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Money Smart

The Money Smart curriculum is brought to you by the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions/Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).  The Money Smart program includes the following courses:

(  Charge it right
     charge it right as a consumer

(  Bank On It

     an introduction to bank services

(  Check It Out
     how to choose and keep a checking account

(  Money Matters

     how to keep track of your money

(  Pay Yourself First
     why you should save, save, save

(  Borrowing Basics

     an introduction to credit

(  To Your Credit

     how your credit history will affect your credit future

(  Charge It Right

     how to make a credit card work for you

(  Your Own Home

      what homeownership is all about

(  Loan to Own

     know what you’re borrowing before you buy

Charge It Right

Welcome to Charge It Right!  Using a credit card can be both a convenience and a necessity.  However, many people get into trouble by not using a credit card wisely.

Credit cards are a convenient form of borrowing.  People generally use credit cards to purchase goods and services.  Credit cards represent a revolving line of credit.  This means you can make an unlimited number of purchases, up to a pre-approved dollar limit.  You must pay a portion of the balance every month.

Before you decide to apply for a credit card, decide what it will be used for.  Keep in mind a credit card is not free money.  It is a loan you must repay.  When you decide to apply for a credit card, it is very important you read all disclosures and understand the terms of your credit card agreement.

When you have completed this course, you will know more about the costs and benefits of having a credit card.

See the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions’ Web Sites for information on Credit Cards at:  http://www.in.gov/dfi/consumer/CIcredit_card_infor.htm.  

Sample Disclosure
	ANNUAL PERCENTAGE RATE (APR)
	Grace Period
	Annual Fee
	Minimum Finance Charge
	Method of Computing the Balance for Purchases

	
19.4%
	
25 days

	
$35.00
	None
	
Average Daily Balance



Late payment fee- $20.00; Over-the-limit fee - $20.00; Returned check fee - $20.00; ATM transaction fee- $2.00.  The grace period does not apply to cash advances.  The annual percentage rate for cash advances is 19.9%.
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	Credit Card A
	Credit Card B
	Credit Card C

	Name of credit card issuer
	
	
	

	What is the annual percentage rate (APR)?
	
	
	

	What is the finance charge?
	
	
	

	What is the annual fee?
	
	
	

	What are other fees (late fees, over-the-limit fees, etc.)?
	
	
	

	Is there a grace period?
	
	
	

	What are other benefits (points earned, etc.)?
	
	
	

	What is my credit limit?
	
	
	


Tips When Shopping for a Credit Card 
· Decide how you will use the credit card and what you will purchase with it.
· Shop around for the plan that best fits your needs.  Make sure you understand the terms of the plan before you accept the card.  Read the fine print.
· Beware of introductory rates.  You might start out with a credit card that has no annual fee for the first year, but you will be charged a fee in the second year.  You might start out with a low interest rate and then find the interest rate is much higher after a few months.
· Beware of credit card issuers who require application fees.  Most credit card issuers don’t charge fees to open accounts.
· Make sure you understand the implications of fixed and variable rates.
· Don’t sign up for credit card services you don’t need or want.
· If you have had a poor credit history or no matter what your credit history is, don’t send money when promised a credit card.  It is probably a scam.
· Be sure you understand requirements for secured credit cards.
Credit Reporting Agencies
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P.O. Box 740241

Atlanta, GA 30374-0241
(800) 685-1111

http://www.equifax.com 

P.O. Box 949





Allen, TX 75013-0949
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TransUnion Consumer Relations 
760 West Sproul Road, P.O. Box 390 
Springfield, PA 19064-0390 
(800) 916-8800
http://www.transunion.com/ 

Cost of Making Minimum Payments

In this example, you are required to pay at least 2% of your balance.  As you can see, a purchase of $2,500 on your credit card will cost over $6,000 in interest and take 34 years to pay off making only the minimum payments.  
	Item
	
Price
	
APR
	
Interest Paid
	How Much You Really Pay for the Item
	
Total Years to Pay Off

	TV
	$500
	18%
	$439
	$939
	8

	Computer
	$1,000
	18%
	$1,899
	$2,899
	19

	Furniture
	$2,500
	18%
	$6,281
	$8,781
	34


This chart assumes you are not making additional purchases and you are making your payments on time.

Benefit of More Than The Minimum Payment

	
Original Balance
	
APR
	Monthly Payments
	
Total Number of Monthly Payments
	
Total of Payments
	How Much You Really Pay for the Item

	$2,500
	18%
	Minimum Payment
	404
	34
	$8,781

	$2,500
	18%
	$50
	94
	8
	$4,698

	$2,500
	18%
	$100
	32
	3
	$3,163


This chart assumes you are not making additional purchases and you are making your payments on time.

Tips for Using a Credit Card 
· Start small.  Don’t charge too much on your credit card until you get comfortable with the monthly bill.
· Pay your bills on time to keep finance and other charges to a minimum.
· Keep your receipts to compare charges when your monthly bill arrives.
· Protect your credit card and account numbers to prevent unauthorized use.  Draw a line through blank spaces on charge slips so the amount cannot be changed.  Tear up carbon copies of your receipts.
· Keep a record of your account numbers, expiration dates, and the phone numbers of each credit card issuer, in a safe place separate from your credit card, to quickly report a loss.
· Carry only the credit cards you think you will use.
· Pay off your total balance each month.  If you can’t pay the total balance, try to pay more than the minimum amount.
· Read the fine print.  Low advertised interest rates might not last as long as you think.  You might not have a grace period with balances you have transferred from other credit cards.
· After you have established a good credit history, ask the credit card issuer to waive the fees or lower the interest rate.
Glossary

Annual Percentage Rate (APR) ( The APR is the rate of interest you are charged, expressed as a yearly rate.  If you plan to keep a balance on your credit card account, you want to look for a low APR.  If you expect to pay your bills in full each month, it will be more important to compare the annual fee and other charges.

Balance Computation Method ( This will determine how your interest is calculated.  There are a variety of methods.  The most common is the average daily balance.

Convenience Checks ( A convenience check is a cash advance that is used like a regular check.  However, the money is charged against your credit limit.  There is usually no grace period and the finance charge is usually higher than for purchases.  There also may be a cash advance fee.

Fees ( These are the most common credit card fees.  There might be others.  Be sure to read the disclosures with your credit card agreement.
· Annual fee.  Some companies charge annual fees for the privilege of using their credit cards.  Most cards that offer rewards (for example, airline miles or travel awards) charge a yearly fee.
· Balance transfer fee.  You might be charged for moving balances from one credit card to another.  This fee is usually a percentage of the balance transferred.  It might have a minimum and a maximum limit.
· Cash advance fee. When you access cash through an automatic transfer machine (ATM) with your credit card, you are usually charged a transaction fee.  The advance often carries a higher interest rate than regular purchases.
· Late fee.  Payment must be received – not postmarked- on the due date to avoid a late fee.  If you are mailing a payment, send it five days before it is due to avoid a late fee.  A typical charge is $29 per late payment.
· Over-the-limit fee.  This fee is applied if your outstanding charges exceed your credit limit.  The fee is typically $20.
· Finance Charge. The finance charge is the cost of credit.  It includes interest, service charges, and transaction fees.  This charge is calculated on your balance using different methods.
· Grace Period.  The grace period is the number of days you have to pay your balance before a creditor starts charging interest.  Once you receive your monthly bill, you will have three to four weeks (card issuers are required by federal Truth in Lending Act to send bills at lease 14 days before they are due) to pay your bill interest-free.  If your credit card issuer does not provide a grace period, a finance charge might be imposed from the date you used your card or the date the transaction is posted to your account.
· Interest.  Credit card companies earn interest from customers who carry monthly balances.  The interest rates on credit cards vary widely, from 0% introductory rates to over 25%.
· Minimum Payment.  The minimum payment is the minimum dollar amount that must be paid each month.  This is usually two to three percent of the amount owed and is often based on the balance at the billing date.
· Periodic Rate.  The periodic rate is an interest rate applied to your balance to calculate the finance charge.  For example, the monthly periodic rate for a card with an 18% APR is 1.5% (18% divided by 12 months).  If your monthly balance were $1,000, you would multiply it by 1.5% to get your monthly finance charge of $15 ($1,000 x .0015 = $15).  The daily periodic rate for the same 18% APR is 0.04932% (18% divided by 365 days).
· Previous Balance.  The previous balance is the amount you owed at the end of the previous billing period.  Payments, credit, and new purchases during the current billing period are not included.  Some creditors also exclude unpaid finance charges.
· Principal.  Principal is the total dollar amount of purchases made on a credit card or balance remaining on a loan, not including interest or other fees.
For Further Information

Indiana Department of Financial Institutions

30 South Meridian Street

Indianapolis, Indiana  46204-2759

(317) 232-3955

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)

Division of Compliance and Consumer Affairs

550 17th Street, NW

Washington, DC  20429

1-877-275-3342

Email: consumer@fdic.gov 

Web Site:  http://www.fdic.gov  The FDIC provides information about the nation’s banking system.  

