Memorandum

From:  G. Terrence Coriden

Date:  September 14, 2001

Re:  2001 Legislative Changes

On May 10, 2001, Governor Frank O’Bannon signed House Enrolled Act 1553 into law.  This act went into effect on July 1, 2001, and made several changes to the Indiana Worker’s Compensation Act.  These alterations include:

1. Independent Contractor Exemption: The process in which independent contractors in the building and construction trades receive a certificate of exemption from the state’s worker’s compensation insurance requirement was significantly changed.  Independent contractors now wishing to receive a certificate of exemption (formerly called an affidavit) must now submit their applications to the Indiana Department of Revenue before being subject to final approval by the Board.  A seven-day waiting period for the certificates was enacted and the fee for this certificate was increased to $20.00.  

2. Homeowners:  Language was added to the Worker’s Compensation Act that excludes homeowners who hire contractors to perform work on their residencies from worker’s compensation insurance requirements.

3. Billing Review Services: HEA 1553 amended IC 22-3-3-5.2 and IC 22-3-7-17.2 to allow the Board to impose fines between $100.00 and $1000.00 on non-compliant billing review standards.

4. Second Injury Fund Assessment: The maximum rate for the second injury fund assessment was increased from 1.5% to 2.5%.   Further, all insurance carriers are now required to provide the Board with the name, address, and electronic mail address of a representative authorized to receive notices of the assessment.  

5. Employee Leasing: HEA 1553 provided that lessors and the lessees of employees shall be considered joint employers of the employees provided by the lessor to the lessee.

HEA 1553, which became Public Law 202, may be accessed in its entirety at: 
http://www.state.in.us/legislative/bills/2001/HE/HE1553.1.html
Worker’s Compensation Board of Indiana 
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