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BACKGROUND  
 
Federal law mandates that State child support agencies impose an annual fee of $35.00 for 
each case in which child support services are provided, and the annual fee shall be paid by 
the individual applying for services, or recovered from the obligor, or paid by the State out of 
its own funds.1   
 
In Indiana when a final court order requires a person to pay support or maintenance payments 
through the Clerk of Courts or the Indiana State Central Collection Unit (INSCCU), that obligor 
will also be liable for an annual support fee (ASFE) of $55.00.2  Income payors required to 
withhold income pursuant to a child support obligation shall pay the ASFE through income 
withholding procedures.3 
 
POLICY  

 
Annually, the Child Support Bureau (CSB) charges an ASFE to the obligor in the amount of 
$55.00 for each case where a final court order requires the obligor to pay a child support 
obligation or maintenance payment through the Clerk of Courts or INSCCU.4  The ASFE 
payment is only processed through INSCCU.   

 
REFERENCES  
  

• IC 31-9-2-56:  “Income” 
• IC 31-9-2-57:  “Income payor” 
• IC 31-16-15-7.5:  Income payor duties 
• IC 33-37-5-6:  Support and maintenance payments; fees 
• 15 U.S.C. § 1673:  Restriction on garnishment 
• 42 U.S.C. § 654:  State plan for child and spousal support 
• 42 U.S.C. § 666:  Requirement of statutorily prescribed procedures to improve 

effectiveness of child support enforcement 
• 45 C.F.R. § 302.33:  Services to individuals not receiving title IV-A assistance 
• 45 C.F.R. § 303.100:  Procedures for income withholding 

 
 

1  42 U.S.C. § 654(6)(B)(ii); 45 C.F.R. § 302.33(e) 
2  IC 33-37-5-6 
3  IC 33-37-5-6(f); IC 31-16-15-7.5; IC 31-9-2-56(a); IC 31-9-2-57(a)  
4  IC 33-37-5-6 
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http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2023/ic/titles/031/#31-9-2-56
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2023/ic/titles/031/#31-9-2-57
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2023/ic/titles/031/#31-16-15-7.5
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2023/ic/titles/033/#33-37-5-6
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2021-title15/pdf/USCODE-2021-title15-chap41-subchapII-sec1673.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2021-title42/pdf/USCODE-2021-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partD-sec654.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2021-title42/pdf/USCODE-2021-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partD-sec666.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-B/chapter-III/part-302/section-302.33
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-B/chapter-III/part-303/section-303.100
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PROCEDURE  
 

1. ASFE Notice to Obligor 
 
For obligors with support obligations eligible for the ASFE without an active open 
employer in the statewide child support system, CSB issues the ASFE notice to his or 
her current address.  If the obligor is incarcerated and the address listed for the obligor 
is a correctional facility or jail, the ASFE notice will not be sent to the obligor.   
 

2. ASFE Notice to Withhold Income to Obligor’s Employer 
 
For obligors with support obligations eligible for the ASFE with an active open 
employer in the statewide child support system, CSB issues the ASFE Notice to 
Withhold Income to the obligor’s employer.  A $2.00 fee to be paid by the obligor, at 
the income payor’s option, may be assessed for each ASFE forwarded by the income 
payor to INSCCU.5   
 
The Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) sets limits on the maximum amount of a 
person’s disposable earnings that can be withheld from the obligor’s wages.6  The 
CCPA limits the income withholding amounts to:   

a. 50%, if the obligor is supporting a spouse and/or child other than the spouse 
and/or child named in the order; and 

b. 60%, if the obligor is not supporting another spouse and/or child.7 
 

FORMS AND TOOLS  
 
N/A 
 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
  

1. Q.  Does a payment need to post on a Title IV-D case or non-Title IV-D (NIVD) case  
for the ASFE notice to be issued by CSB? 

 
A. For Title IV-D cases there is not a prerequisite for prior payments.  For NIVD cases 

there is a prerequisite for at least one (1) payment in the past 12 months, unless 
the NIVD case was opened in the previous year.  NIVD cases opened in the 
previous year do not require a payment to generate a notice.   

 
2. Q.  Are obligors in all intergovernmental cases required to pay Indiana’s ASFE?  

 
A. No, for cases where Indiana is the responding State, and thus enforcing another 

State’s obligation, CSB issues the ASFE Notice to the obligor or the obligor’s 
employer.   

 
3. Q.  If an obligor no longer has a current child support obligation, but an arrears  

      obligation remains, will the ASFE be assessed?   

 
5 IC 31-16-15-7.5(b) 
6 15 U.S.C. § 1673(b); 42 U.S.C. § 666(b)(1); 45 C.F.R. § 303.100(a)(3) 
7 15 U.S.C. § 1673(b) 
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A. Yes, the ASFE Notice will be issued to the obligor or the obligor’s employer while 

the arrears balance remains outstanding.   
 
RELATED INFORMATION  
 
 N/A  
 

 
Version Date Description of Revision 

Version 1 04/06/2022 Final approved version 
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