Federal Trade Commission
Consumer Response Center
6th and Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20580
202-326-2222
1-877-382-4357
Email:  consumerline@ftc.gov
www.ftc.gov  

National Fraud Information Center
1-800-876-7060
www.fraud.org
Course Evaluation –Charge It Right

Instructor:__________________________________Date:____________________
[image: image8.png]


Thank you for your participation in this course.  Your responses will  help us improve the training for future participants.  Please circle the number that shows how much you agree with each statement.  Then answer the questions at the bottom of this form.  If you have any questions, please feel free to ask your instructor.

	1.  The course was interesting and kept my attention.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	2.  The examples in the course were clear and helpful.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	3.  The activities in the course helped me understand the information.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	4.  The slides were clear and easy to follow.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	5.  The take-home materials were easy to read and useful to me.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	6.  The instructor presented the information clearly and understandably.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	7.  The information / skill taught in the course is useful to me
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	8.  I am confident that I can use the information / skill on my own.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	9.  I am satisfied with what I learned from this course.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4


What was the most helpful part of this course?

What was the least helpful part of this course?

Would you recommend this course to others?

Any comments or suggestions?

What Do You Know –Charge It Right

Instructor:__________________________________Date:____________________
This form will allow you and the instructor to see what you know about credit and credit cards both before and after the class.  Read each statement below.  Please circle the number that shows how much you agree with each statement.









        Before-the-Course   After-the-Course
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I know:

	1.  The characteristics of credit cards.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	2. The costs of using credit cards.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4

	3.  How to recognize potential problems with credit card 
     use.
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4
	  1
	  2
	  3
	  4


NOTES

NOTES

Brochures

The following are Brochures created by the Indiana Department of Financial Intuitions on subjects covered in this course.

SHOP FOR YOUR CREDIT CARD

Smart consumers comparison shop when looking for credit such as a mortgage or an auto loan.  It is also a good practice to engage in when choosing a credit card.  The choices you make can save you money.

Shop among some of the credit card issuers listed in this brochure. Compare them with cards you already have and with offers you receive in the mail for the terms that best suit your spending and repayment habits. 

Key credit terms to consider in the credit card agreement are: 
Annual Fee - a flat, yearly charge similar to a membership fee. Many credit card issuers charge an annual fee for granting you credit, typically $15 to $55. Some issuers charge no annual fee.

 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR) - the cost of credit expressed as a yearly rate. 

 

Finance Charge - The dollar amount you pay to use credit. Besides interest costs, it may include other charges associated with transactions such as cash advance fees. 

Transaction Fees and Other Charges- Some issuers charge a fee if you use the card to get a cash advance, if you fail to make a payment on time, or if you exceed your credit limit. Some may charge a flat fee every month whether you use the card or not. 

 

Grace Period - A time, usually 25 days, during which you can pay your credit card bill without paying a finance charge.

  

Average Daily Balance - A balance calculation method most creditors use in calculating their finance charge. The average daily balance is calculated by adding each days balance and dividing the total by the number of days in the billing cycle. 

 

Adjusted Balance Method - This balance used to calculate the finance charge is derived by subtracting the payments you've made from the previous balance. This method is most favorable to the customer. 

 

CREDIT CARD FEATURES TO CONSIDER

 

Smart consumers find the best deal for their budgets and repayment styles. If you always pay your monthly bill/s in full, the best type of card is one that has no annual fee and offers a grace period for paying your bill without paying a finance charge. 

If you don't always pay off the credit card balance/s at the end of the month, be sure to look at the annual percentage rate. 

Example: 

	PRIVATE
Terms
	Card A
	Card B

	Average monthly balance
	$2,500
	$2,500

	APR
	x .18
	x .14

	Annual finance charges
	$ 450
	$ 350

	Annual fee
	+ $20
	-0-

	Total Cost
	$ 470
	$ 350


Other features to consider are enhancements to the credit card that the issuer offers. Enhancements can include cash rebates, purchase protections, warranty guarantees, and usage incentives such as frequent flyer miles.

CREDIT CARD PLANS

The following credit card list is subject to change.  Readers are encouraged to contact the credit card issuer for current rates and to learn about their other credit plans.
Codes Used in the Credit Card Plan List: 

M = Master Card            F = fixed rate

V = Visa                         V = variable rate

N = national                    R = only in selected states

State abbreviation = only in state specified 

(G) = Gold Card  (P) = Platinum Card
	PRIVATE
Institution &
Plan
	APR
	Annual Fee
	Telephone

	Amalgamated Bk, M, N
	10.75

Min/VPrime + 4.5
	0
	800-723-0303

	AmTrust Bank
	10.25VPrime +3.75
	$22
	800-268-7878

	AT & T Universal Card
	VPrime + 5.90
	0
	800-423-4343

	Bank One (P)
	13.99F
	0
	888-221-9067

	Capital One (P)
	9.9 Cash adv. 18.9
	0
	800-548-4593

	Chase Manhattan Bank,
	V Prime +4.49 0r 6.49
	$20
	800-724-7819

	Citibank, V, N
	V Prime + 5.99
	0
	800-456-4277

	Columbus Bk, V, N
	12.65V
	0
	800-543-8227

	Discover Bank
	V Prime + 7.99
	0
	800-347-26830

	First Union NB
	10.99F
	0
	800-377-3404

	First USA
	12.99Min/V Prime +6.99
	0
	800-955-99000

	Firstar Corporation
	V Prime + 5.99-9.99
	0
	800-347-78273

	Fleet Bank Smart Visa
	11.99 LIBOR+10.025
	0
	800-423-38830

	Household Bk, V, N
	VPrime +9.99
	0
	800-846-2273

	Huntington Bk, V, IN C)
	V Prime+9.49
	0
	800-480-2265

	Huntington Bk, V, IN (P)
	V Prime +5.9
	0
	800-480-2265

	MBNA America Bank (P)
	12.99F
	0
	800-558-8472

	National City Bank (P)
	V Prime + 6.49
	0
	800-766-4623

	Ohio Savings Bank M, V
	10.25Min/V Prime + 3.75
	22
	800-987-6446

	Peoples Bk, (P)
	13.99-19.80FF
	0
	877-525-9248

	Providian Ban Cor, V, R
	9.99V
	0
	800-964-6000

	Pulaski Bank & Trust
	6.5F
	$35
	800-980-2265

	Sears National BAnk
	7.90-19.9V
	0
	800-347-84806

	Simmons First Nat'l (G) 
	8.95F
	$50
	800-272-2102

	US Bank
	8.74-14.74
	$20-$40
	800-285-8585

	Union Planters
	12.99f
	0
	800-545-7899

	USAA Fed Savings
	10.00,12.50, or 18V
	0
	800-922-9092

	Wells Fargo Bank
	11.70, 15.10, or 17.10V
	0
	800-642-4720


The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Consumer Credit has many other credit related brochures available, such as:

Answers to Credit Problems

Applying for Credit

At Home Shopping Rights

Bankruptcy Facts

Buried in Debt

Car Financing Scams

Charge Card Fraud

Choosing A Credit Card

Co-Signing

Credit and Divorce

Credit and Older Consumers

Deep in Debt?

Equal Credit Opportunity

Fair Credit Reporting

Fair Debt Collection

Gold Cards

Hang up on Fraud

High Rate Mortgages

Home Equity Credit Lines

How to Avoid Bankruptcy

Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Look Before you Lease

Mortgage Loans

Repossession

Reverse Mortgage Loans

Rule of 78s – What is it?

Scoring for Credit

Shopping for Credit

Using Credit Cards

Variable Rate Credit

What is a Budget?

