Indiana Supreme Court

In the Matter of the Appointment of Members to the Youth Justice Oversight Committee Supreme Court Case No. 23S-MS-113



Order Appointing Members to the Youth Justice Oversight Committee

The General Assembly has directed the Commission on Improving the Status of Children in Indiana to create a statewide juvenile justice oversight body (hereinafter "the Youth Justice Oversight Committee"). Ind. Code § 2-5-36-9(6). The enabling legislation authorizes the Chief Justice of Indiana to designate the chair of the Youth Justice Oversight Committee and to "make the initial appointments and designations to the . . . oversight body."

The Court designates Judge Dana J. Kenworthy as chair of the Youth Justice Oversight Committee to replace former Justice Steven H. David. The Court further appoints the following individuals to serve as members of the Youth Justice Oversight Committee:

Dr. Matthew Aalsma, Indiana University

Stephen Balko, Indiana Department of Education

Sirrilla Blackmon, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, Division of Mental Health and Addiction

Hon. Marshelle Dawkins Broadwell, Marion Superior Court 16

Shannon Chambers, Johnson County Probation and Probation Officers Advisory Board

Terrie Decker, Indiana Department of Correction

Hon. Darrin Dolehanty, Wayne Superior Court 3

Tracy Fitz, Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council

Mag. Caroline Foley, Allen Superior Court

Hon. Faith A. Graham, Tippecanoe Superior Court 3

Mary Kay Hudson, Indiana Office of Court Services

Hon. Ryan King, Ripley Circuit Court

Emily Krauser, Director of Community Programs, Indiana Housing and Economic Development Authority.

Devon McDonald, Indiana Criminal Justice Institute

Nicole Phillips, Bartholomew County Probation and the Probation Officers Professional Association of Indiana

Mag. Amy Richison, Huntington County Circuit and Superior Courts

Sarah Sailors, Deputy Director of the Indiana Department of Child Services

Nancy Wever, Indiana Office of Court Services, Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative

Joel Wieneke, Indiana Public Defender Council

Kia Wright, Voices Corporation

The Court thanks former Justice Steven H. David for his leadership in chairing the Youth Justice Oversight Committee and thanks Judge Vicki Carmichael and Eric Miller for their prior service on the Youth Justice Oversight Committee.

Done at Indianapolis, Indiana, on 10/17/2023.

Louis A. Ruch

Loretta H. Rush Chief Justice of Indiana