Executive Council on Cybersecurity

Executive Order 17-11

Signed by Governor Holcomb on Jan. 9, 2017, the Indiana Executive Council on Cybersecurity (Council) was continued through Executive Order 17-11 with the recognition that a cross-sector body of subject-matter experts is required to form an understanding of Indiana’s cyber risk profile, identify priorities, establish a strategic framework of Indiana’s cybersecurity initiatives, and leverage the body of talent to stay on the forefront of the cyber risk environment.

Led by the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, Indiana Office of Technology, Indiana State Police, and the Indiana National Guard, the Council is made up of government (local, state, and federal), private-sector, military, research, and academic stakeholders to collaboratively move Indiana’s cybersecurity to the Next Level. With 35 Council members and almost 250 advisory members, the Council will deliver a comprehensive strategy plan to Governor Holcomb by September 2018. For a list of Council Members, click here.

Joining Other States

The launch of his Council follows Governor Holcomb signing the National Governors Association’s “A Compact to Improve State Cybersecurity” in July 2017. The 38 governors who signed the compact agreed to protect personal and government data stored on state systems as well as develop statewide plans to combat cyberattacks against information technology networks.

The governors’ agreement included a pledge to build a cybersecurity governance, prepare and defend the state from cybersecurity events, and increase the nation’s cybersecurity workforce.


For more information about the Council, please contact Cybersecurity Program Director Chetrice Mosely at MosleyCLM@iot.in.gov.