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Contact Information

Indiana Supreme Court

Indiana Office of Court Services

251 N. lllinois Street, Suite 800
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Main Phone: 317-232-2542
Fax number: 317-233-6586

Toll Free Numbers:

Guardian Ad Litem/Court Appointed Special Advocate:

Court Technology Helpdesk:
Court Technology Fax:

800-542-0813
888-275-5822
317-234-2605
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Fee Type

Criminal Costs Fee

Marijuana Eradication Program Fee

Alcohol and Drug Services Program Fee
Law Enforcement Continuing Education Fee

Drug Abuse, Prosecution, Interdiction, and
Correction Fee

Countermeasures Fee

Child Abuse Prevention Fee

Domestic Violence Prevention and Treatment
Fee

Highway Worksite Zone Fee

Safe School Fee

Jury Fee
Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Late Payment Fee

Sexual Assault Victims Assistance Fee

1 Filing Fees/Costs for Criminal Cases

Code Citation
IC 33-37-4-1

IC 33-37-5-7

IC 33-37-5-8(b)
IC 33-37-5-8(c)
IC 33-37-5-9

IC 33-37-5-10

IC 33-37-5-12
IC 33-37-5-13

IC 33-37-5-14

IC 33-37-5-18

IC 33-37-5-19
IC 33-37-5-20

IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-22
IC 33-37-5-23

Fee Amt.

$120.00

$4.00

$2.00
$5.00

$20.00

Other Information

Collected only if the county has a program and there is a conviction under I.C. 35-48-4; fee
may not exceed $300

Collected only if the county has a program; fee may not exceed $400.

Collected only if there is a conviction under I.C. 35-48-4; fee range is $200-$1,000.

Collected only if conviction under I.C. 9-30-5 and driver's license suspension as a result; fee is
$200.

Collected only if conviction of specified offenses and victim is under 18; fee is $100.

Collected only if conviction of specified offenses and relationship of parties; fee is $50.

Collect $.50 only if traffic offense or could be $25.50 if exceeding worksite speed limit or
failure to merge.

Collected only if conviction of (1) offense in which use or possession of a firearm is an
element of the offense or (2) for conviction of offense in which a person operates a vehicle
and recklessly passes a school bus stopped on a roadway or a private road when the arm
signal device is in the device's extended position, or does so and causes bodily injury or
death. The fee range is $200 - $1,000.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the document storage fee increased to $5 (from $2).

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all actions other than
pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The automated record keeping fee for
pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs remains $5.

Applies only if all conditions of the statute are met; fee is $25.

Collected only if conviction of specified offenses; fee range is $500 - $5,000.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk



Indiana Trial Court Fee Manual

Public Defense Administration Fee

Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

DNA Sample Processing Fee
Court Administration Fee

Total Criminal Fees

IC 33-37-5-21.2

IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-26.2
IC 33-37-5-27

$5.00

$1.00
$20.00
$3.00
$5.00
$185.00

Increased from $3 to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased from $19 to $20 on July 1, 2012.
Increased from $2 to $3 on July 1, 2017

Total is $213 if office is collecting the sheriff's service of process fee of $28.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.
A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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2 Filing Fees/Costs for Pre-Trial Diversion Cases for Certain Misdemeanors, Level

Fee Type

Deferred Prosecution Fee

Initial User Fee

Monthly User Fee

Highway Worksite Zone Fee

Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

DNA Sample Processing Fee

Court Administration Fee

Total Pre-Trial Diversion Case Fees

Code Citation
IC 33-37-5-17
IC 33-37-4-1(c)

IC 33-37-4-1(c)

IC 33-37-5-14

IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-21.2
IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-26.2
IC 33-37-5-27

Fee Amount

$120.00
$50.00

$120.00

$5.00
$5.00

$5.00
$1.00
$20.00
$3.00
$5.00
$334.00

6 and Level 5 Felonies (see I.C. 33-39-1-8)

Other Information

The fee increased effective July 1, 2018 to $75 for a felony. The fee remained
$50 for misdemeanors.

Monthly fee is $20 for each month that the person remains in the pretrial
diversion program; this fee increased effective July 1, 2018. This scenario
would illustrate a 6-month program. The county may have different time
ranges for the program which will cause the total to be different.

Collect $0.50 only if traffic offense and could be $25.50 if exceeding the
worksite speed limit or failure to merge.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the document storage fee increased to $5 (from $2).

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all
actions other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The
automated record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral
programs remains $5.

Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $20 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $3 from $2 on July 1, 2017

Total is $334.00 for non-traffic misdemeanor offense, $334.50 for traffic
offense or $359.50 if offense is exceeding a worksite speed limit or failure to
merge. See 1.C. 33-37-5-14. The total increases $25 for a felony.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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3 Filing Fees/Costs for Infraction and Ordinance Violation Cases

Fee Type

Infraction or Ordinance Violation Costs Fee

Alcohol and Drug Services Program Fee

Law Enforcement Continuing Education Fee

Countermeasures Fee

Highway Worksite Zone Fee

Jury Fee

Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Late Payment Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

DNA Sample Processing Fee

Court Administration Fee

Total Infraction/Ordinance Violations

Fees

Code Citation
IC 33-37-4-2
IC 33-37-5-8(b)

IC 33-37-5-8(c)
IC 33-37-5-10
IC 33-37-5-14

IC 33-37-5-19
IC 33-37-5-20

IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-22
IC 33-37-5-21.2
IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-26.2
IC 33-37-5-27

Fee Amount

$70.00

$4.00

$2.00
$5.00

$20.00

$5.00
$1.00
$20.00
$3.00
$5.00

$135.00

Other Information

Judge determines if this fee is to be collected. Amount of fee is set by
court rule however may not exceed $400.

Judge determines if this $200 fee is to be collected.

Collect $.50 only if traffic offense and could be $25.50 if exceeding the
worksite speed limit or failure to merge.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the document storage fee increased to $5 (from

$2).

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for
all actions other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs.
The automated record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and
deferral programs remains $5.

Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $20 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $3 from $2 on July 1, 2017

Total is $163 if office is collecting the sheriff’'s service of process fee
of $28.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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4 Filing Fees/Costs for Deferral Program Cases for Infractions and Ordinance

Fee Type
Moving Traffic Offense Court Cost

Initial Users Fee *

Monthly User Fee *

Highway Worksite Zone Fee

Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Total Deferral Program Fees

Code Citation

IC 34-28-5-1

IC 33-37-4-2(e)
IC 33-37-4-2(e)

IC 33-37-5-14

IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

Violations

Fee Amount

$70.00

$52.00
$60.00

$5.00
$5.00

$192.00

Other Information

If the infraction or violation is not a moving traffic offense, this cost will not
be assessed.

$50 goes to the deferral program and $2 goes to the Jury Pay Fund.

Monthly fee is $10 for each month that the person remains in the deferral
program. This scenario illustrates a 6-month program. The county may have
different time ranges for the program which would cause the total to be
different.

Collect $0.50 only if traffic offense and could be $25.50 if exceeding the
worksite speed limit or failure to merge.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the document storage fee increased to $5 (from $2).

The automated record keeping fee increased to $19 (from $7) on July 1,
2015 for all actions other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral
programs. The automated record keeping fee for pretrial diversion
programs and deferral programs remains $5.

Total is $192.00 for a moving traffic offense; $217.50 if the offense is
exceeding a worksite speed limit or failure to merge. Total is $122.50
for a non-moving traffic offense. See I.C. 33-37-5-14.

* Statute states these fees are not to exceed these amounts. The prosecutor may assess a lower amount.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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5 Filing Fees/Costs for Seatbelt Violation Cases

Fee Type Code Citation Fee Amount Other Information

Class D Infraction IC 9-19-10-8 and 34-28-5-4 $25.00 These judgments go to a separate account in the State General Fund
in accordance with I.C. 9-19-11-9.

