Main Content


Commissioner Responsibilities

Members of the Indiana Arts Commission are appointed by the Governor to act as commissioners-at-large, to represent the state as an entity, and to take the citizens of Indiana as their constituents. Individual commissioners should exercise partisanship on behalf of the cultural development of Indiana.

Members of the Commission are required to make a significant investment of time during their term of appointment. Commissioners are required to:

  • Attend quarterly business meetings each year (four days per year)
  • Serve on at least two standing committees of the Commission (an average of six days per year). Committees are appointed by the Commission chair.
  • May also chair a grant advisory panel meeting (1/2 to one day per year)
  • Attend other special Commission-sponsored functions, such as the Governor's Arts Awards, Commission/staff planning retreats, etc., as needed (one-two days per year)

Commissioners are also required to spend additional time preparing for meetings by reading meeting materials, traveling to meeting sites, and assisting in meeting planning. Staff support is provided at all meetings.

The Commission is assisted in its work by five standing committees: the Executive Committee; the Committee on the Future  (which functions as the finance, nominating, and planning committees); the Advocacy and Awareness Committee; the Program Evaluation Committee; and the Cultural Trust Advisory Board.

The Commission undertakes, on a periodic basis, a strategic planning process that results in a multi-year strategic plan. This plan is used to guide the Commission's activities and policy development over a three to five year period.

Agency Operations

The IAC has adopted a Policy Manual, which, in conjunction with all applicable state and federal laws and regulations, provides a framework for agency operations. The Executive Director is responsible for effective and efficient management of agency resources and works closely with the other state agencies, such as the State Budget Agency, in administering the Commission's daily operations. The Executive Director keeps the Commission informed through quarterly reports and reports to the appropriate Standing Committee.

The Indiana Arts Commission was created on July 1, 1967, by the Indiana General Assembly Acts 1965 c.248. The Governor of Indiana is empowered to appoint 15 commissioners to four-year terms. Commissioners may serve two consecutive four-year terms. The Enabling Legislation, Senate Enrolled Act No. 247, amending Acts 1965 c.248, reads as follows:

Insofar as practicable, the members of the Commission shall be selected so as to give representative of the various geographical areas of the State and to all fields of the performing and fine arts. Members shall be selected from among the residents of Indiana who have competence, experience, and interest in connection with the performing and fine arts. In making such appointments, due consideration shall be given to any recommendations made by representative civic, educational, and professional associations and groups concerned with or engaged in the production or presentation of the performing and fine arts.

Meetings of the Commission shall be held at least quarterly and at such other times as may be necessary. All meetings shall be upon the call of the Chairman.

The members of the Commission shall not be required to devote their full time to their duties, but shall devote such time as necessary to carry out their duties under this Act. The members of the Commission shall serve without pay, but shall be reimbursed for their reasonable and necessary expenses actually incurred in carrying out their duties.

General Appointment Qualifications

  • Residents of Indiana
  • Knowledgeable volunteer leadership in the arts or leadership in civic, business, education or social service sectors
  • Geographic representation
  • Multicultural representation
  • Specialized knowledge in the arts, communications, law, business management, public policy, etc.