- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.


Agency Links Links

IAC > Arts Education > Poetry Out Loud > 2008 Indiana Poetry Out Loud Winners 2008 Indiana Poetry Out Loud Winners

Indiana’s 2008 Poetry Out Loud State Champion Places in Top 12 at National Finals 

Sequoia J. Jelks, a senior at Broad Ripple High School, represented Indiana during the National Poetry Out Loud Finals on April 29, 2008. Jelks placed as a finalist in the competition and was one of 12 students to receive a $1,000 scholarship prize and $500 for her school to use for the purchase of poetry books.

Read more about the
2008 National Finals

2008 Regional & State Poetry Out Loud Finals

The 2008 Indiana Regional & State Poetry Out Loud Finals were held on Saturday, March 8 at the Frank and Katrina Basile Theater in the Indiana Historical Society.


  • State Champion: Sequoia J. Jelks, Broad Ripple High School (Indianapolis)
  • State Runner-Up: Dheevena Reddy, Homestead High School (Fort Wayne)
  • Third Place: Sarah Healey, Universtiy High School of Indiana (Carmel)
  • 2008 Participants

    The following students participated in the 2008 Indiana Poetry Out Loud competition:

  • Cameron Todd Anderson - Herron High School, Indianapolis
  • Chyna Cheaney - Signature School, Evansville
  • Lydia Hawkins - Tipton High School, Tipton
  • Sarah Healey - University High School of Indiana, Carmel
  • Sequoia J. Jelks - Broad Ripple High School, Indianapolis
  • Rithvi Melanta - Carmel High School, Carmel
  • Cait Molloy - Southport High School, Indianapolis
  • Jasmine Morris - Lawrence North High School, Indianapolis
  • Kally Musser - Options Charter School, Noblesville
  • Dheevena Reddy - Homestead High School, Fort Wayne
  • 2008 Indiana Poetry Out Loud Information