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‘ STATEMENTS OF PURPOSE

The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) and its licensing workers' should not
recommend licensing a foster home if there are any concerns about placing a child in the home.
The licensing worker will recommend denial of a foster family home initial or relicensure
application if:
1. The applicant or the applicant’s household members, employees, or volunteers who are
required to have background checks do not pass the background checks. See policies
13.09 Conducting Background Checks for Foster Home Licensing and 13.10 Evaluating
Background Checks for Foster Family Licensing for more information on the background
check requirements;
2. The applicant made false statements on the application or the records required for
licensure or relicensure; or
3. The applicant failed to meet any other foster care licensing requirements as set out in
Indiana Statute or Indiana Administrative Code.

If a denial is based on a report of abuse or neglect that was substantiated prior to October 15,
2006, the Regional Manager (RM) or designee must review the appropriateness of the
substantiation prior to the licensing worker requesting the denial. The applicant may also
request this review at any time in the process. See policy 2.03 Child Care Worker Assessment
Review Process.

DCS will not allow an applicant to voluntarily withdraw or transfer their foster home license
application to another licensing entity once a denial recommendation has been made.

Code References

IC 31-27-4-5: Apply for licenses; criminal history checks

IC 31-27-4-6: Grounds for denial of license applications; waiver

IC 31-27-4-13: Denial of license; notice; administrative hearing upon written request
IC 31-27-4-16: Duration of license; limitations; renewal

465 IAC 2-1.5: Licensing of Foster Family Homes for Children

465 IAC 3-2-2: Administrative review procedure for child care workers and licensed

foster parents
465 IAC 3-3: Administrative Hearings
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! The licensing worker refers to the DCS Regional Foster Care Specialist (RFCS) or the Licensed Child Placing
Agency worker
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https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.09%20Conducting%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Home%20Licensing.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/2020/session/home/
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.03%20Child%20Care%20Worker%20Assessment%20Review%20Process.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.03%20Child%20Care%20Worker%20Assessment%20Review%20Process.pdf
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-5
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-6
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-13
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-16
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T04650/A00020.PDF?
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go

PROCEDURE

The licensing worker should consult with other DCS staff or agency staff as needed to arrive at
a written recommendation about the appropriateness of granting the license based on:

1.

2.

Information found in all background checks. See policy 13.10 Evaluating Background

Checks for Foster Family Licensing; and

Any other information obtained through the state-approved foster family home licensing

study related to:

a. The current home environment, and

b. The ability of the prospective foster parent to provide for the child’s safety, well-
being, and permanency.

Note: A denial recommendation may be made upon receipt of information supporting a
denial. A complete written home study is not required if a denial is recommended.

For all denials, the licensing worker will:

1.

Develop a denial recommendation letter, within 90 days of the decision to deny,

containing the following:

a. Any specific statute or rule with which the foster family home is not in compliance,

b. A general description of the circumstances which constitute the non-compliance or
other grounds for denial, and

c. Documentation supporting the decision.

Ensure each denial recommendation letter is signed by the following persons:

a. The RM, RFCS Supervisor, and the DCS licensing worker (for DCS Licensed Foster
Family Homes), or

b. Licensed Child Placing Agency (LCPA) licensing worker, LCPA Director, or designee
(for LCPA Licensed Foster Family Homes).

Upload the following information into the case management system:

a. Denial recommendation letter,

b. Supporting documentation that provides evidence of non-compliance (e.g., case
management system contact notes, e-mail communications, background check
information, and assessment information),

c. The Foster Home Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification form if the denial is
based on substantiated abuse or neglect.

Submit the denial request in the case management system to the Central Office Foster
Care Licensing Unit for approval;

Ensure the applicant is aware of the denial recommendation and has a basic
understanding of the process that will occur; and

Ensure any DCS or agency staff responsible for placement of a child is notified of the
concerns and resulting recommendation to deny the renewal of the license if there are
children currently placed in the home.

Upon receipt and agreement with the recommendation to deny, the Central Office Foster Care
Licensing Unit will:

1.

Send a certified letter, within 60 days of the recommendation, to the applicant advising
the individual of; and
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a. The fact the application for a new foster family home license, or renewal of the
current license, is being denied effective 30 days from receipt of the letter,

b. The nature of the allegations of non-compliance with Indiana Code, Indiana
Administrative Code, or other foster parent requirements,

c. The right to appeal the decision within 30 days of receipt of the letter (see Related
Information),

d. The statutory authority of DCS to license resource family homes, and

e. The civil and criminal penalties for operating a foster family home without a license.

2. Send a copy of the certified letter denying the license to the licensing worker for his or
her file.

If Central Office disagrees with the recommendation to deny a license, the Central Office
Licensing Unit will return the recommendation to the recommending agency with guidance on
next steps. The recommending agency will follow up based upon the guidance received from
Central Office.

If the denial is based on a substantiated report of abuse or neglect that was approved prior to
October 15, 2006, the RM (or designee) for the region where the assessment took place will,
prior to sending the request for denial to Central Office, complete a file review of the
substantiated assessment.

| PRACTICE GUIDANCE |

N/A

| FORMS AND TOOLS |

1. Foster Home License Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification (SF 55232)
2. Request for Administrative Hearing Foster Home License Denial or Revocation (SF

55227

| RELATED INFORMATION |

Denial Appeals

If the foster family home appeals the license denial and requests an Administrative Appeal
Hearing as provided in |C 31-27-4-13 and 465 IAC 3-3 (also see Indiana Office of Administrative
Law Proceedings (OALP) Policies):

1. DCS Hearings and Appeals will review the Request for Administrative Hearing Foster
Home License Denial or Revocation (SF 55227) and the denial letter and forward any
complete and timely request to OALP;

2. An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) assigned by the OALP will schedule the hearing date
and any prehearing conferences;

3. The OALP staff will notify the assigned DCS attorney, the foster family home, and
any attorney representing the license applicant for purposes of the appeal, of the
date, time, and location of the scheduled hearing;

4. A DCS attorney will represent DCS during the hearing;

5. After the ALJ issues the Proposed Finding of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the DCS
Office of General Counsel (OGC) will automatically conduct a Final Agency
Authority review of the case and the ALJ’s Proposed Finding of Fact and
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Conclusions of Law and issue a decision upholding, denying, or remanding the
decision to deny the application for foster home license. The DCS Final Agency
Authority may also consider his or her experience and training in the relevant
subject matter; and

Note: The DCS Final Agency Authority may schedule status conferences or briefing
deadlines during his or her review, however, failure to attend these status
conferences or respond to briefing deadlines will not result a dismissal of the case or
a failure of the Final Agency Authority to issue a decision on the case.

6. OALP and the parties will be notified of the decision, including any right to seek
judicial review as provided in IC 4-21.5-5.
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