2011 Governor's Arts Awards Spotlight: Mark Fauser

Marion, Indiana resident Mark Fauser has a stellar resume which includes an acting opportunity alongside Jim Caviezel, Bruce Dem and Mary McCormick in the film Madison, and writing eight different studio screenplays, but all of these accomplishments occurred after he left Hollywood for Indiana.

"When I left Hollywood to raise my family in Indiana, I could never have imagined that I would be so blessed to actually work more in Hollywood," Fauser said. "In 2001, I took some time off to serve on the Community School of the Arts board here in Grant County. The passion to give back was a tradition that my teacher, mentor and friend Burt Reynolds instilled in me, and I felt compelled to pass it forward."

With Fauser's guidance, the Community School of the Arts has had a significant impact on the city of Marion and surrounding area. The school offers more than 100 classes to students from pre-school to senior citizens. Bringing in various Broadway and Hollywood stars, nationally renowned dance instructors, and recognized professional artists and cartoonists, the school instructors are encouraged to develop and grow with their students.

In addition to his leadership with the school, Fauser also created an annual fundraising event that involves more than 90 businesses with the common goal of providing art scholarships to students of the Community School of the Arts. Since its recent move to the downtown square, Community School for the Arts has literally transformed Marion's downtown at night. The facility is now viewed by community leaders as a recruitment tool for potential new businesses and residents.

Fauser also takes time to teach acting classes at a school for troubled students designed to help them build self-esteem and self-awareness beneficial to helping rebuild their families and school relationships.

Mark Fauser and the other 2011 Governor's Arts Award recipients will be honored during an awards ceremony and dinner Thursday, April 26, 2012 at the Ernestine M. Raclin School for the Arts on the campus of Indiana University South Bend.

The 2011 Governor's Arts Award recipients also include June Edwards, South Bend; Sylvia McNair, Bloomington; Susann McDonald, Bloomington; Alexander Toradze, South Bend; and the Children's Museum of Indianapolis.