Main Content


Motorcycle Skills Testing

Applicants must provide the motorcycle used for the motorcycle skills test and must wear a motorcycle helmet during the operational skills test.

The motorcycle skills test consists of several elements which measure an applicant’s basic control of the motorcycle and response to hazardous situations. The motorcycle skills test consists of the following actions:

  • Starting
  • Overall control
  • Cornering
  • Turning
  • Normal braking
  • Stopping at designated points
  • Cone weave
  • Left U-turn
  • Quick stop
  • Obstacle swerve (to simulate avoiding obstacles)

If you fail the motorcycle skills test, you must wait until the next day before taking the test again. If you fail three motorcycle skills tests while holding a motorcycle learner’s permit, you must wait two months from the date of the last failed skills test before taking the motorcycle skills test again.

Visit the Ride Safe Indiana website at www.ridesafeindiana.com for more information regarding motorcycle skills testing and to find a location near you.

Once you pass the motorcycle skills test, you will need to visit a BMV branch with your signed and stamped motorcycle permit to receive your motorcycle endorsement.

Still Have Questions? Contact the BMV