What is the DFI?

Call our toll-free number or write to the address on the cover for a copy of any of the brochures listed or for further consumer credit information. 
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Consumer Credit Division

30 South Meridian Street, Suite 300

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

[image: image13.wmf]317-232-3955

1-800-382-4880

Unauthorized Use

There are two types of credit card disputes which commonly arise.   The first involves unauthorized use of your card, when someone steals, borrows, or otherwise uses your card or card number without permission.

Under the law, your obligation for unauthorized use of your credit card is limited to $50.  This means that if someone steals your card, for example, your credit card lender can charge you a maximum of $50 no matter how much the thief has charged on your card. (This limit may not apply to a "debit" card.)

As soon as you know of the unauthorized use of your credit card, you should call the lender to make a report.  If you call before unauthorized charges are incurred, you cannot be charged even $50, since the lender can take steps to cancel your card and send you a new one.  If a charge unexpectedly appears on your bill for something you did not authorize, you can also use your right to dispute the charge which is discussed below.

DISPUTES ON HOW MUCH YOU OWE

The second type of billing dispute which arises involves disputes about how much you owe.  A merchant may have overcharged you on the card, charged you for products or work you did not receive, or may process a transaction in error.

The law provides a basis to dispute these incorrect bills.  Information about how to raise a dispute appears on the back of each bill - including the mailing address to use.  In summary, you must raise a dispute in writing within sixty days of the first bill with the improper charge.  You must include the following information:

· Your name and account number

· The dollar amount you dispute and information as to when it was charged and the name of the merchant.

· A statement of the reason for your dispute.
        

Some examples of reasons for dispute are:


I did not authorize this charge

I did not receive the goods I ordered.


I returned the goods I ordered because 
they were defective, but did not get a 
credit.
The merchant sent me the wrong goods.

The merchant did not complete the services 
 I contracted for or performed them incompletely.

The merchant billed me for $100 when I 
 agreed to pay $10.

The merchant double billed me.

I cancelled the contract with the merchant 
or contractor before the work was 
performed.

Problems With the Quality of Goods or Services

If you have problems with the quality of the goods or services you purchased, your dispute rights also apply to these purchases on credit cards.  These apply whenever the credit card lender owns the business from which you made the purchase or advertises the goods or services you purchased.  In addition, this special right applies when the goods cost more than $50 and are purchased in your home state or within 100 miles of your mailing address.  

In order to dispute a charge for goods or services based on quality, you must have first made a good faith effort to resolve the issue with the merchant directly.

Written evidence of your good faith effort is helpful in this circumstance.  For example, enclose a letter which you wrote directly to the merchant to outline your problem with the quality of the goods.

What Happens Next?

Once you have raised a dispute, the credit card company is required to investigate and report back to you in writing.  In many cases, the charge will be canceled. Often a merchant whose billing is challenged will back off rather than risk losing the privilege of accepting business by credit card.  

Interest associated with a successfully disputed debt must also be cancelled.   Until the dispute is resolved, you need not pay the disputed portion of your bill.   However, you must make a payment to cover any undisputed amount.  Of course, the credit card issuer cannot report you as delinquent with respect to the disputed amount, but may do so if part of your debt is undisputed and you do not make the necessary payments.

Also see our brochure on Fair Credit Billing.

The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Consumer Credit has many other credit related brochures available, such as:

Answers to Credit Problems

Applying for Credit

At Home Shopping Rights

Bankruptcy Facts

Buried in Debt

Car Financing Scams

Charge Card Fraud

Choosing A Credit Card

Co-Signing

Credit and Divorce

Credit and Older Consumers

Deep in Debt?

Equal Credit Opportunity

Fair Credit Reporting

Fair Debt Collection

Gold Cards

Hang up on Fraud

High Rate Mortgages

Home Equity Credit Lines

How to Avoid Bankruptcy

Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Look Before you Lease

Mortgage Loans

Repossession

Reverse Mortgage Loans

Rule of 78s – What is it?

Scoring for Credit

Shopping for Credit

Using Credit Cards

Variable Rate Credit

What is a Budget?

What is the DFI?

[image: image14.wmf]Call our toll-free number or write to the address on the cover for a copy of any of the brochures listed or for further consumer credit information.  
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Consumer Credit Division

30 South Meridian Street, Suite 300

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

317-232-3955, 1-800-382-4880

Fast Facts 
	· Sign your new cards as soon as they arrive.

· Avoid signing a blank receipt, whenever possible. Draw a line through blank spaces above the total when you sign card receipts.
· Save your card receipts to compare with your billing statements.

· Open billing statements promptly and reconcile your card accounts each month, just as you would your checking account.

·   Report promptly and in writing any questionable charges to the card issuer.

Never lend your card/s to anyone.

Never give your number over the phone unless you are initiating a transaction with a company you know is reputable.


Everyone pays for credit and charge card fraud in higher prices, whether or not they are personally defrauded. 

While theft is the most obvious form of credit and charge card fraud, fraud occurs in other ways, as well. For example, someone may use your card number (not the card itself) without your permission. This may occur in a variety of ways: 

(  A thief rifles through trash to find discarded receipts or carbons to use the card numbers illegally. 

(  A dishonest clerk makes an extra imprint from your credit card or charge card for his or her personal use.

(   You receive a postcard or a letter asking you to call an out-of-state number to take advantage of a free trip or a bargain-priced travel package. When you call, you are told you must join the travel club first. You are asked for your credit card number so you can be billed for the membership fee. The catch? New charges continue to be added at every step and you never get your free or bargain-priced vacation. 

How to Guard Against Credit and Charge Card Fraud 

Here are some suggested precautions you can take to help protect yourself against credit and charge card fraud. You also may want to instruct any other person who is authorized to use your account to take the same precautions.

Sign your new cards as soon as they arrive.

 

Carry your cards separately from your wallet. 

Keep a record of your card numbers, their expiration dates, and the phone number and address of each company in a secure place. 

 

Keep your card in view, whenever you can, after you give it to a clerk. Retrieve your card promptly after using it. 

 

     Always keep your credit cards in a safe place.  Check periodically to make sure that none are missing.

 

     Avoid signing a blank receipt, whenever possible. Draw a line through blank spaces above the total when you sign card receipts. 

 

      Don't leave your receipt in the bag when you have made a purchase.

 

      Void or destroy all carbons and incorrect receipts. 

 

     Save your card receipts to compare with your billing statements.

 

     Open billing statements promptly and reconcile your card accounts each month, just as you would your checking account. 

 

     Report promptly and in writing any questionable charges to the card issuer.

 

     Notify card companies in advance of a change in address. 

 

     Cut up your expired or cancelled credit cards before you throw them out.

 

     Destroy anything with your credit card number on it before you throw it away.

In addition, here are some things you should not do: 

Never lend your card(s) to anyone. 

 

Never leave your cards or receipts lying around. 

 

Never put your card number on a postcard or on the outside of an envelope.

 

Never give your number over the phone unless you are initiating a transaction with a company you know is reputable. If you have questions about a company, check with your local consumer protection office or Better Business Bureau before ordering. 

Never give out your Social Security number over the phone to someone you don't know.

Don't print your Social Security number on your checks.

What To Do If Your Cards Are Lost or Stolen 

If your credit or charge cards are lost or stolen, call the issuer(s) immediately. Most card companies have a toll-free number for reporting missing cards. Some companies provide 24-hour service. By law, once you report the loss or theft, you have no further liability for unauthorized charges. In any event, your maximum liability under federal law is $50 per card. 

What To Do About Suspected Fraud 
If you suspect that someone has illegally used your credit card, Report it to the police and call the card issuer immediately. Use the special telephone number that many card issuers list on their billing statements. You also may want to follow up your phone call with a letter. 

You may be asked to sign a statement under oath that you did not make the purchase(s) in question, but you cannot be required to do so. 

You should also contact the three major credit reporting agencies to alert them to the fraudulent use of your card. They have special fraud units established to assist consumers. They are Equifax (800-685-1111),Trans Union (800-888-4213), and Experian (800-682-7654).  

The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Consumer Credit has many other credit related brochures available, such as:

Answers to Credit Problems

Applying for Credit

At Home Shopping Rights

Bankruptcy Facts

Buried in Debt

Car Financing Scams

Choosing A Credit Card

Co-Signing

Credit and Divorce

Credit and Older Consumers

Deep in Debt?