Total Seatbelt Violation Fee $25.00

6 Filing Fees/Costs for Child Restraint System Violation Cases

Fee Type Code Citation Fee Amount Other Information

Class D Infraction IC 9-19-11-2; 9-19-11-3.6 and  $25.00 These judgments go to a separate account in the State General Fund
34-28-5-4 in accordance with I.C. 9-19-11-9.

Total Child Restraint System $25.00

Violation Fee
NOTE: Class D infractions generally do not include costs pursuant to IC 34-28-5-5. Seatbelt violation cases and child restraint system violation cases are

merely the two most commonly charged Class D infractions.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.
A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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Fee Type

Juvenile Costs Fee

Marijuana Eradication Program Fee

Alcohol and Drug Services Program
Fee

Countermeasures Fee

Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Late Payment Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

Court Administration Fee

Alternative Dispute Resolution Fee

Total Juvenile Fees

7 Filing Fees/Costs for Juvenile Cases

Code Citation
IC 33-37-4-3
IC 33-37-5-7
IC 33-37-5-8(b)

IC 33-37-5-10
IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-22

IC 33-37-5-21.2
IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-27
IC 33-23-6-1

Fee Amount

$120.00

$5.00
$20.00

$5.00
$1.00
$20.00
$5.00

$176.00

Other Information

See notes to Criminal Cases chart in Chapter 1 for these fee types.

See notes to Criminal Cases chart in Chapter 1 for these fee types.

See notes to Criminal Cases chart in Chapter 1 for these fee types.

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all actions
other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The automated
record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs remains

$5.

See notes to Criminal Cases chart in Chapter 1 for these fee types.

Increased from $3 to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased from $19 to $20 on July 1, 2012.

If the county has an approved plan from the Judicial Conference of Indiana, the
clerk shall collect from the party filing a petition for legal separation, paternity or
dissolution of marriage a fee of $20.

Total is $204 if office is collecting the sheriff’s service of process fee of $28.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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Fee Type
Civil Filing Fee
Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

Court Administration Fee

Civil Action Service Fee

Additional Garnishee Defendants
Service Fee

Pro Bono Services Fee

Alternative Dispute Resolution Fee

Total Civil Fees

8 Filing Fees/Costs for Civil Cases

Code Citation
IC 33-37-4-4(a)
IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-21.2
IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-27
IC 33-37-5-28

IC 33-37-5-28

IC 33-37-5-31
IC 33-23-6-1

Fee Amount

$100.00
$5.00
$20.00

$5.00
$1.00
$20.00
$5.00

$1.00

$157.00

Other Information

Beginning July 1, 2015, the document storage fee increased to $5 (from $2).

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all actions
other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The automated
record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs remains

$5.
Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $20 on July 1, 2012.

The clerk shall collect from the party filing the civil action, a service fee of $10 for
each additional defendant named other than the first named defendant. The clerk
shall collect from any party adding a defendant, a service fee of $10. This does not
apply to an action in which the service is made by publication in accordance with
Indiana Trial Rule 4.13 or actions filed using the Indiana electronic filing system.

Add a $10 fee per garnishee defendant in excess of 3 whether named or added.
This does not apply to an action in which service is made by publication in
accordance with Indiana Trial Rule 4.13 or actions filed using the Indiana electronic
filing system.

If the county has an approved plan from the Judicial Conference of Indiana, the
clerk shall collect from the party filing a petition for legal separation, paternity or
dissolution of marriage a fee of $20.

Total is $185 if office is collecting the sheriff’'s service of process fee of $28.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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Fee Type
Small Claims Filing Fee

Small Claims Service Fee

Small Claims Garnishee Service Fee

Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

Pro Bono Services Fee

Court Administration Fee

Total Small Claims Fees

Code Citation

IC 33-37-4-6
IC 33-37-4-6

IC 33-37-4-6

IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-21.2

IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-31
IC 33-37-5-27

Fee Amount
$35.00
$10.00

$5.00
$20.00

$5.00
$1.00
$15.00
$1.00
$5.00
$97.00

9 Filing Fees/Costs for Small Claims Cases

Other Information

$10 fee assessed for each named defendant, including the first named
defendant, who is not a garnishee defendant. The fee is collected from the
party adding the named defendant. This fee may not be assessed in an action
filed using the Indiana electronic filing system.

Add a $10 fee per garnishee defendant in excess of 3 whether named or added.
This fee may not be assessed in an action filed using the Indiana electronic filing
system.

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all
actions other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The
automated record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral
programs remains $5.

Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $15 on July 1, 2012.

Total is $87.00 if filed using the Indiana electronic filing system.
An additional $28 would be added if service by sheriff is requested.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in this case type. Other fees may be assessed.

A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk
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10 Filing Fees/Costs for Small Claims Cases

Fee Type Code Citation Fee Amount Other Information

Filing Fee + Township Docket Fee IC 33-34-8-1(a)(1) and 33-34-8-1(b) $37.00

Service of Process Fee (certified mail or  1C 33-34-8-1(a)(2) or 33-34-8-1(a)(3) $15.00 The plaintiff may choose service by certified mail or
personal service) personal service. Fee is assessed per service.
Document Storage Fee IC 33-37-5-20; 33-34-8-1(a)(6) $5.00

Automated Record Keeping Fee IC 33-37-5-21; 33-34-8-1(a)(7) $20.00 The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on

July 1, 2017 for all actions other than pretrial diversion
programs and deferral programs. The automated record
keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral
programs remains $5.

Public Defense Administration Fee IC 33-37-5-21.2; 33-34-8-1(a)(9) $5.00 Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee IC 33-37-5-25; 33-34-8-1(a)(10) $1.00

Judicial Salaries Fee IC 33-37-5-26; 33-34-8-1(a)(11) $15.00 Increased to $15 on July 1, 2012.
Pro Bono Services Fee IC 33-37-5-31; 33-34-8-1(a)(13) $1.00

Court Administration Fee IC 33-37-5-27; 33-34-8-1(a)(12) $5.00

Total Small Claims Fees $102.00

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in these case types. A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to
Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk 10
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Fee Type

Probate Costs Fee
Document Storage Fee

Automated Record Keeping Fee

Public Defense Administration Fee
Judicial Insurance Adjustment Fee
Judicial Salaries Fee

Pro Bono Services Fee

Court Administration Fee

Total Probate Fees

11 Filing Fees/Costs for Probate Cases

Code Citation
IC 33-37-4-7(a)
IC 33-37-5-20
IC 33-37-5-21

IC 33-37-5-21.2
IC 33-37-5-25
IC 33-37-5-26
IC 33-37-5-31
IC 33-37-5-27

Fee Amount

$120.00
$5.00
$20.00

$5.00
$1.00
$20.00
$1.00
$5.00

$177.00

Other Information

The automated record keeping fee increased to $20 on July 1, 2017 for all actions
other than pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs. The automated
record keeping fee for pretrial diversion programs and deferral programs remains

$5.
Increased to $5 on July 1, 2011.

Increased to $20 on July 1, 2012.

Total is $205 if office is collecting the sheriff’s service of process fee of $28.

