For immediate release: Jun 26, 2007
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Brad Rateike
Phone: 317/232-1800

Seven selected as Governor's Fellows

INDIANAPOLIS (June 26, 2007) - Seven of Indiana's young leaders have been selected to the Governor's Fellowship, a year-long program giving recent college graduates experience serving in state government.

Fellows participate in the daily activities of state government, complete special projects, travel to observe how work in the State House translates into action throughout the state, and experience firsthand how policy is made.

"We want the best and the brightest to utilize their talents and abilities to serve their fellow citizens and help build a stronger Indiana," said Governor Mitch Daniels. "It is an exciting time to be a part of state government and this group will have an impact as they develop skills that will serve them throughout their careers."

The Governor's Fellowship program was created in 1983 by Governor Bob Orr and is open to college graduates who receive their bachelor's degrees in either fall of 2006 or spring of 2007. While any such graduate may apply, special consideration is given to applicants from Indiana, and candidates who have a B- or above grade point average.

The year of service corresponds with the state fiscal year, July 1, 2007 through June 30, 2008, during which Fellows receive a salary and full fringe benefits.

The 2007-2008 Governor's Fellows are:

Mark Becker

He is an Indiana Wesleyan University (IWU) graduate with a degree in political science and history.  Becker served two terms on the executive cabinet of IWU's student government in addition to serving three years on the executive board of the IWU College Republicans.

Ryan Daniel

An Anderson University graduate, Daniel graduated with a degree in political science and a minor in history.  Originally from Columbia City, Daniel served for a term as the student body president and competed on the university's debate team for three years.  He also served as an intern in Congressman Mike Pence's campaign office in Anderson as well as in the mayor's office in Columbia City.

Sarah Fritz

She is a graduate of Hanover College with a degree in political science and a minor in Spanish.  Originally from Zionsville, Fritz served as the president of Phi Sigma Iota, a nationally recognized foreign language honors society. She has previously interned for the National Endowment for the Arts in Washington, D.C., and the Indiana Republican Party.

Tess Larson

She is a Loyola University of Chicago graduate with a degree in criminal justice. Originally from Batesville, Larson interned at the United States Department of State and at the Indiana State Police Versailles Post. 

Elizabeth Lechleiter

She is a graduate of Xavier University with a degree in fine arts.  Lechleiter is a member of the Society of Visual Arts at Xavier where she served as the gallery director for student art.  She also interned for Walter Knabe Studios in Indianapolis and has had her work featured in numerous exhibitions in Cincinnati.

Emily Ouellette

She is a graduate of Hanover College with a degree in political science.  Ouellette, a native of Pittsboro, studied at Hanover's Center for Business Preparation as well as the Washington Center in Washington D.C.  She has previously interned at mCapitol Management in Washington, D.C., and the Indiana Governor's Office.

Mark Schocke

He is a Purdue University graduate with a degree in political science and minors in history and sociology.  Schocke, a Highland native, is an Eagle Scout and a member of Pi Sigma Alpha, a political science honor fraternity, as well as Phi Kappa Phi, an academic honor fraternity.  He has interned in the Washington, D.C. office of Congressman Steve Buyer, the Indiana office of Senator Richard Lugar and in the Indiana State Senate.



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Seven selected as Governor's Fellows Jun 26, 2007 content_id:C1207099290E4E59817997AB430667CF; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Jun 26, 2007; filterDate:200706; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;06 - June;2007;Press Release