

#### INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

#### **MEMORANDUM**

**To:** Indiana State Board of Education

From: Ron Sandlin, Senior Director of School Performance & Transformation

**Date:** January 10, 2018

**RE:** UPDATE: 2017-2018 School Quality Reviews – TAT Membership

This memorandum serves as an update on the 2017-2018 School Quality Review process, specifically the structure and membership of the Technical Assistance Teams.

As outlined in Board Rule<sup>1</sup>, the Indiana State Board of Education ("Board") is responsible for establishing the membership of the expert review team that will conduct each School Quality Review.

## Each Technical Assistance Team Structure will have designated co-leaders to guide the entire review process.

- State Leader: Current or former School/District Administrator will provide experience and expertise during the onsite review. The co-leader will guide questioning during the school leader interview, meeting with district leaders, and other key aspects of the review.
   Additionally, the co-leader will ensure the team has collected sufficient evidence to inform concrete ratings and recommendations.
- <u>Co-Leader:</u> Member of the IDOE School Improvement Team will provide technical and operational support for throughout the review process. The state lead will have a strong understanding of the entire review process to help ensure consistency across visits.

Each team will also include teachers, school/district leaders, higher education administrators, and at least one representative from the community or region the school serves. Strategically selected teams, based on their concentration within one corporation, will include expert instructional consultants.

Position/Title	Total Number		
Teacher/Instructional Coach	21		
School/District Leader	18		
Higher Education	4		
Expert Consultants	8		

The following tables provide details about the membership of each individual technical assistance team. As outlined in the approved scope for the school quality review, each team will consist of at least five members. This list will continue to be updated as teams are finalized over the next two months. To help maximize efficiency, some team members will participate in two consecutive reviews when applicable.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 511 IAC 6.2-8-2 – Quality Review



**Harrison Primary Center** 

Pierre Moran Middle School

(Elkhart Community Schools)

(South Bend Community Sch Corp)

Mary Kapcoe

**IDOE** Specialist

Erin Stalbaum

**IDOE** Specialist

Ron Sandlin

SBOE Staff

### INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

/816						
School Name (Corporation Name)	State Lead	Co-Lead	Teacher Rep	School Admin	Expert Adviser/ Additional Member	Additional Member
Thursday, January 11 – Friday, Jan	uary 12					
John L McCulloch Jr. High School	Ron Sandlin	Dr. LaTonya Turner	Melissa Turner	Mark Keen	IDOE School	Jerry Harshman
(Marion Community Schools)	SBOE Sr. Director	Higher Education	Teacher	IDOE Sr. Leadership	Improvement Team	Superintendent (Ret)
Monday, January 22 – Tuesday, Jan	nuary 23:					
Bloomingdale Elementary School	John Purcell	Dr. LaTonya Turner	Phoebe Duvall	Patrick McAlister	Expert Instructional	Laurice Harris
(Fort Wayne Community Schools)	IDOE Specialist	Higher Education	Lead Teacher	IDOE Sr. Leadership	Consultant	Teacher (Ret.)
Kekionga Middle School	Kelly Grate	Melissa Blossom	Jessica Carlson	Ron Sandlin	Expert Instructional	Katie Metz
(Fort Wayne Community Schools)	IDOE Specialist	IDOE Asst. Director	Instructional Coach	SBOE Staff	Consultant	Asst. Principal
Merle J Abbett Elementary School	Erin Stalbaum	Tom Hakim	Christopher McGrew	Flora Gitsis	Erin Kissling	John White
(Fort Wayne Community Schools)	IDOE Specialist	Asst. Principal	SPED Teacher	Higher Education	IDOE Asst. Director	Social Worker (Ret)
Tuesday, February 6 – Friday, Febr						
Dickinson Fine Arts Academy	Kelly Grate	Patrick McAlister	Abby Pease	Sarah Shaffer		Pennie Gregory
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist	IDOE Sr. Staff	1100y 1 cuse	Sarah Sharter	Expert Instructional	Temme Gregory
Coquillard Primary Center	John Purcell		Resource Teacher	Anat Daimainal	Consultant	Lead Special
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist		Resource Teacher	Asst. Principal		Education Specialist
Muessel Primary Center	Kyle Zahn	Matt Voors	Nate Evans	Liz Martin		
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist	SBOE Exec. Director	Nate Evalis	Liz Martin	Expert Instructional	
Edison Intermediate Center	Mary Kapcoe	Scott Syverson	TAP Mentor	TAP Master	Consultant	
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist	IDOE Sr. Leadership	Teacher	Teacher		
Jackson Intermediate Center	Erin Stalbaum	Steve Pelych	Chris Schnepp	Lindsey Roache	Expert Instructional	
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist	Sieve Feryen	Chris Schnepp	Asst. Principal	Consultant	
Martin T Krueger Middle School	Kelly Grate	Principal	Teacher	Adam Meyers	Alicia Kielmovitch	
(Michigan City Schools)	IDOE Specialist	ттистрат	I Cacilei	Teacher	SBOE Sr. Director	
Marquette Montessori Academy	Erin Kissling	Melissa Bloom	Dr. Sue Fries	Karinda Holland	Expert Instructional	
(South Bend Community Sch Corp)	IDOE Specialist	IDOE Asst. Director	Geist Montessori	Geist Montessori	Consultant	