These are only the fees/costs most commonly assessed in these case types. A complete list of all fees/costs can be found in Chapter 12 Alphabetical Guide to

Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk

11



Fee/Cost/Fine

Adult Probation
User and
Administration
Fees

12 Alphabetical Guide to Fees/Costs Assessed by a Court or Clerk

Citation

35-38-2-1;
35-38-2-
1.5; 9-30-9-
9

Fee Amount

Misdemeanor
- Initial User's
Fee $50 or
less; Monthly
User's Fee $10
- $20;
Administrative
Fee $50
Felony - Initial
User's Fee $25
- $100;
Monthly User's
Fee $15 - $30;
Administrative
Fee $100

Assessment Notes:

Assessed to adults
convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor and placed
on probation. Court has
option/discretion to
require payment of the
misdemeanor probation
user and administrative
fees but must impose
felony probation user and
administrative fees. A
person placed on
probation for more than
one crime may be
required to pay more
than one initial probation
user's fee however he/she
cannot be required to pay
more than one monthly
probation user's fee. A
court may order a person
to pay probation user
fees that exceed the
statutory maximumes if
that person was placed
on probation in another
state and moved or
transferred to Indiana; the
other state allows a
higher probation user’s
fee than Indiana’s
maximum, and the
probation user’s fees the
Indiana court orders the
person to pay does not
exceed the maximum

State

County

100%

Local

Distribution Notes:

Distributed to County Supplemental Adult Probation Services
Fund however if these fees are collected by the clerk of a city
or town court or the probation department of a city or town
and the city or town has an adult probation services program,
then the fees are transferred to the fiscal officer for deposit
to the Local Supplemental Adult Probation Services Fund.
The clerk collecting these fees may keep up to 3% of the fee
amount to defray the administrative costs of collecting the
fee. This 3% is deposited in the Clerk Record Perpetuation
Fund. The clerk may also be asked to transfer an additional
3% of this fee to the County or Local General Fund
depending upon the requesting fiscal officer.

12
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Alcohol Abuse
Deterrent Program
Fee and Medical
Fee

Alcohol and Drug
Countermeasures
Fee (AK A
Countermeasures
Fee)

Citation Fee Amount

33-37-5-11;  Alcohol abuse

9-30-9 deterrent
program fee
many not
exceed $400;
Medical fee
may not
exceed $150

9-30-5;33-  $200
37-5-10;
33-37-4-
1(b)(6); 33-
37-7-
2(b)(2); 33-
37-7-
2(c)(2); 33-
37-4-
2(b)(4); 33-
37-4-
3(b)(5); 5-2-
11; 33-37-
9-4;9-27-
2-11;9-21-
8-50; 9-21-
8-52; 7.1-5-
1-3; 7.1-5-
1-6

Assessment Notes:

amount allowed in the
other state.

The probation
department shall collect
an alcohol abuse
deterrent program fee
and a medical fee set by
the court under IC 9-30-
9-8 in actions in a court in
a county that has
established a program
under IC 9-30-9 (Circuit
Court Alcohol Abuse
Deterrent Programs).

The clerk shall collect an
Alcohol and Drug
Countermeasures Fee in
each action in which a
person is found to have
committed an OVWI
offense or a person who
has be adjudicated a
delinquent for an act that
would be an OVWI if
committed by an adult
AND the person's driving
privileges are suspended
by the court or the BMV
as a result of the finding.
This fee is also charged as
a part of some plea
agreements involving
OVWI offenses.

State

25%

County

100%

75%

Distribution Notes:

The probation department shall deposit these fees into the
Supplemental Adult Probation Services Fund. Monies in a
Supplemental Probation Services Fund may be used only to
supplement probation services and to supplement salaries for
probation officers and may not be used to replace other
funding of probation services. See IC 35-38-2-1(h).

25% is deposited in the State User Fee Fund and 75% is
deposited in the County Drug Fee Community Fund. The
county auditor administers this fund. Each year the county
fiscal body appropriates from the fund amounts allocated by
the county legislative body for the use of persons,
organizations, agencies and political subdivisions to carry out
recommended actions by the local coordinating council and
approved by the Commission for a Drug Fee Indiana. See IC
5-2-11-5.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Alcohol and Drug
Services Program
Fee

Alternative Dispute
Resolution Fee
(A K A ADR Fee)

Citation
33-37-5-
8(b); 12-23-
14-16; 33-
37-8-
5(b)(4); 33-
37-8-
3(b)(2); 33-
37-4-
1(b)(3); 33-
37-4-
2(b)(2)
33-23-6-1;
33-26-6-2

Fee Amount

Set by court
rule and may
not exceed
$400

$20

Assessment Notes: State

This fee is collected in
criminal, infraction and
ordinance violation cases
in a county that has
established an alcohol
and drug services
program. The fee is
collected by a schedule
adopted by the court
(including city and town
courts).

Collected in each legal
separation, paternity or
dissolution of marriage
actions filed under IC 31
in counties participating
in the Alternative Dispute
Resolution Plan
authorized by the Judicial
Conference of Indiana.

County Local

100% 100%
or

100%

Distribution Notes:

Deposited into the County or Local User Fee Fund depending
on court collecting. Upon receipt of monthly claims
submitted under oath to the fiscal body by the Alcohol and
Drug Services Program the fiscal body shall appropriate the
amount collected to the Alcohol and Drug Services Program.

Distributed to the county Alternative Dispute Resolution
Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Automated Record

Keeping Fee

Bail Bond Fee

Bond

Administration Fee

Citation

33-37-5-21;
33-34-8-
1(@)(7); 33-
34-8-
3(b)(1)(A);
33-37-7-
2(a); 33-37-
7-2(b)(7)
and (m);
33-37-7-
8(d)(5); 33-
37-5-
2(a)(5); 33-
37-7-8(a);
33-37-4-
1(b)(12);
33-37-4-
2(b)(9); 33-
37-4-2(e);
33-37-4-
1(c); 33-37-
4-3(b)(7);
33-37-4-
4(b)(4); 33-
37-4-
6(b)(3); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(3); 33-
24-6-12;
33-37-9-4

35-33-8-
3.2(d)

35-33-8-
3.2(a)(2)

Fee Amount

The
automated

record keeping

fee increased
to $20 on July
1, 2017 for all
actions other
than pretrial
diversion
programs and
deferral

programs. The

automated

record keeping

fee for pretrial
diversion
programs and
deferral
programs
remains $5.

$5

10% of the
value of the
cash bond or
$50 whichever
is less

Assessment Notes:

Collected in all case types.

Collected on all
admissions to bail on a
surety, property, or cash
deposit bond.

This is an administrative
fee charged by the clerk
when a defendant
executes a cash bond.
This fee may be retained

State
100%

100%

County
0%

100%
or

Local

100%

Distribution Notes:

Deferral and Pre-trial Diversion Cases: 100% of the
automated record keeping fees collected in deferral and
pretrial diversion cases should be distributed to the State for
deposit in the State Homeowner Protection Unit Account.

All Other Case types: 100% of the automated record
keeping fees collected in all other case types should be
distributed to the State for deposit in the State User Fee
Fund. As of May 7, 2015, counties using a case management
system other than Odyssey are no longer authorized to keep
a portion of the automated record keeping fee.

Distributed to Public Employees Retirement Fund.

Deposited in the County or Local General Fund depending on
the court collecting.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Child Abuse
Prevention Fee

Child Restraint
System Violation
Fine

Civil Action Service
Fee

Citation

33-37-5-12;
33-37-4-
1(b)(7); 33-
37-7-
2(b)3)

9-19-11

33-37-5-
28(b)(1);
33-37-7-
2(); 33-37-
4-4(b)(9)

Fee Amount

$100

varies

$10 for each
additional
defendant
added after
the first
named
defendant in
the case

Assessment Notes: State County Local

regardless of the
disposition of the case.

Assessed against a 100%
defendant who is found

guilty of certain criminal

offenses against the

person (listed in I.C. 33-
37-5-12(1)) and the victim

is less than 18 years of

age.

Judgments collected for 100%
violations of IC 9-19-11
Passenger Restraint

Systems for Children.

The plaintiff in a civil 100% 100%
action pays this fee when or
other civil costs are paid,

if applicable. When

defendants file cross

complaints and name

additional defendants

(including third party

defendants) beyond the

original plaintiff, the

defendant/cross claimant

is also charged the Civil

Action Service Fee. This

fee is not collected when

service is made by

publication in accordance

with Indiana Trial Rule

4.13 or in actions filed

using the Indiana

electronic filing system.

Distribution Notes:

As of 7/1/2012, 100% of the fee is deposited to the State
User Fee Fund.

Distributed to the State Child Restraint System Account
established within the State General Fund.

