CHAPTER THREE |

INDICATORS, WATERCRAFT, AND PARKING PLACARDS

ORGAN DONATION

If you choose to be an organ donor, a small heart will be printed on the front of your credential.

Under Indiana's Donor Choice Law, individuals 18 years of age and older may declare their intention to be organ donors and their family members cannot override their intention at the time of death. Individuals younger than 18 years of age may declare their intention with the permission of a parent or legal guardian, who must provide consent for donation at the time of a minor's death.



For more information about organ donation, please visit https://www.donatelifeindiana.org/

ACTIVE DUTY AND VETERAN MILITARY INDICATOR

If you are on active duty in the United States Armed Forces, you may choose to have an active-duty military indicator placed on your credential. To obtain the indicator, you must visit a BMV branch to provide your current Common Access Card (CAC) during your new issuance or renewal application.

If you are a veteran of the United States Armed Forces, you may choose to have a veteran indicator placed on your credential (provided you were not dishonorably discharged). To obtain the indicator, you must provide a DD 214 issued by the United States Department of Defense verifying your discharge. If you are the



surviving spouse of a veteran, you may choose to have an indicator placed on your credential.

If you are a surviving spouse of a deceased veteran, you may choose to have a veteran spouse indicator placed on your driver's license. To obtain the indicator, you must present proof of the veteran's discharge or separation, a marriage certificate, and a death certificate of the deceased veteran.

WATERCRAFT

Operating a Watercraft

Indiana law requires the operator of a watercraft with an engine that produces more than 10 horsepower to carry a valid driver's license.

If you are 15 years of age or older and do not have a driver's license, you may operate a watercraft only after successfully completing a boater education course approved by the Indiana Department of Natural Resources.

You must have a valid Indiana identification card in your possession at all times while operating a watercraft. Contact the Indiana Department of Natural Resources for more information about approved boater education courses.

If you are younger than 15 years of age, you may not operate a watercraft with an engine output of more than 10 horsepower.

If your driver's license is suspended, you may not operate a watercraft. If you operate your watercraft recklessly, while intoxicated, or break private watercraft laws, you may have points assessed against your driver record.

On Indiana boundary waters, Indiana residents operating a watercraft are required to carry an Indiana driver's license. Residents of other states are not required to carry a driver's license unless they are operating a watercraft in an embayment, river, or stream in Indiana.

PARKING PLACARDS

A parking placard allows the holder to use parking spaces designated for individuals with disabilities. The placard is available for individuals with a permanent or temporary disability as well as a person who has been issued or is otherwise eligible to receive a Disabled Hoosier Veteran (DHV) license plate. Also, any company empowered by the state or a political subdivision to operate programs, including the provision of transportation or facilities for persons with physical disabilities, may apply for a placard.

To apply for a parking placard, you must have a health care provider (e.g., a physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, advanced practice registered nurse, physician's assistant, optometrist or ophthalmologist) complete the Application for Disability Parking Placard or Disability Plate – State Form 42070 affirming that you qualify for a parking placard.

After you have completed State Form 42070, you may get a parking placard at any BMV branch or by mailing it to the address on the form.

Certification by a health care provider is not required when the person has received or is eligible to receive a Disabled Hoosier Veteran license plate.

If you have a permanent disability, your parking placard does not expire unless your health care provider certifies that the disability is no longer considered permanent or the Indiana Department of Veteran Affairs (IDVA) certifies that you are no longer a Disabled Hoosier Veteran. There is no fee for a permanent parking placard.

If you have a temporary disability, your parking placard expires on the date indicated by the health care provider or one year after the date of issuance, whichever occurs first. There is a fee for a temporary parking placard. Refer to IN.gov/BMV for more information.

A placard issued to a company expires on January 1 of the fourth year after the year that follows the date the placard was issued, or the date the company ceases to operate programs or facilities for persons with disabilities, whichever is sooner.

→ Use of an expired placard could result in a fine.

Parking in the diagonally striped space next to a reserved parking space is prohibited at all times, even with a valid placard.