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65 deduction and blind/disabled deductions?



Over 65 Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-9, 10.1):

“the combined adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue Code) of:

the individual and the individual's spouse; or

the individual and all other individuals with whom:

the individual shares ownership; or

the individual is purchasing the property under a contract;

as joint tenants or tenants in common;

for the calendar year preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed did not exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).



“In order to substantiate the deduction statement, the applicant shall submit for inspection by the county auditor a copy of the applicant's and a copy of the applicant's spouse's income tax returns for the preceding calendar year. If either was not required to file an income tax return, the applicant shall subscribe to that fact in the deduction statement.”
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Over 65 Credit (IC 6-1.1-20.6-8.5):

“(A) in the case of an individual who filed a single return, adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue Code) not exceeding thirty thousand dollars ($30,000); or

(B) in the case of an individual who filed a joint income tax return with the individual's spouse, combined adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue Code) not exceeding forty thousand dollars ($40,000);

for the calendar year preceding by two (2) years the calendar year in which property taxes are first due and payable.”

41

“Taxing” Questions





January 20, 2007

41





Question: How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65 deduction and blind/disabled deductions?



Blind/Disabled Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-11, 12):

“[T]he individual's taxable gross income for the calendar year preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed did not exceed seventeen thousand dollars ($17,000).”

“For purposes of this section, taxable gross income does not include income which is not taxed under the federal income tax laws.”

Notice that only the over 65 deduction/credit requires submission of an income tax return!

Adjusted gross income stated here:

Form 1040 – Line 37

Form 1040A – Line 21

Form 1040EZ – Line 4
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IC 6-1.1-12-17.9

Trust eligibility for certain deductions; requirements

A trust is entitled to a deduction under section 9 [over 65], 11 [blind/disabled], 13 [partially-disabled veteran], 14 [totally disabled veteran], or 16 [surviving spouse of WW I vet], or 17.4 [WW I vet – section expired] of this chapter for real property owned by the trust and occupied by an individual if the county auditor determines that the individual:

(1) upon verification in the body of the deed or otherwise, has either:

a beneficial interest in the trust; or

the right to occupy the real property rent free under the terms of a qualified personal residence trust created by the individual under United States Treasury Regulation 25.2702-5(c)(2); and

(2) otherwise qualifies for the deduction.



A trust can also receive the homestead deduction!!!
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What about trusts?





Question: Can our county collect on ineligible deductions other than the homestead?



Answer: While it is possible that a taxpayer who received a deduction for which he was not eligible may be liable for the taxes associated with that ineligible deduction, for all but the homestead deduction, statute does not provide a mechanism for counties to pursue action against these taxpayers. There is no statutory process outlined for identifying these taxpayers, notifying them of the issue, or collecting these taxes. We do believe, however, that a county could take legal action through a court.
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Please note that HEA 1072-2012 amended the homestead deduction statute so that:

	

If a property owner’s property is not eligible for the homestead deduction because the county auditor has determined that the property is not the property owner’s principal place of residence, the property owner may appeal the county auditor’s determination to the PTABOA as provided in IC 6-1.1-15. The county auditor must inform the property owner of the owner’s right to appeal to the PTABOA when the county auditor informs the property owner of the county auditor’s determination. (Effective July 1, 2012)
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IC 6-1.1-36-17

Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of adjustments in tax due; nonreverting fund

(b) If a county auditor makes a determination that property was not eligible for a standard deduction under IC 6-1.1-12-37 in a particular year within three (3) years after the date on which taxes for the particular year are first due, the county auditor may issue a notice of taxes, interest, and penalties due to the owner that improperly received the standard deduction and include a statement that the payment is to be made payable to the county auditor. The additional taxes and civil penalties that result from the removal of the deduction, if any, are imposed for property taxes first due and payable for an assessment date occurring before the earlier of the date of the notation made under subsection (c)(2)(A) or the date a notice of an ineligible homestead lien is recorded under subsection (e)(2) in the office of the county recorder. The notice must require full payment of the amount owed within:

one (1) year with no penalties and interest, if:

the taxpayer did not comply with the requirement to return the homestead verification form under IC 6-1.1-22-8.1(b)(9) (expired January 1, 2015); and

the county auditor allowed the taxpayer to receive the standard deduction in error; or

thirty (30) days, if subdivision (1) does not apply.