Distributed to County General Fund or Local General Fund
depending on court collecting.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Civil Garnishee
Defendant Service
Fee

Civil Penalties for
Local Ordinance
Violations

Court
Administration Fee

Citation Fee Amount

33-37-5-
28(b)3);
33-37-5-
28(b)(4);
33-37-4-
4(b)(10);
33-37-7-
2(k)

$10 per
additional
garnishee
added in
excess of three
garnishees

34-28-5-
4(e); 34-28-
5-1(i); 36-1-
3-8

33-37-5-27, $5
33-34-8-
1@)(12);
33-34-8-
3(b)(M(C);
33-34-8-
3(c); 33-37-
4-1(b)(18);
33-37-4-
2(b)(14);
33-37-4-
4(b)(8); 33-
37-4-
6(b)(7); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(7); 33-
37-7-
2(h)(4); 33-

varies

Assessment Notes:

Collected from the party
filing the civil action for
each garnishee named in
excess of three
garnishees. When a
garnishee is added in
excess of three
garnishees, this fee is
collected from the party
adding the additional
garnishee(s). This fee is
not collected when
service is made by
publication in accordance
with Indiana Trial Rule
4.13 orin actions filed
using the Indiana
electronic filing system.

These are judgments for
local ordinance violations.

Collected in each action
in which a person is
convicted of an offense,
required to pay a pretrial
diversion fee, found to
have committed an
infraction or found to
have violated an
ordinance and in each
small claims action.

State County Local
100% 100%
or
100% 100%
or

100% 0% or

or 60% 40%

Distribution Notes:

Depending on court collecting, this fee is distributed to
County or Local General Fund.

Deposited to the County or Local General Fund depending
on whether the ordinance is countywide or a city/town
ordinance.

All courts, except Marion County Township Courts, distribute
this fee to the State General Fund. Marion County Township
Courts distribute 60% to the State General Fund and 40% to
the township trustee to fund operations of the township
small claims court.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation Fee Amount
37-7-
8(9)(3)
Court Costs 33-37-4- $120 felony or
(except Marion 1(a); Rule misdemeanor;

County Township PC1 $70 infraction

Courts) section 2; or ordinance
33-37-4- violation; $120
2(a); 33-37-  juvenile
4-3(a); 33- actions
37-4-6;33-  (including
37-4-7(a); CHINSs,
33-37-7- delinquency
2(a)(1); 33- and paternity);
37-7- $100 civil
4(a)(1); 33- actions (some
37-7- civil actions
6(a)(1); 33- are exempted);
37-7-8 $35 small

claims (except
for Marion
County
Township
Courts); $120
probate/trust
cases

Assessment Notes: State County Local

Court costs are charged 70%or 27%or 3%or
upon conviction for 55% 20% 25%
felony or misdemeanor,

charged upon judgment

for infraction or ordinance

violation; and upon filing

for civil actions, small

claims and probate/trust

cases.

Distribution Notes:

Court costs collected in the circuit and superior courts are
distributed to the State, County, and Local General Funds in
the following percentages: 70%, 27% and 3%. If court costs
are collected in city or town courts they are distributed to the
State, County, and Local General Funds in the following
percentages: 55%, 20% and 25%.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Court Costs for
Marion County
Township Courts

Deferral Program
Fee (assessed in
deferral programs
for infractions and
ordinance
violations)

Citation

33-34-8-

1(a)(1); 33-
34-8-1(b);
33-34-8-3;
33-37-4-2

34-28-5-
1(g); 34-28-
5-1(h); 33-
37-4-
2(c)(3); 33-
37-4-2(e);
33-37-7-
2(a); 33-37-
7-8(a); 33-
37-8-
3(b)(4); 33-
37-8-
5(b)(6); 33-
37-8-5(c);
4-6-12-9;
33-37-8-
4(b); 33-37-
8-6(b)

Fee Amount

$37

The initial
user's fee may
not exceed
$52 and the
monthly fee
may not
exceed $10.
The monthly
fee is charged
each month
the defendant
remains in the
deferral
program.

Assessment Notes: State County Local

A township docket fee of 100%
$5 plus 45% of the court

costs fee from 33-37-4-2

foran

infraction/ordinance

violation case (currently

$70) rounded up to the

nearest whole dollar.

This fee is assessed in lieu 100% 100%
of standard court costs or
and judgments when the
county prosecutor or
municipal attorney has
established a deferral
program for infractions
and ordinance violations.
The defendant may be
charged an initial user's
fee and a monthly user's
fee. The initial and
monthly user's fees are
collectively referred to as
the Deferral Program Fee.
In addition, if the action
involves a moving traffic
violation, the defendant is
also assessed a court cost
of $70. The court must
assess the $5 Automated
Record Keeping Fee in all
deferral program cases.
Deferral programs are not
available to offenses
under IC 9-24-6 involving
the operation of a
commercial motor
vehicle.

Distribution Notes:

This fee is distributed to the township trustee monthly.

The Deferral Program Fee (initial and monthly user's fees) is
deposited in the County or City/Town User Fee Fund
depending on the court collecting. The county auditor is
directed to deposit $2 of each Deferral Program Fee to the
Jury Pay Fund. Funds derived from a deferral or pretrial
diversion program may be disbursed only by the adoption of
an ordinance appropriating the finds for the specific
purposes defined in IC 33-37-8-4(b) and these funds may
only be used in accordance with guidelines adopted by the
prosecuting attorneys council under IC 33-39-8-5.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Deferred
Prosecution Fee
(assessed in
pretrial diversion
programs for
certain
misdemeanors,
level 6 and level 5
felonies see 33-39-
1-8)

DNA Sample
Processing Fee

Document Fee

Fee Amount

$120

Citation

33-37-5-17;
33-39-1-§;
33-37-7-
2(a)(7); 33-
37-7-
4(a)(7); 33-
37-7-
6(a)(7); 33-
37-7-
8(a)(5),
(b)(5), and
(©)(5); 33-
39-1-8(d);
33-39-1-
8(h); 33-37-
4-1(b)(10)

33-37-5- $3
26.2; 33-37-
7-2(h)3);
33-37-4-
1(b)(19);
33-37-4-
2(b)(15);
33-37-7-
8(9)(2); 33-
37-7-
9(b)(9); 10-
13-6-9.5

33-37-5-1;
33-37-5-3;
33-37-5-4;
33-37-5-5

prepare a
transcript or
copy of any
record; $3 per
certificate; $3
to record
transcript of
judgment

not more than
$1 per page to

Assessment Notes:

This fee is assessed in lieu
of standard court costs
when the county
prosecutor or municipal
attorney has established a
pretrial diversion
program. The defendant
must be charged a
mandatory Deferred
Prosecution Fee of $120.
The defendant must also
me charged the
Automated Record
Keeping Fee and may be
assessed Pretrial
Diversion Program Fees.

Collected from anyone
convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor, found to
have committed an
infraction or ordinance
violation or required to
pay a Pretrial Diversion
Fee.

Several different
document fees may be
assessed. A document
fee may be charged for
preparing a transcript or a
copy of any record; to
authenticate (certify
under seal) a copy of any
record, paper, or
transcript; or to
prepare/record a
transcript of any

State County Local
70%or  27%or 3%or
55% 20% 25%
100%
100% 100%
or

Distribution Notes:

The Deferred Prosecution fee is distributed to the
State/County/Local General Funds in the following
percentages 70%/27%/3% if assessed in a circuit or superior
court or 55%/20%/25% if assessed in a city/town court.

Distributed to State General Fund for deposit to the DNA
Sample Processing Fund.

