Skip to content
Search events. View events.

Courts, Indiana

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[SUPREME] Nominating Commission names 3 finalists for Allen County judicial position
Start Date: 4/26/2013 All Day
End Date: 4/26/2013
Entry Description

The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced three finalists to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy. Commission Chairman and Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David announced the finalists. “The Commission members were extremely impressed with the caliber of all the applicants. They did not make our task easy—which speaks to the quality of the Allen County Bar.” The Commission selected the following finalists, in alphabetical order:

  • Magistrate Craig Bobay
  • Magistrate Jennifer DeGroote
  • Michael Michmerhuizen

The three finalists named above will be submitted to Governor Mike Pence.  He will name a Superior Court judge. Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of three candidates with written evaluations for the qualifications of each candidate.  Upon receiving the list of nominees, Governor Pence has 60 days in which to make an appointment to the Allen Superior Court.  In the event he does not do so, the Chief Justice of Indiana shall make the appointment from the list of nominees.

A vacancy on the Allen Superior Court became available with the retirement of Judge Stephen Sims.  In March, the Commission announced the Allen County Clerk would accept applications for the position until April 9.  On April 25, the Commission interviewed the eight candidates and then met in executive session to deliberate.  Clerk Lisa Borgmann explained, “Our staff was pleased to collect these fine applications and play a role in supporting the Commission and community as a new judge for Allen County is selected.”

The Nominating Commission was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 1983.  It consists of seven members including Edward Beck, James O’Connor, Jr., Suzan Rutz, Angela J. Moellering, Mark W. Terrell and Jonathan C. Ray.  It is chaired by Justice David who called the members, “fantastic representatives of the Allen County community and hard working volunteers.”

Location Information:
Allen County
Contact Information:
Name: Kathryn Dolan
Phone: 317-234-4722
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    Courts, Indiana

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search