IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Serve Indiana

Serve Indiana > Prep & Response > Community Organizations Active in Disaster (COADs) Community Organizations Active in Disaster (COADs)

COADs (Community Organizations Active in Disaster) are voluntary associations of community organizations who prepare to address all four phases of emergency management: mitigation, prevention, preparedness, response and recovery.


Tools and strategies used by COADs include disaster education, training/simulation exercises, hazard analysis, regional and community emergency management plans, and leadership development.


 1. Northwest Indiana COAD
Gordon Johnson – Chair
gordon.johnson@redcross.org
office: (219) 756-5360 ext. 6802
cell: (219) 746-9729
 10. Hancock County COAD
Jim Peters – Chair
iichron7v14@gmail.com
 2. Noble County COAD
Doug Keenan – Chair
keenand@purdue.edu
office: (260) 636-2111
 11. Johnson County COAD
Jill Bode – Chair
recoverydir@aol.com
 3. Allen County COAD
John Silcox – Chair
John.Silcox@co.allen.in.us
office: (260) 449-7395
 12. Shelby County COAD
Angie Davis – Chair
angie@scuffy.org
office: (317) 398-6231
 4. West Central Indiana COAD
Steve Cain – Chair
cain@purdue.edu
office: (765) 494-8410
cell: (765) 427-8881
 13. Owen County COAD
Annie Bright – Chair
brightside66@gmail.com
 5. Madison County COAD
Kim Rodgers-Hatfield – Chair
rsvp@unitedwaymadisonco.org
office: (765) 643-7493
 14. Monroe County COAD
Lucy Schaich – Chair
monroecountycoad@gmail.com
office: (812) 349-3433
 6. Delaware County COAD
Jason Rogers – Chair
jrogers@co.delaware.in.us
office: (765) 747-7719
 15. Bartholomew County COAD
Lanny Lawler – Chair
lanny@northchristian.com
office: (812) 372-1531
 7. Putnam County COAD
Bill Dory – Chair
economic_development@greencastle.com
office: (765) 653-2472
 16. Knox County COAD
Robert Murawski – Chair
knoxuw@sbcglobal.net
office: (317) 233-6545
 8. Hendricks County COAD
Wendy Johnson – Chair
office: (317) 921-1203
cell: (317) 523-6833
 17. Southwest Indiana COAD
Clem Behme – Chair
clembehme@yahoo.com
office: (812) 453-6788
 9. Marion County COAD
Mary Jones – Chair
maryjones@uwci.org
office: (317) 250-1779
cell: (317) 921-1208
 18. Southern Indiana COAD
Annette Lawler – Chair
aclawler@purdue.edu
office: (812) 738-4236

Download a PDF copy of the map