

NOTE: This form must be presented by the minor to the proper issuing officer before a certificate will be issued. For employer's protection, the minor must also present an acceptable proof of age to obtain an employment certificate. The hours the minor may work are shown below.

Name of minor (intend to employ)					Date (month, day, year)
Residential street address				City, state, and ZIP code	
Hours per day (approximate) Days of week (approximate)		Hours per week (approximate) Is minor on school		Is minor on school-d	lirected Vocational Education Program with your firm?
					☐ Yes ☐ No
List exact duties.					Type of business (restaurant, retail, etc.)
Name of business		Telephone number			Business e-mail
Business street address			City, state, and ZIP code		
Signature of employer's repres	Signature of minor			Signature of parent or guardian	
	l de la companya de				

# EMPLOYERS, PARENTS, AND MINORS! Know what hours minors may work!

### 14 and 15 year olds

The hours below reflect the more restrictive of Federal and State laws.

#### Your work permit allows you to work:

- 3 hours per school day
- 18 hours per school week
- 8 hours per non-school day

- 40 hours per non-school week
- No work before 7:00 AM or after 7:00 PM
  - Between June 1 and Labor Day until 9:00 PM, except nights before school

#### 16 year olds

### Your work permit allows you to work:

- 8 hours per day
- 30 hours per week
- No more than 6 days per week
- Not before 6:00 AM
- Until 10:00 PM

### With parental permission you may work:

- 9 hours per day
- 40 hours per school week
- 48 hours per non-school week
- Until 11:00 PM on nights followed by a school day
- Until 12:00 AM on nights not followed by a school day

# 17 year olds

## Your work permit allows you to work:

- 8 hours per day
- 30 hours per week
- No more than 6 days per week
- Not before 6:00 AM on school days
- Until 10:00 PM on nights followed by a school day
- No restricted end time on days not followed by a school day

#### With parental permission you may work:

- 9 hours per day
- 40 hours per school week
- 48 hours per non-school week
- Until 11:30 PM on nights followed by a school day, or
- Until 1:00 AM on nights followed by a school day
  - No more than twice per week; not consecutively

#### **PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS (UNDER 18)**

NO ONE UNDER THE AGE OF 18 MAY BE EMPLOYED IN ANY OCCUPATION DEEMED PROHIBITED UNDER THE CHILD LABOR PROVISIONS OF THE FEDERAL FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT.

PLEASE CHECK ADDITIONAL JOB AND HOUR RESTRICITONS IN FEDERAL LAW WITH THE WAGE AND HOUR OFFICE, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, NEAREST YOU.

For more information, contact Indiana Department of Labor, 402 W. Washington St., Rm. W195, Indianapolis, IN 46204. (Telephone: 317-232-2655 / TT Voice 1-800-743-3333) E-mail: <a href="mailto:childlabor@dol.in.gov">childlabor@dol.in.gov</a> Web: <a href="mailto:www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm">www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm</a>