Radiological Emergency Preparedness Program

Got a question?  Write to Mary Stiker or call 317-464-7394


The Indiana Department of Homeland Security’s (IDHS) Radiological Emergency Preparedness Program (REPP) coordinates efforts to protect and respond to incidents involving commercial nuclear power plants (NPPs) The REPP provides the State of Indiana and the local community with plans, training and guidance. The IDHS REPP follows federal guidance and policies to ensure capabilities exist to prevent, protect against, mitigate the effects of and respond to and recover from incidents involving NPPs.


Indiana is considered part of the Emergency Preparedness Zones (EPZs) for four commercial nuclear power plants, two (2) in Michigan and two (2) in Illinois. This is a geographical area surrounding a commercial nuclear power plant for which emergency planning is needed.  Indiana is part of the Ingestion Pathway EPZ with a radius of approximately fifty (50) miles.

Participation in the REP planning and preparedness adheres to the program requirements in 44 CFR Part 350 and the joint Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) /Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) document NUREG 0654/FEMA-REP -1 and the FEMA REP Program Manual. The REP Program Manual has specific Planning Standards outlined.  FEMA must review state radiological emergency plans and preparedness.  This oversight ensures reasonable assurance that appropriate protective measures can be taken offsite in an event of a radiological incident.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is responsible for the onsite emergency preparedness at all the US Nuclear Power Plants.  Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has the lead role with offsite emergency planning and preparedness. 


FEMA issued a new REP Program Manual in June, 2013 and January, 2015.  The REP Program Manual is guidance and provides sixteen (16) Planning Standards.  Not all the Standards apply to an Ingestion Pathway Plan (IPP).  Within each Planning Standard are additional Criteria that should be incorporated into the Plan.  With the new REP Manuals the Indiana Ingestion Pathway Plan has been revised.  It is currently in draft form.  The revised draft has been divided into tabs and annexes. The draft IPP is comprised of the Base Plan, ESF and Support Function SOPs, Field Monitoring, Radiological Assessment, Definitions and Acronyms, and Forms.  The revised draft IPP has addressed the required Standards as well as the changes in the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Protective Action Guidance 2013.

FEMA evaluated exercises for Ingestion EPZ are conducted every eight (8) years.  However, the goal for the IDHS REP Program is to conduct annual training.  This would include basic education on effects of radiation, identification of possible preventative protective actions taken for food and water, sampling techniques for soil, water and food stuffs, and information regarding where to obtain information during a NPP incident.

Ingestion Pathway Planning Zone Information

Glossary of Terms

Nuclear Regulatory Commission Information

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Information

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) information