***UPDATED AUGUST 2015. PLEASE READ CAREFULLY ***

THE COMPLETED APPLICATION MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE LOCAL EXCISE
OFFICE AT LEAST FIVE (5) DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT. FAILURE TO DO SO WILL
RESULT IN DENIAL OF THE APPLICATION. If the event is within the next 5 days, you
may elect to seek the services of a license supplemental caterer. You may search for a licensed
supplemental caterer in your area using a link found here - Find a Caterer

A temporary permit is good for beer and wine only - not liquor. If you want to have liquor served
at your event, you must have a licensed alcoholic beverage caterer. A temporary permit is valid
for on premises consumption only. Carry-out sales are not permitted and persons are not allowed
to bring alcoholic beverages into a temporary function.

The fee is Fifty Dollars ($50) per day. The fee must be paid by business check, money order,
certified check or cashier’s check. Cash will only be accepted if the application is hand-delivered
to the ATC in Indianapolis.

In order to receive a temporary permit, you must submit the following to the Commission:

o A completed application containing all required signatures (see below)

e The floor plan must be completed on the application or attached to it on 8.5” x 11” paper.
The floor plan must be legible. If a family room is to be utilized, it and the bar area must
be specified on the floor plan.)

e The proper fee

Required Signatures in Marion County only: (Obtain in the order listed)

e The signature of the chief law enforcement officer for the agency who has jurisdiction
over the area where the event is to be held. The Indianapolis Police Department'’s
signature can be obtained at the roll call site that oversees the area where your function is
being held. Call (317) 327-3811 for information about the exact location.

o The signature of the Excise Police Officer located at 6400 E. 30th Street, Indianapolis.
Call 317-541-4100 for additional information. (THIS SIGNATURE MUST BE
OBTAINED LAST)

Required Signatures in Fort Wayne: (Obtained in order listed)
e The signature of Local Law Enforcement who has jurisdiction over the location.
o The signature of the mayor of Fort Wayne. The mayor has fourteen (14) days to rule on
the request.
« The signature of the Excise Police Officer who has jurisdiction over the location. (THIS
SIGNATURE MUST BE OBTAINED LAST)
Required Signatures in Counties other than Marion County: (Obtain in the order listed)

e The signature of the Local Law Enforcement who has jurisdiction over the location.


http://in.gov/atc/2409.htm

e The signature of the Excise Police Officer who has jurisdiction over the location. (THIS
SIGNATURE MUST BE OBTAINED LAST)

NOTE: If the event will be held in a town park in a town with a population of less than 10,000
persons, prior approval must be received from the Town Council. The Town Council has thirty
(30) days to rule on the request.

When obtaining Excise approval signatures, if you do not know the local Excise district for your
event, you can obtain this information from our website - Contact the Indiana State Excise
Police. An Excise Officer reserves the right to hold the application for review if he / she deems
necessary. The temporary permit may be revoked for good cause.

You must have individuals (at least 21 years of age) who are licensed servers and bartenders to
serve at the temporary function. Temporary Employee permits are available that can only be
used during the temporary function. Temporary Employee Permit application

The completed application must be submitted to the local Excise office at least fifteen (15) days
prior to the event. Once the application is approved and processed at the district, you will
receive an official temporary permit approval letter. Please display the temporary permit
approval letter at your event.

If you have any questions, please contact your local Excise district office.



http://www.in.gov/atc/isep/2379.htm
http://www.in.gov/atc/isep/2379.htm
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=11509
http://in.gov/atc/isep/2379.htm