Suzanne Bachman

Teacher

**Colton Hissing** 

Teacher

**Expert Instructional** 

Consultant

Antonia Powell

**Instructional Coach** 

Bre Brown

Dir. Of Guidance



# INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

School Name (Corporation Name)	State Lead	Co-Lead	Teacher	School Admin	Expert Adviser/ Additional Member	Additional Member
Monday, February 12 – Tuesday, February 13:						
Bon Air Elementary School	Mark Keen	John Purcell	Abby Taylor	Taylor Brown		
(Kokomo School Corp)	IDOE Sr. Leadership	IDOE Specialist	Teacher	Dir. Talent Strategy		
Bon Air Middle School	Ron Sandlin	Kyle Zahn	Tyler Thiems	Brian Disney	Ma'at Lands	
(Kokomo School Corp)	SBOE Sr. Director	IDOE Specialist	Instructional Coach	Asst. Principal	Asst. Principal	
Pettit Park School	Scott Syverson	Kelly Grate	Megan Bilbo	Mark Hazelgrove		
(Kokomo School Corp)	IDOE Sr. Leadership	IDOE Specialist	SPED Teacher	Talent Management		
Wednesday, March 14 – Thursday, Lena Dunn Elementary School	March 15:  Robert Guffin	John Purcell				Ken Folks
Wednesday, March 14 – Thursday,	March 15:					
Lena Dunn Elementary School						
(Washington Community Schools)	Dir. of Leadership	IDOE Specialist				IDOE Sr. Leadership
Monday, March 19 – Tuesday, Mai	rch 20:					
William McKinley Elem School	Patrick McAlister	Kyle Zahn	Shivani Goyal	Nigena Livingston		
School City of East Chicago)	IDOE Sr. Staff	IDOE Specialist	Teacher	School Leader		
Wednesday, March 22 – Thursday, March 23:						
Highland Middle School	Ken Folks	Erin Stalbaum	Ralph Hogan	Ma'at Lands	Dr. Rebakah Baker	Sheridan Rayl
(Anderson Community Schools)	IDOE Sr. Leadership	IDOE Specialist	SPED Teacher	Asst. Principal	Higher Education	Higher Education
Tuesday, April 3 – Wednesday, Ap	ril 4:			,	,	
North Wayne Elementary School	Mark Keen		Nikki Moore	Amy Swan	Expert Instructional	Nigena Livingston
(MSD Wayne Township)	IDOE Sr. Leadership		Teacher	School Leader	Consultant	School Leader
Monday, April 9 – Tuesday, April 1	10:					
Oakland High School	Kyle Zahn	Scott Syverson	Chris York	Adam Love	Jeremy Eltz	
(Lafayette School Corporation)	IDOE Specialist	IDOE Sr. Leadership	Teacher	Principal	High Education	

Wednesday, April 11 – Thursday, April 12:

Decatur Township Sch of Excellence	Robert Guffin	Idalmi Acosta	N	Mark Keen
(MSD Decatur Township)	Dir. of Leadership	Teacher	IDOE	Sr. Leadership