Equal Credit Opportunity

Fair Credit Reporting

Fair Debt Collection

Gold Cards

Hang up on Fraud

High Rate Mortgages

Home Equity Credit Lines

How to Avoid Bankruptcy

Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Look Before you Lease

Mortgage Loans

Repossession

Reverse Mortgage Loans

Rule of 78s – What is it?

Scoring for Credit

Shopping for Credit

Using Credit Cards

Variable Rate Credit

What is a Budget?

What is the DFI?

Call our toll-free number or write to the address on the cover for a copy of any of the brochures listed or for further consumer credit information.  
CREDIT

&

CHARGE CARD 
FRAUD
[image: image17.wmf]
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Consumer Credit Division

30 South Meridian Street, Suite 300

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

317-232-3955

1-800-382-4880

[image: image18.wmf]
[image: image19.wmf]

Most credit cards are unsecured.  However, there are three ways in which some credit card lenders take collateral.

#1 Security interest in items purchased

Some credit card lenders, usually store credit such as Sears, claim to take collateral in items purchased with their card.  This means that if you have problems making payments, those lenders may threaten to repossess property bought with the card.  In addition, personal property collateral may affect your rights if you later need to file bankruptcy.  

Most threats to repossess personal property are not carried out.   Nevertheless, it is a good idea to know whether the security interest exists. If it does, use another card in preference to that card whenever possible.

#2 Your bank account

Another type of credit card taking a security interest involves card balances secured by a bank deposit.  The card allows you a credit limit up to the amount you have on deposit in a particular bank account.  If you can't make the payments, you lose the money in the account.

These cards are usually marketed as a good way to establish credit or to reestablish credit if you have had financial problems.  They may be useful to establish that you can make regular monthly payments on a credit card after you have had problems in the past.  

However, since almost everyone now gets unsecured credit card offers even after previous financial problems, there is less reason to consider allowing a creditor to use your bank deposits as collateral.  

It is preferable not to tie up your bank account or to pay interest to a lender for the privilege of establishing that you can afford to make payments.

#3 Home equity line of credit

Finally, there are increasing opportunities to obtain credit cards in connection with a home equity line of credit.  Each time you use the card, the balance is secured against your home.  

In many cases these are sold by home improvement contractors as a good way to pay for home improvements.  Sometimes the initial amount advanced on such a card is as much as your credit limit.

Home secured credit cards are almost always a bad idea.  You should always seek to avoid using high-rate credit secured by your home because the potential consequence of nonpay-ment if you have financial problems is loss of your family's shelter by foreclosure.  You will likely do better if you seek a more traditional home equity credit line from a bank at a lower rate of interest.

In general, all things being equal, you should seek and use credit cards which do not take collateral in preference to those that do.  Since interest rates on cards that do take collateral are typically just as high as those on cards that do not, the choice in favor of unsecured cards should be clear. 
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"I got a call from a woman who said I need credit card loss protection insurance. I thought there was a law that limited my liability to $50 for unauthorized charges. But she said the law had changed and that now, people are liable for all unauthorized charges on their account.  Is that true?" 

Don't buy the pitch - and don't buy the "loss protection" insurance. Telephone scam artists are lying to get people to buy worthless credit card loss protection and insurance programs. 

If you didn't authorize a charge, don't pay it. Follow your credit card issuer's procedures for disputing charges you haven't authorized. Also see our Fair Credit Billing Brochure.

Credit Card Loss

If you report the loss before credit cards are used, the Fair Credit Billing Act says the card issuer cannot hold you responsible for any unauthorized charges. 

If a thief uses your cards before you report them missing, the most you will owe for unauthorized charges is $50 per card. 

This is true even if a thief uses your credit card at an ATM machine to access your credit card account.

  

However, it's not enough simply to report your credit card loss. After the loss, review your billing statements carefully. If they show any unauthorized charges, send a letter to the card issuer describing each questionable charge. 

Again, tell the card issuer the date your card was lost or stolen and when you first reported it to them. Be sure to send the letter to the address provided for billing errors. Do not send it with a payment or to the address where you send your payments unless you are directed to do so.
Worthless Credit Card Loss Protection Offers

The Federal Trade Commission says worth-less credit card loss protection offers are becoming more common and fraudulent promoters try to exploit consumers. As a result, the agency is cautioning consumers to avoid doing business with callers who claim that: 

· you are liable for more than $50 in unauthorized charges on your credit card account.

· you need credit card loss protection because computer hackers can access your credit card number and charge thousands of dollars to your account. 

· they're from "the security department" and want to activate the protection feature on your credit card. 

The Federal Trade Commission advises consumers not to give out personal information - including their credit card or bank account numbers - over the phone or online for any product unless they are familiar with the business and have initiated the contact. Scam artists can use your personal information to commit fraud.

Buying a Registration Service

For an annual fee of $10 to $35, companies will notify the issuers of your credit and ATM accounts if your card is lost or stolen. This service allows you to make only one phone call to report all card losses rather than calling individual issuers. Most services also will request replacement cards on your behalf. 

Purchasing a card registration service may be convenient, but it's not required. The Fair Credit Billing Act and the Electronic Funds Transfer Act give you the right to contact your card issuers directly in the event of a loss or suspected unauthorized use.

If you decide to buy a registration service, compare offers. Carefully read the contract to determine the company's obligations and your liability. For example, will the company reimburse you if it fails to notify card issuers promptly once you've called in the loss to the service? If not, you could be liable for unauthorized charges.
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CREDIT CARD LOSS PROTECTION OFFERS

Don't buy the Pitch!
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Ads like on the cover may appeal to you if you have a poor credit history or no credit at all. Beware! While secured credit cards can be an effective way to build or re-establish your credit history, some marketers of secured cards make deceptive advertising claims to entice you to respond to their ads. 

SECURED VS. UNSECURED CARDS 

Secured and unsecured cards can be used to pay for goods and services. However, a secured card requires you to open and maintain a savings account as security for your line of credit; an unsecured card does not. 

The required savings deposit for a secured card may range from a few hundred to several thousand dollars. Your credit line is a percentage of your deposit, typically 50 to 100 percent. Usually, a bank will pay interest on your deposit. In addition, you also may have to pay application and processing fees ( sometimes totaling hundreds of dollars. Before you apply, be sure to ask what the total fees are and whether they will be refunded if you're denied a card. Typically, a secured card requires an annual fee and has a higher interest rate than an unsecured card. 

DECEPTIVE ADS AND SCAMS 

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has taken action against companies that deceptively advertise major credit cards through television, newspapers, and postcards. The ads may offer unsecured credit cards, secured credit cards, or not specify a card type. The ads usually lead you to believe you can get a card simply by calling the number listed. Sometimes the number is not toll-free. A "900" number service, for which you are billed just for making the call, may instruct you to give your name and address to receive a credit application, or give you a list of banks offering secured cards. It also may tell you to call another "900"number( at an additional charge (for more information. 
DECEPTIVE ADS OFTEN LEAVE OUT IMPORTANT INFORMATION: 

( The cost of the "900" call( which can range from $2 to $50 or more;  

( The required security deposit, application, and processing fees;  

( Eligibility requirements like income or age; 

( An annual fee or the fact that the secured card has a higher than average interest rate on any balance.  

HOW TO AVOID THE SCAM  

To avoid being victimized, look for the following signs:  

Offers of easy credit. No one can guarantee to get you credit. Before deciding whether to give you a credit card, legitimate credit providers examine your credit report.  

A call to a "900" number for a credit card. You pay for calls with a 900 prefix ( and you may never receive a credit card.  

Credit cards offered by "credit repair" companies or "credit clinics." These businesses also may offer to clean-up your credit history for a fee. However, you can correct genuine mistakes or outdated information yourself by contacting credit bureaus directly. Remember that only time and good credit habits will restore your credit worthiness.  See our Brochure on Fair Credit Reporting.

CREDIT REPORTING  

If you're considering a secured card as a way to build or re-establish a credit record, make sure the issuer reports to a credit bureau. Your credit history is maintained by companies called credit bureaus; they collect information reported to them by banks, mortgage companies, department stores, and other creditors. If your card issuer doesn't report to a bureau, the card won't help you build a credit history.  