With respect to property subject to a determination made under this subsection that is owned by a bona fide purchaser without knowledge of the determination, no lien attaches for any additional taxes and civil penalties that result from the removal of the deduction.
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IC 6-1.1-36-17

Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of adjustments in tax due; nonreverting fund



What this does:

Auditors now have discretion to seek the taxes and penalty corresponding to an ineligible homestead deduction. Moreover, if an auditor chooses to seek the taxes and penalty, the auditor may do so only within three years after the date on which taxes for the particular year are first due. An auditor choosing to seek the taxes and penalty must issue a notice of taxes, interest, and penalties due to the owner that improperly received the deduction and include a statement that the payment is to be made payable to the county auditor.
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IC 6-1.1-36-17

Notice of ineligibility for standard deduction; collection of adjustments in tax due; nonreverting fund



By way of example, if John did not return a verification form for his property and the county erroneously left the deduction on the property anyway, John would have one year to repay the taxes if the auditor chooses to seek those taxes from John. However, John would NOT owe the 10% civil penalty. Conversely, if Bob returned a verification form for his property indicating his eligibility for the deduction and it turns out he was not in fact eligible, and if the auditor chooses to seek the taxes and penalty from Bob, Bob would have 30 days to pay the amount due (taxes and 10% civil penalty). What is more difficult to classify under this new amendment is the situation where a person did return a verification form indicating his ineligibility for the deduction, but the county erroneously leaves the deduction in place nonetheless. Under those circumstances, the Department would encourage auditors to use their discretion and NOT seek the taxes and penalty from such a person.



The Department strongly recommends that auditors and their staff read through IC 6-1.1-36-17 in its entirety to fully understand the process for handling an ineligible homestead deduction.
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HEA 1450-2017 imposes a requirement for a person receiving or seeking to receive a homestead deduction.



If the person 

changes the use of the individual’s property so that part or all of the property no longer qualifies for the deduction; or 

is not eligible for a deduction because the person is already receiving

a homestead deduction in the person’s name as an individual or a spouse; or

a deduction under the law of another state equivalent to the homestead deduction in Indiana;

the person must file a certified statement with the auditor of the county stating that the person is ineligible. A person who fails to file the statement may be liable under IC 6-1.1-36-17 for any additional taxes that would have been due on the property if the person had filed the statement timely. 
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More on ineligibility





Changes to the one-year carryover (IC 6-1.1-12-45)

A person who fails to apply for a deduction or credit by the prescribed deadlines may not apply for the deduction or credit retroactively. This provision is effective July 1, 2017.



For example, a taxpayer acquired property in August 2017 from a previous owner who had been receiving a homestead deduction on that property. Hence, the taxpayer was entitled to receive the homestead deduction for the January 1, 2018 assessment date, but he would have to apply for the deduction for the January 1, 2019 assessment date. The taxpayer fails to apply by the deadline, filing the application on January 6, 2020. The filing will first apply for the January 1, 2020 assessment date.
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Changes to the one-year carryover (IC 6-1.1-12-45)

For purposes of the mortgage deduction, a taxpayer receiving the deduction will have to reapply for the assessment date following a refinancing.

Where applying for a deduction requires recording a contract with a county recorder, the taxpayer must record the contract or a memorandum of the contract before or concurrently with the filing of the corresponding deduction application.

Before a county auditor terminates a deduction, the auditor must notify the person claiming a deduction in writing that the auditor intends to terminate the deduction and specifying the auditor’s reasons. The auditor may send the notice by mail or e-mail. This notice is not appealable, but the taxpayer may appeal the auditor’s termination of the deduction.
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Veteran Deductions
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IDVA has discontinued the “Codes.” The 1, 2, 3 system was actually never a part of the property tax deduction statutes. Those numbers were used by IDVA to classify vets based on disability.
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Codes





IC 6-1.1-12-13

An individual may have $24,960 deducted from the assessed value of the taxable tangible property that the individual owns, or real property, a mobile home not assessed as real property, or a manufactured home not assessed as real property that the individual is buying under a contract (the contract or a memorandum of the contract must be recorded in the county recorder’s office) if ...
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Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability





the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States during any of its wars;

the individual received an honorable discharge;

the individual has a disability with a service connected disability of 10% or more;

the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability compensation check issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; or

a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana Department of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined that the individual’s disability qualifies the individual to receive a deduction; and

the individual:

owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home; or

is buying the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home under contract; 

	on the date the deduction application is filed.
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A person who receives this deduction may not receive the deduction provided by IC 6-1.1-12-16, which is the deduction for the surviving spouse of a World War I veteran.



