- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.


Agency Links Links
Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • smokeAlarms
  • NTAS_widget
  • map_widget
  • state-that-works_widget

Indiana Department of Homeland Security

About Fire Safety / Services > Frequently Asked Questions Frequently Asked Questions

Volunteer Firefighter Blue Light Law  
Blue Light Law Update

Explosive FAQ

If an owner of a magazine has reported to the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, is a permit still required from the Fire Marshal's Office?     
    Yes, if explosives are manufactured or stored on site.

Where can I obtain training for certification in the use of dynamite? 
    The Office of the State Fire Marshal does not have information on training.

Residential Fire Code FAQ

What state agency regulates open burning, i.e. burning leaves or trash at home? 
    The Indiana Department of Environmental Management regulates open burning. For information, contact  David Rice, IDEM, at 317-232-8220 and/or visit IDEM's Open Burning website.

How do I close a home heating oil tank? 
Indiana Code 22-12-9 details the requirements for closing a home heating oil tank. A copy of this law may be obtained from the public library or through the OSFM, 402 W. Washington St., Rm. E241, Indianapolis,   IN 46204-2739, 1-800-423-0765; fax 317-233-0307.

Are charcoal grills permitted on apartment patios and balconies?
Effective May 21, 2003, the new Indiana Fire Code Section 307.5 Open-flame cooking devices states:
"Charcoal burners and other open-flame cooking devices shall not be operated on combustible balconies or within 10 feet (3048 mm) of combustible construction."


    1. One- and  two-family dwellings.
    2. Where buildings and decks are protected by an automatic sprinkler system.

Section 307.5.1 Liquefied-petroleum-gas-fueled cooking devices. LP-gas burners having a LP-gas container with a water capacity greater than 2.5 pounds (1.14 kg) [nominal 1 pound (0.454 kg) LP-gas capacity] shall not be located on combustible balconies or within 10 feet (3048 mm) of combustible construction


    One- and two-family dwellings.