FOR MORE INFORMATION  

To build a credit record, you may want to apply for a charge card or a small loan at a local store or lending institution. Ask if the creditor reports trans-actions to a credit bureau. If they do (and if you pay back your debts regularly( you will build a good credit history.  

If you cannot get credit on your own, you can ask a relative or friend with a good credit history to act as your cosigner. The cosigner promises to repay the debt if you don't.  

If you're interested in applying for a secured credit card, the BankCard Holders of America (BHA) provides a list of institutions offering secured cards. Send a check or money order for $4.00 to:  

"Secured Credit Card List," BHA Customer Service, 524 Branch Drive, Salem, VA 24153.

If you're having problems paying bills, you may want to contact a credit counseling service. Non-profit organizations in every state counsel consumers who are in debt. Counselors try to arrange a repayment plan that is acceptable to you and your creditors. They also can help you set up a realistic budget. These counseling services are offered at little or no cost to consumers. You can find the office nearest you by checking the White Pages of your telephone directory.  See our Brochure on Choosing a Credit Counselor.

Sometimes, non-profit counseling programs are operated by universities, military bases, credit unions, and housing authorities. They are likely to charge little or nothing for their services. Or you can check with your local bank or consumer protection office to see if it has a list of reputable low-cost financial counseling services.  

If you have problems or questions about a secured credit card marketer, contact your local consumer protection agency or state Attorney General's office.
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SECURED CREDIT CARD MARKETING SCAMS

	ANYONE CAN QUALIFY FOR  A MAJOR CREDIT CARD!

Separated? - Divorced? - Bankrupt? - Widowed?

BAD CREDIT? - NO CREDIT?  NO PROBLEM!

900-000-0000

Make the call NOW and get the credit you deserve!  

 
Even if you've been turned down before, you owe it to yourself and your family.  

 
Your major credit card is waiting.
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FAST FACTS

	· When you use a credit or charge card to check into a hotel or rent a car, the estimated amount of the transaction usually is "blocked" from your credit line immediately.

· When renting hotel rooms or cars, ask clerks how much is being blocked on your credit card to avoid potential problems. 

· In some cases, the amount blocked from your credit line may remain for 10 to 15 days. 

· If you choose to pay your bill with the original credit card, the block is usually removed within a day or two.

· When selecting a credit card, ask the card issuer how long credit lines are blocked for these transactions

· If you pay your bill with a different credit card or cash, ask the clerk to release the block.
. 


Have you ever presented your credit or charge card to a store clerk and been surprised when told you were over your credit limit? If this happened soon after you stayed at a hotel or motel or rented a car, the problem may have been caused by credit card "blocking." 

HOW CREDIT CARD BLOCKING WORKS

When you use a credit or charge card to check into a hotel or motel or to rent a car, the clerk usually contacts your card issuer electronically with the estimated cost. If the card issuer approves the transaction, your available line of credit is reduced by this amount. This is called a "block" (or "authorization"). 

For example, suppose you use a credit card to check into a $100-a-night hotel for five nights. At least $500 would most likely be blocked on that card. In addition, hotel and car rental companies sometimes add anticipated "incidental" costs for such things as food, beverages, or gasoline. These amounts can vary widely among merchants. 

If you pay your bill with the same credit card you used at the beginning of the transaction, the final actual charge probably will replace the block within a day or two. 

If, however, you use a different credit card, cash, or a check to pay for these services, the company that issued the credit card you originally presented might keep the block on for as long as 15 days after you've checked out of the hotel or returned the car. 

This delay occurs because the first card issuer does not receive notice of the final charge and, therefore, is not aware that the transaction has been completed. Most card issuers program their computers to retain all blocks that have not been replaced by final charges for a specific number of days. 

Issuers often choose a 10 or 15-day period because it is longer than most hotel stays and car rentals. Holding blocks for this long ensures that card holders do not use their entire credit limit before checking out of the hotel or returning their rental car, leaving the hotel or rental car company unpaid. The number of days that blocks are retained varies widely among card issuers. 

Why Credit Card Blocking Can Be a Problem

Consumers who are far below their credit limit probably will not be affected by credit card blocking. But for consumers with charges close to their credit limit, credit card blocking can present problems. For example, consumers who need to use their cards for emergencies may find that, because of this temporary block, they have no credit left to use. 

Those consumers who pay for their room or rental car with cash, a check, or a different credit card also may have problems. They may find that they do not have access to the amount of the block for 10 or 15 days, even though they already have paid the bill in full. 

HOW TO PROTECT YOURSELF

If you do not want the aggravation that blocking can cause, you may want to: 

· Consider paying for all hotel, motel, or rental car expenses with the same credit card you used at the beginning of the transaction.

· When you check into a hotel or pick up a rental car, ask clerks how much is being blocked on your credit line and how that amount was determined.

· If you pay with a different credit card or cash, ask the clerk to remove the block.

In addition, when selecting among credit cards, ask credit card issuers how long credit lines are blocked for transactions involving hotels, motels, and rental cars. You may wish to choose an issuer that removes blocks more quickly. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

If you have questions or concerns about credit card blocking, write: Credit Card Blocking, Correspondence Branch, Federal Trade Commission, Washington, DC 20580. These comments help the FTC in its law enforcement efforts. 
(  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  (  

The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Consumer Credit has many other credit related brochures available, such as:
Answers to Credit Problems

Applying for Credit

At Home Shopping Rights

Bankruptcy Facts

Buried in Debt

Car Financing Scams

Charge Card Fraud

Choosing A Credit Card

Co-Signing

Credit and Divorce

Credit and Older Consumers

Deep in Debt?

Equal Credit Opportunity

Fair Credit Reporting

Fair Debt Collection

Gold Cards

Hang up on Fraud

High Rate Mortgages

Home Equity Credit Lines

How to Avoid Bankruptcy

Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Look Before you Lease

Mortgage Loans

Repossession

Reverse Mortgage Loans

Rule of 78s – What is it?

Scoring for Credit

Shopping for Credit

Using Credit Cards

Variable Rate Credit

What is a Budget?

What is the DFI?

Call our toll-free number or write to the address on the cover for a copy of any of the brochures listed or for further consumer credit information.  


CREDIT CARD BLOCKING
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If you're looking for credit, be wary of some "gold" or "platinum" card offers promising to get you credit cards or improve your credit rating. 

While sounding like general-purpose credit cards, some "gold" or "platinum" cards permit you to buy merchan-dise only from specialized catalogues. Marketers of these credit cards often promise that by participating in their credit programs, you will be able to get major credit cards (such as an unsecured Visa or MasterCard), lines of credit from national specialty and department stores, better credit reports, and other financial benefits. 

Rarely, however, can you improve your credit rating or get major credit cards by buying "gold" or "platinum" credit cards. Often the only major credit card you might get is a secured credit card that requires a substantial security deposit with a bank. In addition, many of these credit-card offers do not report to credit bureaus as they promise, and their cards seldom help secure lines of credit with other creditors. 

Such "gold" and "platinum" credit-card offers usually are promoted through television or newspaper advertisements, direct mail, or telephone solicitations using automatic dialing machines and recorded messages. People who live in lower-income areas often are the target of these sales pitches. 
Watch Out For... 

Be wary of "gold" and "platinum" card promotions that: 

Charge upfront fees, without saying there may be additional costs. Some "gold" or "platinum" card promoters charge $50 or more for their cards. Only after you agree to pay this fee are you told there's an additional fee, sometimes $30 or more, to get the merchandise catalogues. Yet, these catalogues are the only places you can use the cards. 

 

Use of 900 or 976 telephone exchanges. Ads for "gold" and "platinum" cards may urge you to call numbers with 900 or 976 exchanges for more information. You pay for phone calls with these prefixes -- even if you never get the "gold" or "platinum" card. The cost for these calls can be high. 
 Misrepresent prices and payments for merchandise. You're not allowed to charge the total amount when you buy merchandise from "gold" or "platinum" card catalogues. Instead, you often must pay a cash deposit on each item you charge -- an amount usually equal to what the company paid for the product. Only after you pay your deposit can you charge the balance. Also, catalogue prices can be much higher than discount store prices. 

  

Promise to easily get you "better credit." Marketers of "gold" and "platinum" cards often claim its easy to get major credit cards after using their cards for a few months. In fact, the only major cards you usually can get through these marketers are secured. A secured card requires you to open and maintain a savings account as security for your line of credit. The required deposit may range from a few hundred to several thousand dollars. Your credit line is a percentage of the deposit, typically 50 to 100 percent. 

