

SCHOOL AND SPECIAL PURPOSE BUS

Title and Registration Application Checklist

All new title and registration applications for a school bus or special purpose bus are processed by BMV Central Office. Prior to submitting each application, verify the required information is included. Contact (888) 692-6841 with any questions.

When submitting paperwork, include the following:

Title Application Requirements

- Application for Certificate of Title for a Vehicle State Form 205
- D Proof of Ownership: manufacturer's certificate of origin or certificate of title
- □ Odometer statement completed on the ownership document or on an <u>Odometer Disclosure Statement State</u> Form 43230. All motor vehicles over 16,000 pounds are exempt.
- □ <u>Collection of Payment Information- State Form 56163</u>. Submit payment for the following vehicle title application fees and taxes. Payable by MasterCard or Visa, check, electronic check, or money order.
 - □ \$15 title application fee
 - □ \$30 additional administrative penalty will be assessed on a title application packet received 45 days after the purchase date.
 - □ \$25 speed title fee. This optional fee is in addition to the \$15 title application fee. Paying the optional speed title fee ensures that the title is processed in a period of time that is substantially shorter than the normal processing period.
 - □ If the vehicle is transferring ownership, include 7% sales tax of the purchase price or provide proof of sales tax paid on an <u>ST108 Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Paid State Form 48842</u>. If exempt from sales tax, include an <u>ST108E Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption –State Form 48841</u>.
- Vehicle color:

(List color on line)

- \Box Vehicle fuel type (select one):
 - □ Gasoline
 - Diesel
 - □ Hybrid
 - □ Electric
 - □ Other

Registration Application Requirements

- $\hfill\square$ Color of the bus and gross vehicle weight
- □ Insurance company name and policy number
- □ Proof of an approved <u>Report of Bus Inspection</u> completed by the Indiana State Police
- □ \$16.35 registration fee
- □ \$15.00 Transportation Infrastructure Fee

For your convenience, the required forms are hyperlinked in this checklist. The forms are also available at https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/. Mail this checklist and all completed forms to:

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles Central Office Title Processing 100 North Senate Avenue, Room N411 Indianapolis, IN 46204

If the BMV determines that sufficient credible evidence exists to substantiate the applicant's claim of ownership, a title/registration will be issued. If all required documents are not submitted or information is incomplete, the entire application will be returned.

Please include this checklist with your application.