Any Document Fee collected for preparing a transcript or

copy of any record should be deposited in the Clerk’s Record

Perpetuation Fund IC 33-37-5-2(a)(6). All other Document
Fees should be deposited to County or Local General Fund
depending on collecting court.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Document Storage
Fee

Domestic Violence
Prevention and
Treatment Fee

Citation

33-37-5-20,
33-37-5-
2(a)(2); 33-
34-8-
1(a)(6); 33-
34-8-
3(b)(2); 33-
37-4-
1(b)(11);
33-37-4-
2(b)(8); 33-
37-4-
3(b)(6); 33-
37-4-
4(b)(3); 33-
37-4-
6(b)(2); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(2)

33-37-5-13;
33-37-7-
2(b)(4); 33-
37-4-
1(b)(8)

Fee Amount

$5

$50

Assessment Notes:

judgment to become a
lien on real estate.

Collected in all civil,
criminal, juvenile, probate,
infraction, ordinance
violation, and small claims
actions including small
claims actions in a Marion
County Township Court.

Beginning July 1, 2015,
the document storage fee
increased to $5 (from $2)
in all civil, criminal,
infraction and ordinance
violation cases.

Collected in criminal
actions in which the
defendant is found guilty
of murder, causing
suicide, voluntary
manslaughter, reckless
homicide,
battery/domestic battery,
strangulation, or rape and
the victim is the
defendant's spouse,
former spouse, living as if
the defendant’s spouse,
or if the victim has a child
in common with the
defendant. This fee is
sometimes referred to as
the "Family Violence Fee".

State County Local
100% 100%
or

100%

Distribution Notes:

Deposited to County Clerk Record Perpetuation Fund or
Local Clerk Record Perpetuation Fund depending on
collecting court.

Distributed to State User Fee Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation
Drug Abuse, 34-48-4;
Prosecution, 33-37-4-
Interdiction, and 1(b)(5); 33-
Correction Fee 37-5-9; 33-
37-7-
2(b)(1); 33-
37-7-
2(c)(1); 5-2-
11-2; 35-
48-4
Emergency 9-30-5-17;
Medical Services 16-31-8
Restitution Fee
Fines and Indiana
Forfeitures Constitutio
n Article 8
section 2
Guardian Ad 31-15-6-10;
Litem/Court 31-15-6-11;
Appointed Special ~ 31-17-6-9
Advocate

(GAL/CASA) User
Fee in Dissolution
or Legal
Separation Actions

Fee Amount

at least $200
but not more
than $1,000

Not to exceed
$1,000

varies

No amount
specified by
statute

Assessment Notes: State County Local

All courts, including 25% 75%
city/town courts, must
assess this fee of at least
$200 but not more than
$1,000 against a person
convicted of a controlled
substance offense. The
court must consider the
person's ability to pay
when determining the
amount of the fee.

Assessed in 100%
felony/misdemeanor

convictions under IC 9-

30-5 (OVWI). For

emergency medical

services necessitated due

to the offense.

Fines and forfeitures are 100%
assessed in criminal

convictions.

Court may order either or 100%
both parents of a child for
whom a GAL/CASA is
appointed in a dissolution
or legal separation action
to pay this user fee. The
court may order this fee
paid to the clerk or
directly to the GAL or
CASA program that
provided the services or
to the individual or
attorney GAL that
provided the services.

Distribution Notes:

25% is deposited in the State User Fee Fund and 75% is
deposited in the County Drug Free Community Fund. The
county auditor administers this fund. Each year the county
fiscal body appropriates from the fund amounts allocated by
the county legislative body for the use of persons,
organizations, agencies, and political subdivisions to carry out
recommended actions by the local coordinating council and
approved by the Commission for a Drug Fee Indiana. See IC
5-2-11-5.

Distributed to the Emergency Medical Services Restitution
Fund.

All fines and forfeitures are deposited in the State Common
School Fund.

If this fee is paid to the clerk it is deposited in the county GAL
or County CASA fund. The fiscal body of the county
appropriates money from these funds to a court having
jurisdiction over custody actions for the court's use in
providing GAL/CASA services including the costs of
representation.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Guardian Ad
Litem/Court
Appointed Special
Advocate
(GAL/CASA) User
Fee in Juvenile
Actions

Highway Worksite
Zone Fee

Informal
Adjustment
Program Fee

Infraction
Judgment
Collections

Citation

31-40-3-1;
31-40-3-2

33-37-5-14;
33-37-7-
2(b)(5); 33-
37-4-
1(b)(9); 33-
37-4-
2(b)(5); 33-
37-7-
2(b)(5); 33-
37-7-
8(d)3); 9-
21-5-2; 9-
21-5-3; 9-
21-8-75

31-37-9-9;
31-37-9-10;
33-37-8-
5(b)2)

34-28-5-
5(c); 34-28-
5-4(h); 34-
28-5-5(e)

Fee Amount

Not to exceed
$100

$0.50 or
$25.50

A monthly fee
of at least $5
but no more
than $15

varies

Assessment Notes: State County Local

The Juvenile division of 100%
the trial court may order

the parent or estate of a

child for whom a

guardian ad litem or a

special advocate is

appointed to pay up to

$100 for the service.

The clerk must collect a 100%
fifty-cent ($.50) Highway
Worksite Zone Fee in
each traffic offense,
including traffic
infractions,
misdemeanors, and
ordinance violations. If
the offense involves
exceeding a worksite
speed limit or failure to
merge properly in the
work zone AND the judge
orders to the clerk to
collect the fee for
exceeding a worksite
speed limit or failure to
merge, the fee is $25.50.

Assessed in lieu of 100%
juvenile court costs for

each month a child

participates in a Program

of Informal Adjustment.

Judgments collected for 100% special
cases in which a statute
defendant is found to for

have committed an Marion
infraction that has County

statewide applicability.

Distribution Notes:

The money is paid to the county probation department which
deposits the fee to either the County GAL or County CASA
fund, depending upon the appointment. The fiscal body of
the county appropriates money from these funds to county
juvenile courts allowing them to provide GAL/CASA services.

Distributed to State User Fee Fund.

Collected by the probation department and transferred to the
county auditor for deposit to County User Fee Fund.

In most cases these funds are deposited in the State General
Fund however there are exceptions such as worksite speed
limit judgments, child restraint violations and youth tobacco
civil penalties. Marion County must deposit infraction
judgment collections for traffic violations in a dedicated non-
reverting county fund used to pay county commissioners
appointed under 33-33-49 and for Marion County's guardian
ad litem program.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Interstate
Probation Transfer
Fee

Intra-state
Probation Transfer
Fee

Judicial Insurance
Adjustment Fee

Fee Amount

$125

Citation

11-13-4.5-4

Indiana $75
Rules of

Criminal
Procedure

2.3(D)

33-37-5-25; $1
33-34-8-
1(@)(10);
33-34-8-
3(b)(M)(D);
33-37-4-
1(b)(16);
33-37-4-
2(b)(12);
33-37-4-
3(b)(10);
33-37-4-
4(b)(6); 33-

Assessment Notes: State County Local

50% or 50% or
100% 0%

An Indiana offender or
delinquent child on
probation or parole who
applies to be transferred
out of state under the
Interstate Compact for
Adult Offender
Supervision or Interstate
Compact for Juveniles
must pay a fee of $125 to
the county probation
department (if on
probation) or the
department of correction
(if on parole).

A probationer who 100%
applies to have
supervision transferred
from one county to
another within the State
of Indiana pays a $75
transfer fee to the
receiving court. The
receiving court may waive
this fee if the offender is
indigent.

Collected in all actions. 100%

Distribution Notes:

The fees collected by probation shall be transferred to the
county treasurer who will deposit 50% in the County
Offender Transportation Fund. The remaining 50% shall be
transmitted to the Indiana Supreme Court for deposit in the
general fund to be used to cover the cost of administering
the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision and
the Interstate Compact for Juveniles. The fees collected by
the department of correction shall be deposited in the
general fund to be used to cover the cost of administering
the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision and
the Interstate Compact for Juveniles.

This fee is deposited in the receiving county’s Supplemental
Adult Probation Services Fund.