How To Protect Yourself 

Follow these precautions to avoid becoming a victim of "gold" and "platinum" card scams: 

(  Think twice about any offer to get "easy credit." 
(  Be skeptical of promises to erase bad credit or to secure major credit cards regardless of your past credit problems. 

(  There are no "easy" solutions to a poor credit rating that's based on accurate information. Only time and good credit habits will restore your credit worthiness. 

(  Investigate an offer before enrolling. 
(  Contact your local Better Business Bureau, consumer protection agency, or state Attorney General's office to see if any complaints have been filed against a particular promoter of "gold" or "platinum" cards. 

(  If a marketer promises that a card is accepted at certain retail chains, verify it with the stores. 

(  If a marketer assures you that reliable information about you will be reported to credit bureaus, call the bureaus to confirm that the merchant is a member. Unless "gold" or "platinum" card merchants are subscribers to credit bureaus, they won't be able to report information about your credit experience. 

( Be cautious about calling a 900 or 976 telephone numbers. 

Calls to numbers with 900 or 976 prefixes cost money. 

Don't confuse these exchanges with toll-free 800 numbers. If you dial a pay-per-call number mistakenly, contact your local phone company immediately. They may be able to remove the charge from your bill. 

For More Information 

Contact:  

FTC

Public Reference

Washington, DC, 20580;

(202) 326-2222, TDD (202) 326-2502.

Or visit them on the Internet at  http://www.ftc.gov. In addition, contact the National Fraud Information Center (NFIC) at 1-800-876-7060, 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. EST, Monday - Friday, or at  http://www.fraud.org. NFIC is a nonprofit organization that operates a consumer hotline to provide services and assistance in filing complaints. NFIC helps the FTC and state officials by entering complaints into a computerized database to help track and identify fraud operators. 
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An open-end credit account is one under which you are allowed to make repeated purchases or obtain loans. You are given the privilege of paying the balance in full or, you may pay in installments. 

Common examples include: 

· Bank credit cards;

· Home equity credit lines;

· Department store or service station credit cards;

· Overdraft privilege on checking accounts.

FINANCE CHARGE

A finance charge may be computed on the unpaid balance of an account when you and a business agree to such terms in writing. The account is not considered past due as long as you make payments according to the terms to which you agreed. The finance charge (interest) is the price you pay for being granted credit. The finance charge pays the business in part, for its expense in keeping track of your account and its balance. 

Bank credit cards domiciled out of Indiana can export their State's rates. Most banks are domiciled in states that do not have any caps on rates. Credit cards issued by Indiana Chartered Financial Institutions and retailers have to comply with Indiana maximum rates. Home equity credit lines and overdraft credit originated in Indiana must also comply with Indiana maximum rates. 

YOUR RIGHTS WITH OPEN-END CREDIT

To be obligated, you must sign an agreement which states the terms when you establish the account. The business is required to give you a copy of the signed agreement.

 

Be aware that with a credit card, you may meet the requirement explained above when you sign the application form and receive a copy of the agreement. 

 

Essentially you have agreed to the terms offered by signing the application, using the card, or signing you name to the first sales slip.

 

Limits on finance or interest rates exist for the benefit of private individuals on consumer credit transactions of $50,000 or less and second mortgage transactions regardless of amount. There are no limits on rates assessed to business accounts and first lien mortgage transactions.

 

Under the Marital Property Law, if you or your spouse open an account, the business will ask you to sign a statement that the account is used for marital or family purposes. Your spouse must receive a copy of the agreement from the business, or a notice of extension of credit.  

Specifics

Before you make the first transaction under an open- end credit agreement, the business must disclose to you in a single written document, the following items: 

· The conditions under which finance charges will be imposed.

· Any period (called a grace period) within which the balance may be paid to avoid a finance charge.

· How the business determines the balance on which the finance charge will be computed. 

· How the total amount of finance charge is determined.

· The periodic rate (such as 1.75% per month) and the corresponding annual percentage rate (APR) of the finance charge. 

(If the rate may vary, you must be provided a 
     statement of this fact.

(You must also be given a written explanation of 
     what circumstances would bring about a rate 
     change.

(Further, you must be given a written statement 
     indicating the limitations on any such increase 
     and the effects of such an increase. 

(  The minimum payment required each billing cycle.

· The amount of any other charges in addition to a finance charge which may be imposed.

· Whether any annual fee is charged and the amount of the fee.

· Any security interest (collateral) which will be required. 

· A notice regarding the customer's right to dispute billing errors.

WHEN YOU GET YOUR BILL

Each business with which you have an open-end account is required to provide you with a statement for each billing period in which you have an unpaid or credit balance over $1.00. The statement includes specific information and disclosures.

Before paying, review these Items:

1. The outstanding balance at the beginning of the 
 billing cycle.

2. Each transaction posted to the account to determine  if you authorized it.

3. The amount and date of each payment, refund, 
 rebate or adjustment posted to the account .

4. The amount of the finance charge.

5. The periodic rate or rates of finance charge (inter-
est), and the annual percentage rate of the finance 
charge (APR).

6. The balance on which the finance charge was computed and how that balance was determined.
7. The closing date of the billing cycle and the outstanding balance of the account on that date.
8. Any grace period you have to pay the balance to avoid an additional finance charge. 
The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Consumer Credit has many other credit related brochures available, such as:

Answers to Credit Problems

Applying for Credit

At Home Shopping Rights

Bankruptcy Facts

Buried in Debt

Car Financing Scams

Charge Card Fraud

Choosing A Credit Card

Co-Signing

Credit and Divorce

Credit and Older Consumers

Deep in Debt?

Equal Credit Opportunity

Fair Credit Reporting

Fair Debt Collection

Gold Cards

Hang up on Fraud

High Rate Mortgages

Home Equity Credit Lines

How to Avoid Bankruptcy

Indiana Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Look Before you Lease

Mortgage Loans

Repossession

Reverse Mortgage Loans

Rule of 78s – What is it?

Scoring for Credit

Shopping for Credit

Using Credit Cards

Variable Rate Credit

What is a Budget?

What is the DFI?

Call our toll-free number or write to the address on the cover for a copy of any of the brochures listed or for further consumer credit information.  
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 WHAT IS A CREDIT CARD?

A credit card, such as VISA or MasterCard, allows you to pay for sales or services by borrowing against your line of credit with the credit card company and to make monthly payments on the outstanding balance. A charge card, such as American Express requires payment in full each month of the outstanding balance charged to the account. 

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF USING A CREDIT CARD? 


( They allow you to make purchases on credit without carrying around a lot of cash.

 

( They allow accurate record-keeping by consolidating purchases into a single statement.

 

( They allow convenient ordering by mail or phone.

 

( They allow you to pay for large purchases in small, monthly installments.

 

( Under certain circumstances, they allow you to withhold payment for merchandise which proves defective.

WHAT ARE THE DISADVANTAGES? 

( The ease of using credit cards, combined with impulsive buying, may result in over-spending. 

 

( High interest rates, as well as other costs make credit cards a relatively expensive method of obtaining credit. 

 

( Lost or stolen cards may result in some expense ($50.00) and inconvenience. 

 

( The use of multi-credit cards can get you even further into debt.
 

( Fraudulent or unauthorized charges may take months to dispute, investigate, and resolve. 

HOW DO I GET A CREDIT CARD? 

You must complete an application. A credit card cannot be issued unless requested. Issuers often acquire names of consumers with good credit ratings from a credit reporting agency and send the consumers "preapproved" applications. 

Card issuers are permitted to mail you an application or a solicitation for a credit card or to ask you by phone whether you want to receive a card and to send you a card if you say yes. 

An issuer will consider your employment, current assets, current debts, and credit history when you apply for a credit or charge card. 

If you have had a poor credit history, some companies will issue you a "Secured" credit card. The issuer requires you deposit money in an account and allows you to make credit purchases up to the amount on deposit. Consumers who wish to use such plans to rebuild their credit record should make certain that the deposits are held in a protected escrow account. 

HOW DOES A CREDIT CARD WORK? 

When you have been issued a credit card you are given a line of credit. You can make purchases or receive cash advances up to that amount with your card. When you make a purchase, the merchant gives proof of your purchase to the credit card company and they pay the merchant on your behalf; in effect granting you a loan. 

