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POLICY
FINES AND ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

General

Indiana Code § 9-32-16-2(d) allows the Secretary of State’s office to revoke, suspend, or deny an application,
impose fines and costs, restrict, condition, limit, bar, suspend or rescind a dealer license for violations of
Indiana Code § 9-32 and Title 75 of the Indiana Administrative Code. Ind. Code § 9-32-17-1 allows the
Secretary of State to nnpose civil penalties of up to $10,000 for each violation of Ind. Code § 9-32 or 75 Ind.
Admin, Code 6. .

The Secretary, through the Auto Dealer Services Division (“Division™), administers and enforces Indiana Code
§ 9-32, Title 75 of the Indiana Administrative Code, and the policies and procedures of the Division.

Relevant Law

Ind. Code § 9-32-17-1
75 Ind. Admin. Code 6

Policy Statement

It shall be the policy of the Division to take the following actions for violations of Ind. Code § 9-32 or 75 Ind.
Admin. Code 6. These actions represent the minimum actions to be taken by the Division for the specified
violation. However, the Division reserves the right to deviate from these standards based on the several factors
including, but not limited to, the circumstances surrounding the violation, the number of a particular type of
violation found and the history of all violations found by the Division.

e Title delivery violations: This fine is set by statute and may be found at Ind. Code § 9-32-4-1. The fine

- for the first violation in a calendar year is $100. The fine for the second Vlolatlon is $250 and the fine for
each additional violation in a calendar year is $3500.

e Offsite sales: The Division will fine a dealer $1,000 for each unpenmtted offsite sale.

e Multiple issuances of interim plates The Division will fine a dealer $500 for each additional interim
plate issued to the same consumer for the same vehicle.

* Misuse of Dealer Plates: The Division will fine a dealer $500 for each instance in which a dealer is
found to have misused their metal dealer plates,

e Failure to disclose the rebuilt status of a vehicle: The Division will fine a dealer $1,000 for the first

- instance in which a dealer fails to disclose, in writing, that a vehicle has been rebuilt, $1,500 for the

second instance, and $2,000 for the third instance. The amount of any fine assessed agamst a dealer for a
fourth or subsequent instance shall be determined by the Division
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¢ Failure to produce records: The Division will fine $250 for every whole deal jacket a dealer fails to
produce at the request of the Division. If a deal jacket is produced but is incomplete, the Division will
fine $100. This fine may be assessed regardless of whether a fine is assessed for any other violation
related to the particular deal. For example, if the deal jacket that is missing or incomplete is related to a
deal for which the dealer failed to timely deliver title, the Division may assess a fine for each violation.

‘e Lack of bond or insurance: If the Division discovers that there was a lapse in coverage in the dealer’s
bond or insurance but the dealer currently has a valid bond or insurance policy in place, the Division
will fine the dealer $500. If the Division discovers that the bond or insurance policy has been cancelled
or otherwise has lapsed and the dealer cannot provide proof that a new bond or insurance policy has
been obtained, the Division will suspend the dealer license until a new bond or insurance policy is in
place.

e [ssuing a fake or altered interim plate: The Division will seek an order revoking the license of a dealer
who issued false or altered interim plates.

e Vacating a licensed location: The Division will seek an order revoking the license of a dealer who
appears to have vacated their licensed location.

e Failure to appear for an audit; If an examiner schedules an audit W1th a dealer and the dealer fails to
appear, the examiner will attempt to conduct a second audit. If the dealer fails to appear at the second
audit, the Division will seek an order revoking the dealer’s license. If the dealership is open and
operating, but a representative of the dealership with access to records fails to appear for a scheduled
audit, the Division will fine the dealership $500 and require an audit to be scheduled.

In many instances, the Division will be willing to negotiate a settlement. During these settlement negotiations,
the Division will consider several factors in determining whether to reduce the penalty. These factors include,
but are not limited to; the severity of the violations found, the history of violations found by the Division, and
any evidence provided by the dealer to show either a violation did not occur or the violation occurred due to
extenuating circumstances.

If the Division revokes a dealer’s license for any reason other than for vacating a licensed location, the dealer
will be prohibited from obtaining a new license.

Revision History
1. November 25, 2013: Initial Release

Approved by:
‘_&Mw /‘7( Beeta sV /7 / a5 / /5
Connie Lawson, Secretary of State "Date

Page 2 of 2
Indiana Government Center South, E-111, Indianapolis, IN 46204, (317)234-7190, Fax (317)233-1915