Distributed to state auditor for deposit to the state general
fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Judicial Salaries
Fee

Jury Fee

Citation

37-4-
6(b)(5); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(5); 33-
37-1-1; 33-
37-7-2(i);
33-37-7-
8(h); 33-38-
5-8.2

33-37-5-26;
33-34-8-
1@)(11);
33-34-8-
3(b)(1)(E);
33-37-4-
1(b)(17);
33-37-4-
2(b)(13);
33-37-4-
3(b)(11);
33-37-4-
4(b)(7); 33-
37-4-
6(b)(6); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(6); 33-
37-7-
2(h)(2); 33-
37-7-8(i);
33-37-1-1

33-37-5-19;
33-37-4-
2(b)(7); 33-
37-8-5; 33-
37-8-8; 33-
37-11-2

Fee Amount Assessment Notes: State County
$15 for small This fee is imposed in all 100%

claims action cases to support judicial or 75%
including small  salaries for the court.

claims actions

filed in a

Marion County

Township

Court, $20 for

all other

actions

$2 Collected in each action 100%

in which a defendant is
found to have committed
a crime, violated a statute
defining an infraction or
violated an ordinance of a
municipal corporation.
City courts can conduct

Local

0% or
25%

Distribution Notes:

Circuit and superior courts distribute 100% to the State
General Fund however city, town and township courts may
retain 25% and distribute the remainder to the State General
Fund. The 25% retained by the city and town courts is used
to fund court operations. The 25% retained by a township
court is deposited in the Township General Fund.

Distributed to the County User Fee Fund. If the clerk certifies
to a county fiscal body the amount of jury fees collected, the
county fiscal body will direct the auditor to transfer the
amount to the Jury Pay Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation Fee Amount
Juvenile Probation 31-40-2-1; Initial User's
User's Fees 31-40-2- Fee $25 -
1.5; 31-40- $100; Monthly
2-17 User's Fee $10
- $25 per
month;
Administrative
Fee $100

Assessment Notes: State County Local
jury trials and should

collect the jury fee.

A court may order a 100%

juvenile and/or the parent
of a juvenile who is
placed on supervision to
pay an initial user fee
from $25 to $100 and a
monthly user fee from
$10 to $25. Ifa
delinquent child is
supervised, the
administrative fee is $100,
which is collected before
the other probation user
fees. A delinquent child
placed on probation for
more than one delinquent
act may be required to
pay more than one initial
probation user’s fee;
however, he/she cannot
be required to pay more
than one monthly
probation user’s fee. A
court may order a person
to pay probation user
fees that exceed the
statutory maximumes if
that person was placed
on probation in another
state and moved or
transferred to Indiana; the
other state allows a
higher probation user’s

Distribution Notes:

These fees are deposited in the County Supplemental
Juvenile Probation Services Fund. The clerk may keep up to
3% to defray administrative costs (deposited in the Clerk
Record Perpetuation Fund). The clerk may also be asked to
transfer an additional 3%) of the Probation User Fee to the
County, City or Town General Fund depending upon the
requesting fiscal officer.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation Fee Amount

33-37-5-22;  $25
33-34-8-1;
33-37-4-
1(b)(13);
33-37-4-
2(b)(10);
33-37-4-
3(b)(8); 33-
37-5-
2(a)(3); 33-
37-7-2(d);
33-37-7-
8(H()

Late Payment Fee

Assessment Notes: State County Local

fee than Indiana’s
maximum, and the
probation user’s fees the
Indiana court orders the
person to pay does not
exceed the maximum
amount allowed in the
other state. A probation
department may petition
a court to impose or
increase a probation
user's fee if the financial
ability of the supervised
person changes while on
probation.

This fee is imposed if a 100% 100%
defendant, convicted of a or
criminal action, ordinance
violation, infraction
(including unlawfully
parking in a space
reserved for a person with
a physical disability; also
includes default
judgment, but may not be
assessed if defendant has
merely failed to appear),
or delinquent act, fails to
pay the costs, fines, or
civil penalties to the clerk
by the deadline set by the
court. A court can
suspend the late payment
fee if the court finds good
cause for failure to make
timely payment of the fee.
This fee of $25 must be
adopted by local rule.

Distribution Notes:

Deposited in the County or Local General Fund depending on
the collecting court; however, if the fee is collected by the
circuit court, a local ordinance may provide 40% of late fees
will be deposited in the Clerk Record Perpetuation Fund and
60% in the County General Fund. If the fee is collected by the
city or town court, disbursal is to the local general fund. If fee
is collected by Marion County Small Claims Court, disbursal is
to the township trustee.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation

27-10-2-
12(c) and
(i); 36-8-10-
12; 35-33-
14-5

Late Surrender Fee

Law Enforcement 33-37-5-
Continuing 8(c); 33-37-
Education Program  4-1(b)(4)
Fee and (d)(4);
33-37-4-
2(b)(3) and
(©)(2); 33-
37-8-
3(b)(3); 33-
37-8-
5(b)(5)

33-37-5-7;
35-48-4;
15-16-7-8;
33-37-8-
5(b)3)

Marijuana
Eradication
Program Fee

Fee Amount

The fee
amount is
based on the
number of
days it takes
for bail
agent/surety
to comply with
the court order
to surrender
defendant to
the court

$4

up to $300

Assessment Notes: State County Local

When a bonded
defendant fails to appear,
a late surrender fee based
on a percentage of the
value of the bond is
assessed against the bail
agent/surety.

100%

This fee is charged in 100% 100%
each action where a or

defendant is found to

have committed a crime

or violated a statute

defining an infraction or

violated an ordinance of a

municipal corporation.

This fee may be assessed 100%
by the court in any

conviction relating to a

controlled substance in a

county with a Weed

Control Board.

Distribution Notes:

50% is deposited in the Police Pension Trust Fund and 50% is
deposited in the County Extradition Fund.

This fee is deposited in the County or Local User Fee Fund
depending on the court collecting. The county or local law
enforcement agency may submit claims containing verified
statement of cause numbers for fees collected attributable to
the law enforcement efforts of that agency. These
statements are submitted to the county or local fiscal body.
Funds are ultimately deposited into the county or local Law
Enforcement Continuing Education Fund. This fund may only
be used for the purposes stated in IC 5-2-8-1 or IC 5-2-8-2.

This fee is deposited in the County User Fee Fund. Upon
receipt of monthly claims submitted under oath to the fiscal
body by the Weed Control Board, the fiscal body shall
appropriate the amount collected to the Marijuana
Eradication Program.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Pretrial Diversion
Program Fee
(assessed in
pretrial diversion
programs for
certain
misdemeanors,
level 6 and level 5
felonies see 33-39-
1-8)

Citation Fee Amount
33-39-1- $50 initial
8(d); 33-39-  user's fee for a
1-8(h); 33- misdemeanor
37-4-1(c); and $75 initial
33-37-4- user's fee for a
1(d); 33-37-  felony and $20
8-3(b)(1); monthly user's
33-37-8- fee. May also
5(b)(1); 33-  assess any
37-8-6(b); additional
33-37-8-7; program fee or
33-37-8- cost that is
4(b); 33-37-  reasonably
8-6(b); 33- related to the
37-4- person’s
1(b)(10); rehabilitation
33-37-7- and approved
2(a); 33-37- by the court.
7-8; 33-37-

5-17; 33-

37-7-

4(a)(7); 33-

37-7-

6(a)(7); 33-

37-4-

2(b)(6)

Assessment Notes:

This fee may be assessed
as part of a pretrial
diversion program
established by the county
prosecutor or municipal
attorney. The Pretrial
Diversion Fee consists of
a $50 initial user's fee for
a misdemeanor and $75
initial user's fee for a
felony and a $20 monthly
fee. The monthly fee is
assessed for each month
the accused remains in
the pretrial diversion
program and may not
collected beyond the max
length of the possible
sentence. The initial
user's fee and monthly
user's fee are collectively
referred to as the Pretrial
Diversion Fee (see IC 33-
37-4-1(c)). These fees may
be waived by the
prosecutor/municipal
attorney. The court must
assess the Deferred
Prosecution Fee and the
Automated
Recordkeeping Fee in
pretrial diversion cases.