The credit card issuer then bills you for reimbursement of the purchase or cash advance amount. You can either pay the balance in full or make payments. The issuer must send you periodic billing statements giving you information on your account which includes the minimum payment due, date it is due, and the periodic interest rate on unpaid balances. 

Can a Merchant Charge Me More If I Use a Credit or Charge Card? 

YES, but if a merchant charges you more for using a credit or charge card, that fact and the additional amount must be disclosed to you before the sale is made. A merchant can also offer a discount to customers who pay cash. 

What are my Credit Card Protections? 

Federal law protects consumers when they use credit cards. Protections include the following items: 

Prompt Credit for Payments. A card issuer must credit your account on the day the issuer receives your payment, unless the payment is not made according to the creditor's requirements or the delay in crediting your account does not result in a charge. 

Refunds of Credit Balances. When you return merchandise or pay more than you owe, you have the option of keeping the credit balance on your account or requesting a refund. To obtain a refund, write the card issuer. The card issuer must send you the refund within seven business days of receiving your request. Also if a credit balance remains on your account for more than six months, the card issuer must make a good faith effort to refund the credit balance. 

Errors on Your Bill. There are specific rules that the card issuer must follow for promptly correcting billing errors. The issuer must furnish you a statement describing the rules when you open a credit card account and at least once a year after that. Many issuers print your rights on their monthly billing statements. You must notify the issuer in writing at the address specified for billing errors within 60 days after the first bill containing the error was mailed to you. The issuer must look into the problem and either correct the error or explain to you why the bill is correct not later than 90 days after the issuer receives your billing error notice. During that period you do not have to pay the disputed amount or interest on that amount. 

Unauthorized Charges. If your credit card is used without your authorization, you can be held liable for up to $50 per card. If you report the loss before the card is used, federal law says the card issuer cannot hold you responsible for any unauthorized charges. If you have a lost or stolen credit card, report the loss as soon as possible. Most issuers have a toll-free number in service 24 hours. You should follow-up your phone call with a letter. 

Disputes About Merchandise or Services. If you have a problem with merchandise or services that you charged to a credit card and have made a good faith effort to work out the problem with the seller, you have the right to withhold from the card issuer payment for the merchandise or services. If the card you used is a bank card or another card not issued by the seller of the defective merchandise, you can withhold payment only if the purchase exceeded $50 and occurred in your home state or within 100 miles of your billing address. 

What Should I Do If My Credit Cards Are Lost Or Stolen? 

Phone the credit card company immediately, and report that your card is lost or stolen. Your monthly billing statement will list the phone number for reporting lost cards. Be sure to get the name of the person you talked to. The issuer will cancel your card so no unauthorized charges can be made on it. 

To create a record for the company and for your own files, write to the company after you have phoned. Include your name, address, account number, the date you believe the card was lost or stolen, and the name of the person you spoke to when you called the company. 

You will not be liable if you notify your issuer that your cards were lost or stolen before unauthorized charges are made. If your cards are used before you report them missing, the most you can be liable for is $50 per account. 


Remember. . . . 

· Make sure you understand the terms of a credit card plan before you accept the card. Review the disclosures of terms and fees that must appear on credit-card offers.

· Keep copies of sales slips and promptly compare charges when your bills arrive. Pay bills promptly. 

· Protect your credit cards and account numbers to prevent unauthorized use. Draw a line through blank spaces above the total when you sign receipts. Rip up or retain carbons. 

· Do not give out your card number over the phone unless you know the business or unless you initiated the call. 
· Keep a list of your credit card numbers and the telephone numbers of each card issuer in a safe place in case your cards are lost or stolen. 
Where to go for Help. . . . 

The following federal agencies are responsible for enforcing federal laws that govern credit card transactions. Questions concerning a particular card issuer should be directed to the enforcement agency responsible for that issuer. 

National Banks: 

Federal Credit Unions:
Comptroller of the Currency
National Credit Union Administration
Compliance Management
1776 G St., N. W.

Mail Stop 7-5

Washington D. C. 20456

Washington D. C. 20219

Non-Member Federally Insured Banks:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Office of Consumer Programs

550 Seventeenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20429

Other Credit Card Issuers:

Federal Trade Commission

Division of Credit Practices

Bureau of Consumer Protection

Washington D C 20580
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Credit cards are a great modern invention and are quick, convenient, and helpful in a wide variety of circumstances.  However, teens can be especially vulnerable to credit difficulties and need to be cautioned about the pitfalls of credit cards.  A credit card may seem like a "free ride" to many untried and unsuspecting young people and they end up accumulating a large debt long before they have the earning power to pay it off.

Around 6 million full-time college undergraduates now have credit cards.  It doesn't matter that they have no income or credit history; card companies figure they'll get a job that can pay the bills.  Parents don't have to cosign.   In fact, you might not even know your kids have cards.  But if they overspend, the card companies hope the parents will come to the rescue and pay the bill.  Some firms even ask for parental income on the student's credit-card application.

It pays students who use credit responsibly to get a student card.   They'll never get such easy credit again.  But some students get so far into debt that they ruin their credit rating before they graduate.  Two out of three undergraduates have at least one credit card and 27% of them have four or more cards according to a recent study by a national educational loan provider.  The average credit card balance for undergraduates is $1,879.

If your child gets a card, make sure he or she understands the significance of a clean credit history.  Also explain why it's important to pay more than the minimum every month.  The student who racks up a $1,000 credit-card bill in the freshman year and pays only the low minimum each month will finish a bachelor's degree, a master's program, and still need three and a half years to pay off that freshman spending spree.

Credit card applications have been invading the mailboxes of high school students too.

How to Help Prepare a Child for Credit Responsibility

(  Help teens set up a budget, open a checking account, and decide if or how credit cards can be used during young adult years.

  

(  Consider various credit companies before acquiring a card.  Read the contract carefully and talk with teens about terms and conditions found in the small print.

  

(  Show teens what happens to a balance if only the minimum amount is paid monthly.

  

(  Help them figure out how long it will take to repay the loan and what the actual cost of the item will be after all credit charges have been added.

  

(  Explain that if he/she pays late or less than the minimum, he/she can be penalized with fees (up to $30 per infraction) and a higher interest rate.  Discuss what may happen when dealing with collection agencies.

  

(  Keep a college student's credit limit low, $500 to $1,000, and instruct him/her to use the card only for emergencies.  Spell out what is/is not "an emergency."

 

(  Explain what the term "good credit rating" means,  what it is used for, and why it is important to maintain one in today's economy. Discuss the consequences of a bad credit rating.

  

(  Consider having the bills sent to your address so you can see they are paid on time. 

  

(  Tell your child to keep the card in a safe and secret place and to notify the card issuer immediately if it is lost or stolen. 

(  Recommend that students who choose to use credit cards limit themselves to one card and pay off the balance in full each month.

IF TEEN IS ALREADY IN TROUBLE

If your child is already in trouble, don't delay action:

Call your child's creditors before he defaults to avoid negative marks on his credit report.  Ask them to lower interest rates or suspend new interest charges for six months.  Get the new terms in writing.

 

If you decide to pay off the balance, ask the creditor to remove any penalty or legal fees and all negative marks they've put on your child's credit report.  Before you hand over any money, get a letter confirming the agreed-upon amount is "payment in full" and that no further action will be taken.  

Tip:  For help negotiating, call the nonprofit organization: Consumer Credit Counseling Services at 1-800-388-CCCS or visit Debt Counselors of America's web site at www.dca.org . 

  

Consider a debt consolidation loan only if it will lower the interest rate, not just the monthly payment. 

  

Check your child's credit report a few weeks later.  If there are negative remarks, send the credit bureau copies of correspondence confirming your agreement. 

  

Protect Your Child’s Privacy:

Call 1-888-466-6936 for facts every concerned parent needs to know about protecting their child's privacy.

  (    (    (    (    (    (    (    (    (    (    (    
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CREDIT REPAIR  - Help Yourself 
You see the advertisements in newspapers, on TV, and on the Internet. You hear them on the radio. You get fliers in the mail. You may even get calls from telemarketers offering credit repair services. They all make the same claims: 

"Credit problems? No problem!" 

 

"We can erase your bad credit -- 100% guaranteed." 

