Skip to content
 Events Calendar for IN.GOVClick here to Print
Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[GOV] Governor announces recent boards and commissions appointments
Start Date: 3/16/2009 All Day
End Date: 3/16/2009
Entry Description
INDIANAPOLIS (March 16, 2009) - Governor Mitch Daniels has named Greg Server, currently a member of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC), as the new chair of the Indiana Parole Board.

Server, who has been a member of the IURC since 2005, will join the parole board May 18. He will replace Christopher Meloy, who is retiring. Meloy's term expires July 1, 2012.

The IURC nominating committee has been notified of the impending vacancy by the governor's office and has been asked to begin the process of finding a replacement for Server, whose term expires August 22, 2009. According to state law, the IURC nominating committee is required to identify three nominees for the governor's consideration. 

Other recent appointments to boards and commissions are:

Indiana State Board of Education

The commission has the statutory responsibility to establish policies that promote excellence in learning for all students securing the optimum educational opportunity.

Membership: 10 gubernatorial appointees.

Governor's appointment:

  • Sarah O'Brien (Avon), 1st and 2nd grade teacher at White Oak Elementary. Represents 4th Congressional District.
  • Neil Pickett (Carmel), director of health policy research at Clarian Health.  Represents 5th Congressional District.
  • Terms expire July 1, 2009.

    State Fair Commission

    The commission's main role is to establish policies and procedures for the year-round operation of the Indiana State Fair Grounds.

    Membership: Five gubernatorial appointees, president of the Indiana State Fair Board, director of the Indiana State Department of Agriculture, and the president of the Center for Agriculture and Science Heritage.

    Governor's appointment:

    • Matthew Rekeweg (Wabash), vice president of Halderman Farm Management.

    Term expires September 30, 2012.

    Education Employment Relations Board

    The board represents Indiana's certificated public school employees in administering the Certificated Educational Employee Bargaining Act which provides for the right of collective bargaining through a school employee organization.

    Membership: Three gubernatorial appointees.

    Governor's appointments:

    • Steven Hayford (Bloomington), professor of dispute resolution and business law for Indiana University - Bloomington Kelley School of Business, and visiting faculty member at the Pepperdine University School of Law Institute for Dispute Resolution.

    Term expires July 1, 2011.

    • Oren Skinner (Angola), former principal and former superintendent of Metropolitan School District of Steuben County.

    Term expires July 1, 2012.

    Indiana Bond Bank

    The bank is not a state agency; its purpose is to buy and sell securities and to make loans to qualified entities. 

    Membership: Five gubernatorial appointees, the state treasurer, and the state public finance director.

    Governor's appointment:

    • William S. Konyha (Wabash), president and CEO of the Economic Development Group of Wabash County.

    Term expires July 1, 2010.

    Ethics Commission

    The commission receives complaints, initiates investigations, holds public hearings, decides if ethics violations have occurred, and recommends or imposes appropriate sanctions for the public employees of the executive branch.

    Membership: Five gubernatorial appointees.

    Governor's appointment:

    • Robert Jamison (Floyds Knobs), former senior resident agent for the Federal Bureau of Investigation in New Albany. 

    Term expires September 1, 2012.

    Horse Racing Commission

    The commission prescribes the rules and conditions for horse racing at a recognized venue.

    Membership: Five gubernatorial appointees.

    Governor's reappointments:

    • Alan Armstrong (Indianapolis), founder of A.J. Armstrong, Inc. Real Estate Firm.

    Term expires September 1, 2011.

    • Jim Lauck (Indianapolis), attorney at Kroger, Gardis & Regas.

    Term expires September 1, 2012.

    State Board of Pharmacy

    The board establishes requirements and tests for applicants' pharmacist licenses, regulates the sale of drugs and devices, and prescribes minimum standards for Indiana's pharmacies.

    Membership: Seven gubernatorial appointees.

    Governor's appointment:

    • Winifred Landis (Lafayette), pharmacist and certified diabetes educator for CVS Pharmacy. 

    Term expires September 1, 2012.

    Recycling Marketing Development Board

    The board may promote, fund and encourage programs facilitating the development and effective use of all sources of waste reduction, reuse and recycling in Indiana.

    Membership: Eight gubernatorial appointees and the lieutenant governor or designee.

    Governor's appointment:

    • Beth Bugbee (Carmel), president of EcoPartners, Inc. 

    Term expires July 1, 2012.

    Retirement Home Guaranty Fund Board of  Directors

    The fund provides protection of the contractual rights of those under continuing care contracts in retirement homes in the event of insolvency of that continuing care provider.

    Membership: Five gubernatorial appointees and the state securities commissioner.

    Governor's appointment:

    • Donald F. Woodley (Indianapolis), co-founder and principal of Woodley Farra Manion Portfolio Management.

    Term expires March 31, 2010.

    Commission on Community Service and Volunteerism

    The commission is responsible for the management and oversight of Indiana's community service and volunteer programs. 

    Membership: Up to 25 gubernatorial appointees.

    Governor's Reappointments:

    ·         Candace Moseley (Franklin)

    ·         John Lyter (Indianapolis)

    ·         Maggie Stevens (Indianapolis)

    Terms expire December 31, 2011.

    • David Reingold (Bloomington)

    Term expires December 31, 2010.


    Contact Information:
    Name: Brad Rateike
    Phone: 317/232-1800
    Entry Type:
    Press Release
    Agency Name

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search