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BACKGROUND 

 
The two methods for establishing paternity in Indiana are by paternity affidavit and by court 
order.1  Federal regulations require an expedited administrative process to establish paternity.2  
In Indiana, the paternity affidavit satisfies this requirement.  A paternity affidavit may be 
executed through a hospital within 72 hours of the child’s birth, at the local health department or 
upon marriage of the parents to each other.3  The Title IV-D Prosecutor may search for and print 
copies of executed paternity affidavits through Panoptic. The Child Support Bureau makes this 
on-line search tool, provided by the Indiana State Department of Health, available to the Title IV-
D Prosecutor. 
 

POLICY 

 
The valid execution of a paternity affidavit conclusively establishes paternity.4  No further legal 
action is necessary.5  The paternity affidavit gives rise to the right of the custodial party or the 
Title IV-D agency to obtain a child support order including provisions for health insurance.6  The 
paternity affidavit also gives rise to parenting time rights in accordance with Indiana Parenting 
Time Guidelines.7   

 
It should be noted, within 60 days of the date the paternity affidavit is executed, a man who 
signs the paternity affidavit may file an action to request an order for genetic testing.8   

 
A properly executed paternity affidavit may not be rescinded more than 60 days after the 
execution unless: 

a. A court determines that fraud, duress, or material mistake of fact existed when the 
affidavit was executed; and 

b. A court-ordered genetic test excluded the man as the child’s biological father.9 
 

                                                
1 IC 31-14-2-1 
2 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(5)(C); IC 31-25-4-18 
3 IC 16-37-2-2.1(a); IC 16-37-2-2.1(c); IC 16-37-2-16 
4 IC 16-37-2-2.1(p) 
5 IC 16-37-2-2.1(p) 
6 IC 16-37-2-2.1(j)(A); IC 31-16-6-4 
7 IC 16-37-2-2.1(j)(B) 
8 IC 16-37-2-2.1(k) 
9 IC 16-37-2-2.1(l) 
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The Title IV-D Prosecutor is strongly encouraged to avoid the initiation of actions to rescind 
paternity affidavits after 60 days.  Additionally, the Title IV-D Prosecutor is strongly encouraged 
to contest the filing of a petition to rescind a paternity affidavit, if filed more than 60 days after 
the execution and the petition is not based on fraud, duress, or material mistake of fact.10  
 

REFERENCES 

 

 IC 16-37-2-2.1:  Paternity affidavits; requirements; forms; joint legal custody agreement; 
penalty; effect of paternity affidavit; genetic test; opportunity to consult 

 IC 16-37-2-14:  Duties of health officer regarding paternity affidavit 

 IC 16-37-2-16:  New birth certificate upon marriage of illegitimate child’s parents; 
correction of records 

 IC 31-14-2-1:  Exclusive methods of establishing paternity 

 IC 31-25-4-18:  Order for genetic testing to establish paternity; income withholding 

 42 U.S.C. § 666:  Requirement of statutorily prescribed procedures to improve 
effectiveness of child support enforcement 

 

PROCEDURE 

 

When the Title IV-D Prosecutor initiates a case in which the child is born out of wedlock, the 
Title IV-D Prosecutor should check Panoptic to determine whether a paternity affidavit has been 
executed.  If a paternity affidavit is not found in Panoptic, the Title IV-D Prosecutor may need to 
contact the local health department to obtain a copy of the paternity affidavit.  If no paternity 
affidavit has been executed the Title IV-D Prosecutor should initiate judicial action. 
 

 
1. Chapter 18:  Confidentiality and Security 
2. Establishing Paternity 
3. Establishing Paternity Brochure 
4. Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines 
5. Panoptic Paternity Affidavit Access Logon 
6. Panoptic Paternity Affidavit Access 
7. Paternity Affidavit – Hospital Use 
8. Local Health Department Paternity Affidavit – Child More Than 60 Days Old 
9. Local Health Department Paternity Affidavit – Child Less Than 60 Days Old 
10. Paternity Affidavit Upon Marriage 
 

 
1. Q.  Is there any consequence to a mother who knowingly or intentionally names the 

wrong man on the paternity affidavit? 
A.  Yes.  If a woman knowingly or intentionally falsely names a man as the child’s 
biological father, she commits a Class A misdemeanor.11 
 

                                                
10 IC 16-37-2-2.1(l)(1) 
11 IC 16-37-2-2.1(i) 

FORMS AND TOOLS 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/016/#16-37-2-2.1
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/016/#16-37-2-14
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/016/#16-37-2-16
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/031/#31-14-2-1
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/031/#31-25-4-18
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2017-title42/pdf/USCODE-2017-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partD-sec666.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Establishing_Paternity_.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Establishing_Paternity_Brochure_English.pdf
https://www.in.gov/judiciary/rules/child_support/index.html#g7
https://panoptic.dcs.in.gov/PanOptic/POSearch2.aspx
https://ingov.sharepoint.com/sites/CSBCSR/Guides/Panoptic_Paternity_Affidavit_Access.pdf
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9989
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=13208
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9992
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9991
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2. Q.  If a man who signed the paternity affidavit requests genetic testing within the 60 day 
timeframe allowed under the statute, who conducts the test? 
A.  If it is a Title IV-D case, the Title IV-D Prosecutor shall provide genetic testing 
services.12 

 
3. Q.  If a paternity affidavit is executed should a Petition to Confirm Paternity be filed? 

A.  No.  A paternity affidavit does not require confirmation by the court.13   
 

4. Q.  If a man is listed as the father on the child’s birth certificate, does that alone establish 
his paternity? 

 A.  No.   
 

  
Indiana Code 16-37-2:  Certification of Births 
 
 

                                                
12 IC 31-14-6-1; IC 31-25-4-18; See Section 4 of this Chapter 
13 IC 16-37-2-2.1(i)(1) 

RELATED INFORMATION 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/016/#16-37-2

