INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee September 11, 2018

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division office, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent
Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf &
Indiana School for the Blind
Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.
Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc.
Jay Erickson – Ind. Dept. of Revenue

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc.
Rick Allen – IASBO

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Melissa Lechner – BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Chairman Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Guests that were present: Mark Deckard-Spencer-Owen Community Schools

Ryan Campbell – MacAllister Trans. Denis Wiger – Midwest Transit Equip.

Kelly Moore-Kerlin bus Sales

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of September 11, 2018 Page 2.

Approval of Minutes

The June 19, 2018, meeting minutes were reviewed. Dr. James Hanna moved to approve the minutes as written. Ron Chew seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ITEMS OF ACTION

Notice of Intent for Rulemaking – Specification Appeal - Noise Suppression Switch – Micro Bird

The Committee agreed to allow the Denial Letter sent by The Office of School Transportation stand without further action at this time.

360 Camera Systems Use Allowance

Kelly Moore with Kerlin Bus Sales presented information on the use of 360 camera systems. The Committee agreed to allow the use of the 360 camera system at this time while they are engaged in a full specification review. Mike LaRocco will send out a memorandum to all Transportation Directors advising of the decision.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Published - 17-270 - Seat Belt Cutter and Rear Lights Specification.

Example of "positive fastening method".

Mike LaRocco explained the finalized verbiage of this specification.

Correspondence

Recall Notice FL774AB – Thomas Brake Check Valve

Clifford Zehr advised the Committee that the recall has been taken care of. The recall only affected one school system.

Yellow Card Revocations-

Jeffrey Weber – Evansville – Vanderburgh County Schools John Hinderliter – Warsaw Community Schools Beth Roberts – Logansport Community Schools – Video Talisha Echols – Perry Township Schools

Skills Test Sites – Mike LaRocco reminded the Committee that on 9/4/18 the skills test changed for the off-set backing and parallel parking. The computer would now randomly select if a driver will test the off-set left or right or the parallel park on the driver side or the blind side.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of September 11, 2018 Page 3.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:43 a.m.

Next meeting date is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Vehicle Division, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Chairman				
Secretary				
 Date	 	 		