An individual who has sold real property, a mobile home not assessed as real property, or a manufactured home not assessed as real property to another person under a contract that provides that the contract buyer is to pay the property taxes on the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home may not claim this deduction against that real property, mobile home, or manufactured home.
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IC 6-1.1-12-14

An individual may have the sum of $12,480 deducted from the assessed value of the tangible property that the individual owns (or the real property, mobile home not assessed as real property, or manufactured home not assessed as real property that the individual is buying under a contract that provides that the individual is to pay property taxes on the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home if the contract or a memorandum of the contract is recorded in the county recorder's office) if ...
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the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States for at least 90 days;

the individual received an honorable discharge;

the individual either:

has a total disability; or

is at least 62 years old and has a disability of at least 10% (need not be service-connected);
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Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over
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the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; or

a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the IDVA after it has determined that the individual’s disability qualifies him or her to receive this deduction; and

the individual:

owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home; or

is buying the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home under contract;
on the date the deduction application is filed. 
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No one is entitled to this deduction if the assessed value of the individual’s tangible property, as shown by the tax duplicate, exceeds $175,000. YOU MUST CONSIDER ALL THE VET’S PROPERTY!

An individual who has sold real property, a mobile home not assessed as real property, or a manufactured home not assessed as real property to another person under a contract that provides that the contract buyer is to pay the property taxes on the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home may not claim this deduction.

60

Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over





January 20, 2007

60





IC 6-1.1-12-15

An individual who desires to claim the partially or totally disabled veteran deductions must file a statement with the auditor of the county in which the individual resides (more appropriately, the individual should apply to the auditor of the county in which the property is located). Application should preferably list all of the vet’s Indiana property.

With respect to real property, the statement must be completed and signed on or before December 31 and filed or postmarked on or before the following January 5. 

With respect to a mobile home that is not assessed as real property or a manufactured home that is not assessed as real property, the statement must be filed during the 12 months before March 31 of each year for which the individual wishes to obtain the deduction.

The statement may be filed in person or by mail. If mailed, the mailing must be postmarked on or before the last day for filing. The statement must contain a sworn declaration that the individual is entitled to the deduction.
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Applying for the Veterans Deductions





In addition to the statement, the individual shall submit to the county auditor for the auditor’s inspection:

a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability compensation check issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs if the individual claims the partially disabled veteran deduction;

a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs if the individual claims the totally disabled veteran; or

the appropriate certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by IDVA if the individual claims either deduction.

If the individual claiming the deduction is under guardianship, the guardian shall file the statement.

The statement must contain the record number and page where the contract or memorandum of the contract is recorded, if applicable.
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Applying for the Veterans Deductions





The surviving spouse of a veteran may receive these deductions if the veteran satisfied the eligibility requirements of these deductions at the time of his or her death and the surviving spouse owns or is buying the property under contract at the time the deduction application is filed. The surviving spouse is entitled to the deduction regardless of whether the property for which the deduction is claimed was owned by the deceased veteran or the surviving spouse before the deceased veteran’s death.

If a deceased veteran’s surviving spouse is claiming a veteran deduction, the surviving spouse shall provide the documentation necessary to establish that at the time of death the deceased veteran satisfied the requirements of IC 6-1.1-12-13 or IC 6-1.1-12-14, whichever applies.
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Surviving Spouses





IC 6-1.1-12-17.4, IC 6-1.1-12-16, and IC 6-1.1-12-17 provide for a deduction for World War I veterans, their surviving spouses, and the process by which surviving spouses claim the deduction.

IC 6-1.1-12-17.4 has been sunset, as there are no longer any surviving World War I veterans.

Please note that although IC 6-1.1-12-17 is entitled “Claim by surviving spouse of veteran,” this is for the surviving spouse of a World War I veteran only!
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Deductions for World War I Veterans





If there is an unused portion of a veteran’s deduction remaining after the application of the deduction to a veteran’s real property, the unused portion may be applied first toward any personal property taxes and then to any excise taxes the veteran owes.