 

"Create a new credit identity -- legally." 

 

"We can remove bankruptcies, judgments, liens, and bad loans from your credit file forever!" 

Do yourself a favor and save some money, too. Don’t believe these statements. Only time, a conscious effort, and a personal debt repayment plan will improve your credit report. 

The following explains how you can improve your credit worthiness and lists legitimate resources for low or no-cost help. 

CREDIT REPAIR COMPANIES 
Everyday, companies nationwide appeal to consumers with poor credit histories. They promise, for a fee, to clean up your credit report so you can get a car loan, a home mortgage, insurance, or even a job. The truth is, they can't deliver. After you pay them hundreds or thousands of dollars in up-front fees, these companies do nothing to improve your credit report; many simply vanish with your money. 

The Warning Signs… 

If you decide to respond to a credit repair offer, beware of companies that: 

(Want you to pay for credit repair services before any services are 
    provided; 

(Do not tell you your legal rights and what you can do -- yourself -- for free; 

(Recommend that you not contact a credit bureau directly; or 

(Advise you to dispute all information in your credit report or take any 
    action that seems illegal, such as creating a new credit identity. If you 
    follow illegal advice and commit fraud, you may be subject to prosecution. 

You could be charged and prosecuted for mail or wire fraud if you use the mail or telephone to apply for credit and provide false information. It's a federal crime to make false statements on a loan or credit application, to misrepresent your Social Security Number, and to obtain an Employer Identification Number from the Internal Revenue Service under false pretenses. 

Thanks to the new Telemarketing Sales Rule, it's also a crime for telemarketers who offer credit repair services to require you to pay until six months after they've delivered the services. 

The Truth 
No one can legally remove accurate and timely negative information from a credit report. But the law does allow you to request a reinvestigation of information in your file that you dispute as inaccurate or incomplete. There is no charge for this. Everything a credit repair clinic can do for you legally, you can do for yourself at little or no cost. According to the Fair Credit Reporting Act: 

You are entitled to a free copy of your credit report if you've been denied credit within the last 30 days. If your application for credit, insurance, or employment is denied because of information supplied by a credit bureau, the company you applied to must provide you with that credit bureau's name and address. 

 

You can dispute mistakes or outdated items for free. Ask the credit reporting agency for a dispute form or submit your dispute in writing, along with any supporting documentation. 

Clearly identify each item in your report that you dispute, explain why you dispute the information, and request a reinvestigation. If the new investigation reveals an error, you may ask that a corrected version of the report be sent to anyone who received your report within the past six months. Job applicants can have corrected reports sent to anyone who received a report for employment purposes during the past two years. 

If the reinvestigation does not resolve your dispute, have the credit bureau include your version of the dispute (up to 100 words) in your file and in future reports. Remember, there is no charge for a reinvestigation. 

FILE SEGREGATION SCAMS 
If you have filed for bankruptcy, you may be told by a "credit repair" company that you won't be able to get any type of credit for ten years. This is not always true.

 

To help you "hide" your bankruptcy, the credit repair company may promise to tell you how, for a fee, to establish a new credit identity. The plan, however, is illegal. 

 

If you use the plan, often called "file segregation," you could face fines or even prison. 

If you have filed for bankruptcy, you may be the target of a new credit repair scheme, often called "file segregation." In this scheme, you are promised a chance to hide unfavorable credit information by establishing a new credit identity. That may sound perfect, especially if you fear that you will not be given any credit as long as bankruptcy appears on your credit record. 

The problem is, "file segregation" is illegal. If you use it, you could face fines or even prison. 

This fact sheet alerts you to some aspects of this new type of credit repair scam, describes the false claims that fraudulent companies sometimes use to sell you the service, and says why participation is illegal. It also lists other brochures that discuss your credit rights and responsibilities.

The Pitch: A New Credit Identity 
If you have filed for bankruptcy, you may receive a letter from a credit repair company that warns you about your inability to get credit cards, personal loans, or any other types of credit for ten years. For a fee, the company promises to help you hide your bankruptcy and establish a new credit identity you can use when applying for credit. 

If you pay the fee and sign up for the service, you may be directed to apply for an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Typically, EINs -- which resemble social security numbers -- are used by businesses to report financial information to the IRS and the Social Security Administration. 

After you receive your EIN, you are advised to use it in place of your social security number when you apply for credit. You also are advised to use a new mailing address and to include some credit references. 

The Catch: False Claims… 

Listed here are reasons a credit repair service may give you for establishing a new credit identity. These false claims, along with the pitch for getting a new credit identity, should alert you to the possibility of fraud. 

Claim 1: You will not be able to get credit for 10 years (the period of time bankruptcy information may stay on your credit record). Each creditor has its own criteria for granting credit. While one may reject your application because of a bankruptcy, another may grant you credit shortly after you filed for bankruptcy. And, given a new reliable payment record, your chances of obtaining credit will probably increase as time passes. 

 

Claim 2: The company or "file segregation" program is affiliated with the federal government. The federal government does not support or work with companies offering such programs.

 

Claim 3: The "file segregation" program is legal. It is a federal crime to make any false statements on a loan or credit application, which the credit repair company may advise you to do. It is a federal crime to misrepresent your social security number. It also is a federal crime to obtain an EIN from the IRS under false pretenses. Further, you could be charged with mail or wire fraud if you use the mail or the telephone to apply for credit and provide false information. Also, file segregation would likely constitute civil fraud under many state laws. 

Have You Been Victimized? 
If you've had a problem with a credit repair company, don’t be embarrassed to report the company. Contact your local consumer affairs office or your state attorney general (AG). Many AGs have toll-free consumer hotlines. Check with your local directory assistance.  Indiana's A G toll-free number is 1-800-382-5516.

If you receive a letter from a company making such claims, contact your state attorney general or consumer protection office. You also can file a complaint with the FTC. Write: Correspondence Branch, Federal Trade Commission, Washington, D.C. 20580. While the FTC does not handle individual cases, it can act against companies when it sees a pattern of possible law violations developing. 

The National Fraud Information Center (NFIC) also accepts consumer complaints. You can reach NFIC at 1-800-876-7060, 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. EST, Monday - Friday, or at http://www.fraud.org on the Internet. NFIC is a private, nonprofit organization that operates a consumer assistance phone line to provide services and help in filing complaints. NFIC also forwards appropriate complaints to the FTC for entry on its telemarketing fraud database. 

Need Help? Don't Despair 
Just because you have a poor credit report doesn't mean you won't be able to get credit. Creditors set their own credit-granting standards and not all of them look at your credit history the same way. Some may look only at more recent years to evaluate you for credit, and they may grant credit if your bill-paying history has improved. It may be worthwhile to contact creditors informally to discuss their credit standards. 

If you can't resolve your credit problems yourself or you need additional help, you may want to contact a credit counseling service. There are non-profit organizations in every state that counsel consumers in debt. Counselors try to arrange repayment plans that are acceptable to you and your creditors. They also can help you set up a realistic budget. These counseling services are offered at little or no cost to consumers. You can find the office nearest you by checking the white pages of your telephone directory. 

In addition, nonprofit counseling programs sometimes are operated by universities, military bases, credit unions, and housing authorities. They're also likely to charge little or nothing for their services. Or, you can check with your local bank or consumer protection office to see if it has a list of reputable, low-cost financial counseling services. 

Do-It-Yourself Check-Up For Free 
Even if you don't have a poor credit history, its a good idea to conduct your own credit check-up, especially if you're planning a major purchase, such as a home or car. Checking in advance on the accuracy of the information in your credit report could speed the credit-granting process. 

Credit bureaus usually are listed in the yellow pages of your telephone book under "credit reporting agencies." Three large national credit bureaus supply most credit reports: Experian, Equifax, and Trans Union. You may want to contact each of them for a copy of you report. 

Experian (Formerly TRW )
TransUnion Corporation 

P.O. Box 949

Trans Union Consumer Relations 

Allen, TX 75013-0949 

760 West Sproul Road, P.O. Box 390

(888) 397-3742

Springfield, PA 19064-0390

www.eperian.com 

(800) 916-8800, www.tuc.com

Free 


$8 Fee

Equifax Credit Information Services, Inc. 

P.O. Box 740241

Atlanta, GA 30374-0241

(800) 685-1111 

www.equifax.com

$8 Fee 
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