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TO:

The Worker’s Compensation Community

FROM:
G. Terrence Coriden

Date:

January 1, 1995

RE:

Medical Billing and House Enrolled Act 1772

HEA 1772, effective July 1, 1995, add two new sections addressing medical billing under the Worker’s Compensation Act.  With some exceptions, HEA 1772 essentially codifies the Board’s previous standards relating to medical billing issues.  For example, the terms “pecuniary liability” and “community”, which were previously defined in the “balance billing” order, now appear in the Worker’s Compensation Act.  The purpose of this memorandum is to provide an update on medical billing issues in worker’s compensation. 

Under IC 22-3-6-1(h) sets “pecuniary liability” at or below the eightieth percentile. IC 22-3-6-1(j) defines “community” by the creation of eight “geozip” groupings.  All medical bills reviews must compare providers located within the same “geozip” zone at the eightieth percentile.  Comparison of provider charges from outside the geozip groupings areas, including out of state, is not consistent with the Board’s criteria.

All billing reviews of medical treatment rendered under the Indiana Worker’s Compensation Act must be performed in accordance with Indiana law.  This means that if a billing review service wishes to a review medical providers located outside of the State of Indiana for treatment covered by the Indiana Worker’s Compensation Act, bills are to paid to the extent of pecuniary liability under IC 22-3-3-5, not under the billing review standards or fee schedules of another state.  The employer/insurance carrier and the billing review service have the responsibility to review bills under the correct jurisdiction’s standards.  Medical providers may resubmit to the billing review service any bill, which has been reviewed under an improper standard.

The practice of billing employees and employers for unpaid balances incurred under the Act is prohibited by the provisions of IC 22-3-3-4 and IC 22-3-3-5.  IC 22-3-3-5.1 provides that the board shall, upon hearing, assess civil penalties of between $100 and $1000 for medical providers who knowingly collect or attempt to collect fees from employees covered by the Act.  However, a medical provider who bills an employee in good faith, or without knowledge that a medical bill was incurred under Act, shall not be fined.

Recognition of a worker’s compensation claim by the employer/insurance carrier is key to fixing financial responsibility.  If an employer/insurance carrier has directed or 

authorized medical treatment for an injured employee, the employer/insurance carrier is responsible for the bill to the extent of pecuniary liability.

An injured employee seeking medical treatment without employer/insurance carrier authorization may or may not be responsible for the bill.  If an injured employee claims that in injury is a worker’s compensation matter, but the employer/insurance carrier denies coverage, medical providers should forestall collection for a reasonable period of time (90 days is suggested) in order to determine if the employee contests the denial by filing with the Board.  If the insurance carrier refuses to pay a bill and the employee fails to dispute the denial by seeking the assistance of the Board, the medical provider may bill the employee after ninety days have passed.  However, if the employee at any time files with the board, collection activity must immediately cease.  The employee must file within the statute of limitations to contest a denial.  It is the employee’s burden to pursue reimbursement through the formal hearing process for any medical expenses incurred outside of the direction of the employer/insurance carrier.

Under IC 22-3-3-5.2(b), medical providers may request an explanation from a billing review service within sixty days after receipt of notice of  a billing reduction.  Upon such request, the billing review service must provide 1) the name of the billing review service, 2) the dollar amount of the reduction, 3) the dollar amount of the medical service at the eightieth percentile, 4) in the case of CPT coding change, the basis upon which the change was made.  Billing review services must fully respond to requests for explanation within thirty (30) days.  Medical providers are encouraged to seek an explanation, a second review, or a negotiated settlement prior to filing a formal dispute with the Board.

The billing review provisions of IC 22-3-3-5 do not apply to fees for Independent Medical Examinations ordered pursuant to IC 22-3-3-7 and IC 22-3-4-11.

Pursuant to 631 IAC 1-1-25, all provider fee disputes will be heard at the agency’s offices in Indianapolis, unless otherwise ordered by the Board or unless joined with an employee’s claim for compensation.  Upon filing, the parties will be sent a copy of the “balance billing” order along with an order to file by legal brief an explanation of how the parties will be affected by the provisions of the order.  If no pleading or brief is received within the allotted time period, the board will assume that the dispute has been settled.

The board encourages agreements ( i.e. preferred provider arrangements) between employers, carriers, and medical providers concerning the level of payment for medical services.  In the absence of a statutory provision, any such contractual payment agreements will take precedence over the Board’s criteria.

The Worker’s Compensation Board has begun ordering selected “balance billing” disputes to mediation.  Selection of cases is at the discretion of the Board.  Themediation rules adopted by the Indiana Supreme Court apply.  Parties may avoid mediation by submitting a final resolution of all issues by written agreement.

Any questions may be directed to the office of the Executive Secretary of the Worker’s Compensation Board.