Indiana Code 6-6-5-5.2 enables veterans (or their surviving spouses) who do not own or are not buying property under contract that qualifies for a veteran deduction to receive a credit toward vehicle excise taxes. This statute applies to a registration year beginning after December 31, 2013 and was effective July 1, 2013.

Thus, if a vet literally owns no property (or is not buying property under recorded contract) or if the only property he owns exceeds the assessed value threshold, then he does not own land that qualifies for a vet deduction and thus may qualify for the “excise-only” option. However, if the vet does qualify for the partially disabled vet deduction but does not qualify for the totally disabled vet deduction because of the assessed value of the property, then the vet may only apply any unused portion of the partially disabled vet deduction to excise taxes. He cannot also have the “excise-only” option.
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Excise Taxes





The Department has prescribed an affidavit template, which is available at http://www.in.gov/dlgf/files/Auditor_Affidavit.doc.

The maximum number of motor vehicles for which an individual may claim a credit is two. This credit must be claimed on a form prescribed by the bureau of motor vehicles. An individual claiming the credit must attach to the form the affidavit.
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Excise Taxes





Question: What if a vet receiving a vet deduction on his property on March 1 sells the property later in the year and begins renting property? Can he still receive his excise credit in the following year? What’s the timing for providing the credit/affidavit?

Answer: If disabled veteran Bob owned property on March 1, 2014, received the disabled vet deduction for that assessment date, then sold the property later in 2014 and began renting, the amount of credit he gets would be determined when the ’14 Pay ’15 bill is calculated in spring, 2015. He would receive his coupon from the county in 2015. If there was no unused portion remaining, then Bob would get nothing for excise credit in 2015 (because there’s no unused portion leftover and because he technically owns property that qualifies for the deduction). If Bob sold his property in late 2014 and there was an unused portion of the deduction, then he could claim that credit in 2015. If Bob sold his property in late 2014 and there was NO unused portion of the deduction, then he could request the affidavit and take it to the BMV for the $70 credit.

67

Excise Taxes





SEA 304 introduces a new deduction at IC 6-1.1-12-14.5, effective January 1, 2017 (the 2017 Pay 2018 cycle), which allows a veteran to claim a deduction from the assessed value of the individual’s homestead if:

the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States for at least 90 days;

the individual received an honorable discharge;

the individual has a disability of at least 50%;

the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; or

a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana Department of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined that the individual’s disability qualifies the individual to receive a deduction under this new statute; and

the homestead was conveyed without charge to the individual who is the owner of the homestead by an organization that is exempt from income taxation under the federal Internal Revenue Code.

68

Deduction for donating homestead





The amount of the deduction is determined as follows:

If the individual is totally disabled, the deduction is equal to 100% of the assessed value of the homestead.

If the individual has a disability of at least 90% but the individual is not totally disabled, the deduction is equal to 90% of the assessed value of the homestead.

If the individual has a disability of at least 80% but less than 90%, the deduction is equal to 80% of the assessed value of the homestead.

If the individual has a disability of at least 70% but less than 80%, the deduction is equal to 70% of the assessed value of the homestead.

If the individual has a disability of at least 60% but less than 70%, the deduction is equal to 60% of the assessed value of the homestead.

If the individual has a disability of at least 50% but less than 60%, the deduction is equal to 50% of the assessed value of the homestead.

“Homestead” has the meaning set forth in IC 6-1.1-12-37, the homestead deduction statute (dwelling and immediately surrounding acre). 
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Deduction for donating homestead





A veteran who claims this deduction for an assessment date may not also claim a “partially disabled veteran deduction” or “totally disabled veteran deduction” under IC 6-1.1-12-13 or 14, respectively, for that same assessment date. Also, an unused portion of this deduction, if any, CANNOT be applied to excise taxes.

A veteran claiming this deduction must do so on a form prescribed by the Department. The Department has updated State Form 12662 in late 2016 to include this deduction.
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Deduction for donating homestead





Question: Can a veteran receive more than one veteran’s deduction?



Answer: The total amount of the deductions combined cannot exceed the maximum established by statute. In other words, if the veteran owns two properties in a county, he can receive a deduction on both properties, but these deductions combined cannot exceed $24,960 or $12,480 (or possibly $37,440). You can view this as either two deductions or one deduction split between properties. The application should list the properties to which the vet wants the deduction applied.
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Question: What if two veterans own a property?

