INDIANA BUILDING CODE COMMITTEE BYLAWS

(a subcommittee of the Indiana Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission)

MEMBERSHIP AND BYLAWS

- **1. Establishment of the Committee.** The Indiana Building Code Committee ("Committee") is hereby formed.
- 2. Duties of the Committee. The Committee shall create a draft proposed rule to update the current Indiana Building Code located at 675 IAC 13-2.6. The Committee shall review the 2024 International Building Code and recommend any amendments that it feels are appropriate. The Committee shall calculate the fiscal impact this proposed rule will create. Members shall also provide, and keep up to date, contact information (email, phone) with the Commission Secretary.

The Committee shall compile a cost benefit analysis and a fiscal impact analysis for the draft proposed rule in accordance with the requirements of IC 4-22-2-22.8.

Committee members shall provide and keep up to date contact information (email address and phone number) with the Committee Secretary.

Note: The draft proposed rule adopted by the Committee is just that, a *draft proposed rule*, and the Commission retains its full rulemaking authority over this matter.

- **3.** Committee Membership. The Committee consists of 7 voting members. No proxies are permitted.
 - **3.1 Voting Members.** The Committee shall be composed of the following members:
 - a. Fire Official Daryl Cross
 - b. Building Official Robert Larue
 - c. Contractor Kris Griffith
 - d. Architect John Hawkins
 - e. Engineer Chip Bradway
 - f. Code Consultant David Cook
 - g. Member of the Commission James Murua
 - 3.2 Committee Chairman. The Committee Chairman is James Murua. The Committee Chairman shall control the conduct of the meetings. This authority includes: (1) the allowance or prevention of testimony from the public; (2) approving the agenda for the meeting; (3) calling for votes upon receipt of motions from other Committee members; (4) the calling of special meetings; and (5) all other actions necessary to conduct an efficient and meaningful code drafting meeting.

- 3.3 Committee Secretary. The Committee Secretary is Dustin ("Daz") Dyer. All submittals required to be made to the Secretary shall be delivered to buildingcommission@dhs.IN.gov. The Committee Secretary shall handle all administrative functions for the Committee. This includes but is not limited to: (1) the scheduling of meetings rooms; (2) sending out correspondence to members; (3) drafting and posting of meeting agendas; (4) taking of meeting minutes; (5) drafting of the proposed draft rule; and (6) the receipt and retention of filings.
- **4. Quorum.** Quorum consists of 4 members. In order to conduct business, there must be a quorum of members present at the meeting either in person or electronically in accordance with IC 5-14-1.5-3.6 (if the Committee adopts an electronic meeting policy) or IC 5-14-1.5-3.7 (in the event of a declared disaster emergency). No member may participate or be counted for quorum purposes if they are not present at the meeting.
- **5. Votes Needed to Take Action.** For any action to take place, a majority of the members present must vote in the affirmative. For the draft proposed rule, the rule must be approved by two-thirds of the members present and voting.
- 6. Meeting Time, Dates and Location. The first meeting will be held on a date, time, and location established by the Chairman. The remaining regularly scheduled meetings shall be established by vote of the Committee at the initial meeting. The adoption of the schedule of meetings shall also include proposed matters to be discussed at each scheduled meeting. The Committee may amend their schedule of meetings or the subject matter to be discussed at any meeting. The Committee shall make a copy of their schedule of meetings publicly available.
- 7. Special Meetings. Special meetings may be called by the Chairman. Special meetings must be called three days in advance of the proposed date of the special meeting and all members must receive notice of the proposed special meeting three days in advance of the proposed date of the special meeting.
- **8. Member Terms.** Members are expected to attend all Committee meetings. A member's term lasts until: (1) the member resigns; (2) the member is involuntarily removed; or (3) the work of this Committee has been completed by providing notice to the Commission.
- **9. Member Resignation.** If for any reason a member cannot fulfill their duties, the member, and the member only, shall provide a resignation letter to the Committee Secretary. A member is deemed to have resigned upon the member's death or infirmity.
- **10. Involuntary Removal.** Involuntary removal of a member may only occur by approval of the Commission.

1. Code Change Proposals. All code change proposals shall be submitted on the Commission's online code change proposal form. All code change proposals must include the reason for the proposal and a statement of fiscal impact for the proposed change to be considered by the Committee. Approval of any code change proposal shall signify acceptance by the Committee of the reason and fiscal impact associated with the proposal. Modifications by the Committee to the language, reason statement, or fiscal impact of a code change proposal shall be identified in the meeting minutes.

Except for the act of tabling, a proposal for code change previously acted on by the Committee shall not be re-opened for discussion unless new evidence is provided to justify such action and a two-thirds vote by the entire committee (not just those present and voting) approves the matter to be reopened.

All other procedures related to the review and submission of code change proposals shall be as implemented by the Chairman. These procedures may, among other things, implement deadlines for the submission of proposals.

Adopted at the October 3, 2023 Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission Meeting. Members appointed at the January 3, 2024 Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission.