- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Workforce Development

YHCC > Eligibility Eligibility

Due to federal requirements, these jobs are limited to Hoosiers age 18-24, who

  1. Have a family income at or below the poverty level.
    Family of *Metropolitan Non-Metropolitan
    1 10,830 10,830
    2 14,570 14,570
    3 18,824 18,310
    4 23,239 22,272
    5 27,422 26,288
    6 32,075 30,742
    7 36,728 35,196
    8 41,381 39,650
    9 46,034 44,104
    10 50,687 48,558
    add for each add'l family member 4,653 4,454


  2. Receives or is a member of a family that receives income based public assistance such as temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) or supplemental nutrition assistance program (SNAP)

  3. Qualifies as a homeless individual

  4. Is a foster child

  5. Have been permitted by the Secretary of Labor to qualify because he/she is an individual with a disability whose income meets the requirements, even though he/she is a member of a family whose income does not meet the requirements.

    Youth with disabilities are considered to be a "family of one." This means when calculating your family income, you need only list YOUR income. The income of your parents does not apply.

Meeting the income requirements will not automatically make a person eligible.

*The following counties are metropolitan counties. All others are non-metropolitan.
Allen, Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Clark, Clay, Carroll, Dearborn, Delaware, Elkhart, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Howard, Jasper, Johnson, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Ohio, Owen, Porter, Posey, Putnam, St. Joseph, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wells, Warrick, Washington and Whitley Counties.