State County Local
100% 100%
or

Distribution Notes:

Deposited in the County or Local User Fee Fund depending
on the court collecting. Pretrial Diversion Fees deposited in
the County User Fee Fund may ultimately be deposited in a
County Pretrial Diversion Program Fund if one has been
established. Funds derived from a deferral or pretrial

diversion program may be disbursed only by the adoption of

an ordinance appropriating the funds for the specific
purposes defined in IC 33-37-8-4(b) and these funds may
only be used in accordance with guidelines adopted by the
prosecuting attorneys council under IC 33-39-8-5.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Pretrial Services
Fees

Pro Bono Services
Fee

Problem Solving
Court Fee
(replaced the Drug
Court Fee and
Reentry Court Fee
in 2010)

Citation

35-33-8-3.3

33-37-5-31;
33-34-8-
1(@)(13);
33-34-8-
3(b)(1)(F);
33-37-4-
4(b)(12);
33-37-4-
6(b)(8); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(8); 33-
37-7-2(n);
33-37-7-8())

33-37-5-24;
33-23-16-
23; 33-37-
8-5(b)(8)

Fee Amount

initial: $25 to
$100; monthly:
$15 to $30;
administrative:
$100

$1

Administration
Fee not to
exceed $100;
Monthly Fee
not to exceed
$50

Assessment Notes:

Collected if the defendant
has a prior unrelated
conviction for any
offense, is charged with a
new offense, and is
placed under the
supervision of a
probation officer or
pretrial services agency.
Defendant must have the
ability to pay and the
court finds by clear and
convincing evidence that
the supervision is
necessary to ensure the
defendant's appearance
in court or the physical
safety of the community
or another person.

Effective July 1, 2012 and
ending June 30, 2022, this
fee is collected in each
civil action, small claims
action and probate action
that requires payment of
filing fees/costs.

This fee consists of the
monthly fee, the
administration fee and
any fees for problem
solving court services
adopted by local court
rule. The monthly fee can
vary by court provided

State

100%

County
100%

100%

Local

Distribution Notes:

The clerk may retain no more than 3% of this fee to defray
the administrative costs of collecting this fee. The clerk's
portion is distributed to the county auditor for deposit in the
County General Fund. The remainder of the fee is deposited
50% to County Supplemental Adult Probation Services Fund
and 50% to County Supplemental Public Defender Services
Fund.

Distributed semiannually to the state auditor for further
distribution to the Indiana Bar Foundation to be used by the
foundation to assist or establish approved pro bono legal
services programs.

Distributed to County User Fee Fund to be used to fund
problem solving court services under IC 33-23-16.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation Fee Amount

33-37-5- $5
21.2; 33-37-
1-1; 33-34-
8-1(a)(9);
33-34-8-
3(b)(1)(B);
33-37-4-
1(b)(15);
33-37-4-
2(b)(11);
33-37-4-
3(b)(9); 33-
37-4-
4(b)(5); 33-
37-4-
6(b)(4); 33-
37-4-
7(b)(4); 33-
37-7-
2(h)(1); 33-

Public Defense
Administration Fee

Assessment Notes: State County Local

the fee does not exceed
the $50 monthly
maximum set by the
Indiana Problem Solving
Courts Committee. The
administration fee may
not exceed $100 for initial
problem solving court
services. Problem solving
courts may also adopt
fees for other problem
solving court services
such as chemical testing
fees or transfer fees, by
local rule provided these
local fees are consistent
with the range of fees
established by the Board
of Directors of the Judicial
Conference of Indiana.

Collected in all case types. 100%

Distribution Notes:

Distributed to the State General Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Redocketing Fee
(Marion County
Township Courts
only)

Reimbursement of
Incarceration Costs

Citation

37-7-
8(9)(1)

33-34-8-
1(a)(5); 33-
34-8-3(a)

35-50-5-4;
36-2-13-15;
36-2-13-16

Fee Amount

$5

the lesser of
$30 per day or
the per diem
calculated by
the auditor

Assessment Notes:

This fee is assessed if a
claimant seeks to have a
previously closed or
dismissed case reopened
for a resolution.

If a county has enacted an
ordinance under 36-2-13-
15 this fee may be
ordered if a person is
sentenced for a felony or
misdemeanor and
detained in a county jail
for more than 72 hours.
This fee may not be
assessed if the defendant
is a member of a family
that makes less than
150% of the federal
income poverty level or if
the defendant has been
detained as a child
subject to the jurisdiction
of the juvenile court.

State County Local

100%

100%

Distribution Notes:

Distributed to township trustee monthly.

Distributed to the Nonreverting County Prisoner
Reimbursement Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation
Reimbursements 33-40-3-1,
to County or 35-33-7-6;
Municipality for 33-40-3-10;
Public Defense 33-40-3-6;
Expenditures 33-37-2-3;
35-33-8-3.2

Fee Amount

reimbursemen
t cannot
exceed the
amount
expended for
public defense
for that
defendant

Assessment Notes: State County Local

At the initial hearing, after 100% 100%
the defendant is declared or
indigent but able to pay
costs of representation,
the court shall order the
defendant to pay a fee of
$100 for a felony or $50
for a misdemeanor. A
court is not prohibited
from imposing the fee at
other stages in the
proceeding. See I.C. 35-
33-7-6. If the court finds
a convicted person is not
indigent, it shall order the
person to pay the entire
amount of costs at the
time sentence is
pronounced, at some
later date, or the person
may be ordered to pay
specified parts of the
costs at designated
intervals. The court may
suspend payment of costs
until the convicted person
has completed all or part
of the sentence. If the
court suspends payment
of costs, it must conduct
an indigency hearing at
the time costs are due.
See I.C. 33-37-2-3. The
court can also reduce
costs for defendants who
complete community
service. See |.C. 33-37-2-
3(i). The court can deduct
fines, costs, fees and
restitution upon
conviction, and the

Distribution Notes:

All statutes that require a defendant to reimburse a county
for public defense expenditures require the clerk to deposit
the monies received to the Supplemental Public Defender
Services Fund. All courts, other than city courts in Lake
County, must deposit these funds to the County
Supplemental Public Defender Services Fund. See I.C. 33-40-
3-1. Although a city court may have provided for an indigent
defendant’s representation out of its own budget, all city
courts, other than those in Lake County, must collect and
deposit the fee assessed under I.C. 35-33-7-6 and all other
reimbursements for public defense expenses to the County
Supplemental Public Defender Services Fund. Only Lake
County city courts are authorized by statute to have Local
Supplemental Public Defender Services Funds. See IC. 33-40-
3-10.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation

14-8-2-318;
14-22-40-7;
14-22-40-8;
33-37-5-
16(3); 14-
22-3-3(1);
14-22-3-4

Reimbursements
to Department of
Natural Resources

33-37-5-18;
33-37-7-
2(b)(6); 33-
37-7-
8(d)(4); 33-
37-7-8(f)(4)

Safe Schools Fee

Fee Amount

Amounts are
set by statute
and range
from $20 to
$1,000

$200 to $1,000
based on the
defendant's
ability to pay

Assessment Notes:

publicly paid costs of
representation regardless
of conviction from cash
bonds or the cash deposit
on a surety bond (but not
bail bonds or real estate
bonds), provided the
defendant or each person
who makes a deposit on
behalf of the defendant,
executes an agreement to
the attachment of the
bond upon disposition of
the case. Any amount
remaining after payment
of these costs is remitted
to the defendant or
person who made the
deposit on behalf of the
defendant. I.C. 35-33-8-
3.2

Three statutes (14-22-38-
4 Unlawful taking or
unlawful sale of deer or
wild turkey; 14-22-38-5
Unlawful taking of other
wild animals; 14-22-40-6
Unlawful shooting at law
enforcement decoys)
require a court to collect
reimbursement for the
DNR.

