For immediate release: Sep 01, 2011
Posted by: [DHS]
Contact: For Media Only: John Erickson or Emily Norcross
Phone: For Media Only: (317) 234-6713


INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) received word today from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that President Barack Obama has denied an appeal for Individual Assistance (citizens and businesses) for 11 counties.
The request was for damage sustained by severe weather that began April 19. The 11 counties in the request were Decatur, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh and Vigo.
"It's difficult to express how disappointed we are for the citizens of these counties," said IDHS Executive Director Joe Wainscott. "These grants would have gone a long way toward much needed relief for these Hoosiers."
Wainscott indicated he would recommend to Gov. Mitch Daniels that the state apply for a Small Business Administration declaration, which, if granted, would allow for low interest loans. IDHS will continue to seek other avenues to help Hoosiers who have been affected.
Individual Assistance Description
Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, vehicles, counseling, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Leadership for a Safe and Secure Indiana


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

FEMA DENIES FEDERAL ASSISTANCE APPEAL FOR 11 COUNTIES Sep 01, 2011 content_id:0FE31AC028934937914955FE6B4134B4; type:press; agency:DHS; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Sep 01, 2011; filterDate:201109; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:DHS;09 - September;2011;Press Release;Show on Home