Header

  Close Menu

Main Content

Boat Titles

All boat not exempt from registration must be titled.

Learn more about registration-excepted boat

You must apply for a certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase or an administrative penalty will be charged.

  • If you are a new Indiana resident, you must apply for a certificate of title within 60 days of becoming an Indiana resident or an administrative penalty will be charged.

A certificate of title is required to be presented as proof of ownership. If a certificate of title cannot be provided, you must obtain a court order prior to applying for a certificate of title.

Download the Court Order Title Application Packet

The following boat title exemptions were removed from Indiana law effective July 1, 2016, and a boat meeting the following criteria must be titled prior to applying for a registration:

  • Boat purchased prior to January 1, 1986.
  • Homemade boat.
  • Boat valued under $3,000 when new.

A person who owns a boat that was exempt from the title requirements before July 1, 2016 is not required to apply for a certificate of title prior to selling the boat. The seller must provide a bill of sale to the purchaser.

Court Order Title Applications

If you are unable to establish ownership through any one of the available BMV title application processes, you must obtain a court order. Once you have received the court order, you may apply for a certificate of title through the BMV.

The Court Order Title Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify that all required information is included.

Download the Court Order Title Application Packet

Abandoned Boat Title Application

A marina operator may sell a boat that has been left without permission at the marina for more than six months and recover the operator’s reasonable maintenance, repair, dockage, storage, and other charges. Upon fulfilling the statutory obligations contained in IC 32-34-10, the marina operator may complete an Affidavit of Sale– Abandoned Boat - State Form 50634 to assign ownership to a purchaser without a certificate of title.

The Abandoned Boat Title Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify that all required information is included.

Download the Abandoned Boat Title Application Packet

Boat Used for Official Business Title and Registration Application

Title and registration applications for municipal corporations, including law enforcement, must be processed by the BMV Central Office.

The Boat Used for Official Business Title and Registration Application provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify that all required information is included.

Download the Boat Used for Official Business Title and Registration Application Packet

NON-RESIDENTS OF INDIANA

Out-of-State Boat Operated in Indiana

A boat is exempt from Indiana registration, excise tax, and fees if the boat is registered in another state and operated, used, or docked in Indiana for a combined total of fewer than 22 consecutive days in one year. If the boat will be operated, used, or docked in Indiana for more than 22 consecutive days, you must pay any required excise taxes and fees, including an out-of-state resident fee.

HIN APPLICATION

Application for Hull Identification Number (HIN)

All boat in Indiana must have a hull identification number (HIN) stamped or attached to the boat if operated on Indiana waterways. If the boat does not have an HIN, is assembled, or the HIN is changed, then an Application for Special Identification Number – Vehicle or Boat – State Form 12907 must be completed.

Applications for a special identification number are processed by the BMV Central Office. The Special Identification Number – HIN Boat Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application for title. Prior to submitting each application, verify that all required information is included.

Download the Special Identification Number – HIN Boat Application Packet

Indiana's Boating Laws

For information on Indiana boating laws see the Handbook of Indiana Boating Laws and Responsibilities located on the Indiana Department of Natural Resources website.

News and FAQs

Top FAQs