Answer: If two individuals, both eligible veterans, own a property, then each is entitled to a full deduction.



Question: What if a veteran owns only personal property – can he still receive the deduction or must he own real property first?

Answer: The veteran’s deductions statutes say that the deduction is made to the assessed value of the taxable tangible property that the individual owns. Thus, if the veteran owns only personal property, the deduction can be applied to this property.
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Deductions on Mobile Homes
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January 20, 2007
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Question: Can a deduction eliminate a taxpayer’s liability on a mobile or manufactured home?

Answer: No. IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 provides that the total deductions applicable to a mobile/manufactured home, not assessed as real estate, may not exceed one-half of the assessed valuation of the mobile/manufactured home (this does not apply to the supplemental homestead deduction!):

IC 6-1.1-12-40.5
Limits on deductions for mobile or manufactured homes
Sec. 40.5. Notwithstanding any other provision, the sum of the deductions provided under this chapter to a mobile home that is not assessed as real property or to a manufactured home that is not assessed as real property may not exceed one-half (1/2) of the assessed value of the mobile home or manufactured home.
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Deductions on Mobile Homes





The homestead deduction statute and IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 seem to provide conflicting information regarding the maximum allowable deduction and the allocation of the deduction between the mobile home and real estate. 



IC 6-1.1-12-37: Except as provided in section 40.5 of this chapter, the total amount of the deduction that a person may receive under this section for a particular year is the lesser of: (1) sixty percent (60%) of the assessed value of the real property, mobile home not assessed as real property, or manufactured home not assessed as real property; or (2) forty-five thousand dollars ($45,000).
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Deductions on Mobile Homes





IC 6-1.1-12-40.5: Notwithstanding any other provision, the sum of the deductions provided under this chapter to a mobile home that is not assessed as real property or to a manufactured home that is not assessed as real property may not exceed one-half (1/2) of the assessed value of the mobile home or manufactured home. 



*(Please note that the supplemental homestead deduction is not subject to the 50% limit!)*
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50 IAC 24-3-5 Limitation on homestead standard deduction

(c) With respect to a personal property mobile home and up to one (1) acre of the land surrounding the mobile home owned by an individual, the overall sum of the deduction is limited to sixty percent (60%) of the combined assessed value of the homestead, that is, mobile home and qualified land. The county auditor shall allocate the deduction as follows:

A maximum of fifty percent (50%) of the assessed value of the personal property mobile home.

The remainder of the deduction shall be applied to the assessed value of the qualified land.

The deduction shall be applied to the personal property mobile home and qualified land before all other deductions.

To follow the statutory limitations set in both of these sections of the Indiana Code, the Department recommends that the homestead deduction be applied to the personal property mobile home and the land surrounding it up to one acre as follows:

77

Deductions on Mobile Homes





Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value			$15,000 

Land Assessed Value (Same Owner)				+ $5,000 

Homestead (Personal Property Mobile Home and Land up to 1 acre) 

		Assessed Value					= $20,000 



Per IC 6-1.1-12-37, 60% deduction of homestead			= $12,000 



Allocation of Deduction: 

Per IC 6-1.1-12-40.5, maximum deductions of 50% of 
	Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value		= $7,500 

Remainder of deduction applied to Assessed Value of Land 

		($12,000 - $7,500)					= $4,500

This leaves us with a net homestead AV of $8,000 
	($7,500 attributable to the mobile home and $500 to the land).

Supplemental homestead deduction of 35% would be 
applied to this $8,000 ($2,800).



Here a deduction could potentially eliminate the taxpayer’s liability on the real estate.
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Question: Our county’s vendor’s software is set-up so that if all of a veteran’s deduction cannot be applied to a mobile home, we apply it all toward excise taxes. Is this acceptable?



Answer: If even a portion of a veteran’s deduction (or any other deduction) can be applied to a mobile home before it reaches the 50% limit or to the real estate on which the mobile home sits (if owned by the same party), then either the software must be modified or the county will have to make manual adjustments to the data so that the mobile home receives as much of the deductions for which it is eligible as possible.
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Dave Marusarz, Deputy General Counsel

Telephone: 317.233.6770

E-mail: dmarusarz@dlgf.in.gov (preferred)

Website: www.in.gov/dlgf

“Contact Us”: www.in.gov/dlgf/2338.htm
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Thank you!
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