In each criminal action in
which a person is
convicted of an offense in
which the possession or
use of a firearm was an
element of the offense or
a person recklessly passes

State County Local
100%
75% 25% 25%*

Distribution Notes:

Distributed to the DNR funds established under 14-22.

Distributed to State User Fee Fund & County General Fund.

*Fees collected by a city or town court shall be distributed to

the city or town general fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Service of Process
Fee

Service of Process
Fee (civil actions
filed outside of
Indiana)

Service of Process
Fee (Marion
County Township
Courts)

Citation Fee Amount
33-37-5- $28

15(a); 36-8-

10-12; 33-

37-5-15(d)

33-37-5- $60

15(b); 36-8-

10-12; 33-

37-5-15(d)

33-34-8- $15 for service
1@)(2); or by certified
33-34-8- mail or $15 for
1(a)(3); 33- personal
34-6- service
4(b)(5); 33-

34-6-

Assessment Notes:

a school bus stopped with
signal device extended,
the court must assess a
Safe School Fee.

Collected from the person
requesting service of a
writ, an order, a process, a
notice, a tax warrant, or
any other paper by sheriff
May only be collected
one time per case for the
duration of the case,
however, the Sheriff is
allowed to collect one
additional service of
process fee of $28 per
case for any post
judgment service. Must
be collected by the clerk.

Collected from the person
requesting service by
sheriff in Indiana of a writ,
order, process, notice, tax
warrant, or any other
paper for a civil action
filed outside of Indiana.
This fee may only be
collected one time per
case for the duration of
the case and is collected
by the clerk.

The plaintiff in a small
claims action in a Marion
County Township Court
may choose service by
certified mail or personal
service and will only be

State County Local

100%

100%

Distribution Notes:

The clerk distributes this fee to the county auditor who will
deposit $1 from each fee collected into the clerk's record
perpetuation fund and the remaining $27 in the County
Pension Trust or County General Fund if there is no County
Pension Trust.

The clerk distributes this fee to the county auditor for deposit
in the County Pension Trust or County General Fund if there
is no County Pension Trust.

This fee is distributed to the constable or bailiff who executed
service.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation

4(b)(6); 33-
34-6-
4(b)(7)

Sexual Assault 33-37-5-23;

Victims Assistance 5-2-6-23(h);

Fee 33-37-4-
1(b)(14);
33-37-7-
2(e)

Small Claims

Garnishee 6(a)(1)(C);

Defendant Service 33-37-4-

Fee 6(a)(3); 33-
37-7-
2(9)(2); 33-
37-7-8(H)(3);
33-35-3-
9(c)

33-37-4-

Fee Amount

Effective July 1,
2014 the fee is
$500 to
$5,000. The
prior range
was $250 to
$1,000

$10 per
additional
garnishee
added in
excess of three
garnishees

Assessment Notes:

charged one $15 service
fee.

Collected on convictions
of rape, criminal deviate
conduct, child molesting,
child exploitation,
vicarious sexual
gratification, child
solicitation, child
seduction, sexual battery,
sexual misconduct with a
minor as a Class A or
Class B felony, incest,
promotion of human
labor trafficking,
promotion of human
sexual trafficking,
promotion of human
child sexual trafficking of
a minor, promotion of
sexual trafficking of a
younger child, child
sexual trafficking, or
human trafficking

Collected from the party
filing the small claims
action for each garnishee
named in excess of three
garnishees. When a
garnishee is added in
excess of three
garnishees, this fee is
collected from the party
adding the additional

garnishee(s). This fee may

not be assessed in an
action filed using the

State County Local
100%
100% 100%
or

Distribution Notes:

Distributed to the Sexual Assault Victims Assistance Account

within the State General Fund

Depending on court collecting, this fee is distributed to
County or Local General Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Small Claims
Service Fee

Special Death
Benefit Fee

Support and
Maintenance Fee

Vehicle License
Judgments
(Overweight
vehicle cases)

Citation

33-37-4-
6(a)(1)(B);
33-37-4-
6(a)(2); 33-
37-7-
2(9)(1); 33-
37-7-8(f)(2);
33-35-3-
9(c)

35-33-8-

3.2(a) and
(d); 5-10-
10-5(a)

33-37-5-6;
31-16-21-1;
33-37-4-
4(b)(2); 33-
37-7-2(f)

9-20-18-
12(f); 33-
37-5-16(2)

Fee Amount

$10 for each
additional
party added
after the first
named
defendant in
the case

$5

$55 for the
calendar year

varies

Assessment Notes:

Indiana electronic filing
system.

The plaintiff in a small
claims action pays this fee
when other civil costs are
paid. This fee may not be
assessed in an action filed
using the Indiana
electronic filing system.

Collected by the clerk or
sheriff at the time bail is
collected.

Applies to any action in
which a final court order
requires a person to pay
support or maintenance
payments through the
clerk or the State Central
Collection Unit. The clerk
may not deduct this fee
from a support or
maintenance payment.

Infraction judgments in
overweight vehicle cases.

State

100%

100%
or

100%

County

100%
or

100%

Local

100%

Distribution Notes:

Depending on court collecting, this fee is distributed to
County or Local General Fund.

This fee is forwarded to the county auditor for further
remittance to the Special Death Benefit Fund managed by the
trustees of the Public Employees' Retirement Fund.

Fees collected in non Title IV-D child support cases are
distributed to the county auditor. Fees from Title IV-D cases:
are distributed as follows: the designated percentage share
that is reimbursable to the county at the federal financial
participation rate is delivered to the county auditor and
money not reimbursable to the county shall be delivered to
the Office of the Secretary of Family and Social Services. The
fee goes to the County General Fund if collected by the
county clerk, or the State General Fund if collected by the
State Central Collection Unit.

Distributed to the State Highway Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine

Worksite Speed
Limit Judgments

Youth Tobacco
Civil Penalty

Citation Fee Amount

9-21-5-11; Judgments

8-23-2- range from

15(b) $300 to $1,000
depending on
whether the
person
charged with
the infraction
violation has
committed
prior
infractions of
violating a
speed limit
within the
previous three
years.

7.1-3-18.5-  varies

6(d); 7.1-3-

18.5-7; 7.1-

6-2-6; 7.1-

6-2-8; 24-

3-5-5; 24-

3-5-8; 35-

46-1-10;

35-46-1-

10.2; 35-46-

1-11.5; 35-

46-1-11.7;

Assessment Notes: State County Local

The Indiana Department 100%
of Transportation, the
Indiana Finance Authority,
or a local authority may
establish temporary
maximum speed limits in
their respective
jurisdictions and in the
vicinity of a worksite.
These temporary speed
limits must be at least 10
mph below the maximum
established speed limit,
cannot exceed 45 mph
and may only be enforced
if workers are present in
the immediate vicinity of
the worksite or if the
establishing authority
determines the safety of
the traveling public
requires enforcement.
The establishing authority
shall post signs notifying
the traveling public of the
temporary maximum
speed limits.

Civil penalty assessed 100%
most often for sale of

tobacco to minors but

there are other situations

in which this penalty is

assessed.

Distribution Notes:

The funds collected as judgments for the infraction of

violating a worksite speed limit are transferred to the Indiana

Department of Transportation to hire off duty police officers

to patrol highway work zones.

The clerk distributes these funds to the state auditor for
deposit to the Richard D. Doyle Youth Tobacco Education
and Enforcement Fund.
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Fee/Cost/Fine Citation Fee Amount Assessment Notes: State County Local Distribution Notes:

35-46-1-
11.8

13 Court Reporter Fees per Page

For the most current listing of court reporter fees, see http://courts.in.gov/admin/files/court-reporter-county-crfees.pdf
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