For immediate release: Aug 16, 2011
Posted by: [DHS]
Contact: For Media Only: John Erickson or Emily Norcross
Phone: For Media Only: (317) 234-6713


INDIANAPOLIS - Governor Mitch Daniels has received word that Clay and Lawrence counties are now eligible for federal aid to local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in the wake of storms and flooding that began April 19.

This brings the total number of counties approved for public assistance to 36.

Public Assistance
Public assistance means state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Counties that have already been approved for federal public assistance are: Benton, Clark, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Dubois, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Martin, Monroe, Ohio, Orange, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, Starke, Sullivan, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Warrick, Washington and Wayne counties.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program
All counties in the State of Indiana are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program provides grants to state and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The purpose of the HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and shorten the time necessary for communities and individuals to recover from disasters large and small.

For Questions
For questions about hazard mitigation grants, contact your local emergency management agency or local executive branch of government. Local emergency management agency's contact information is available by accessing:

Leadership for a Safe and Secure Indiana


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

CLAY AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES APPROVED FOR FEDERAL PUBLIC ASSISTANCE Aug 16, 2011 content_id:920B58EB954E4A60B78F0EA70C4884E4; type:press; agency:DHS; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Aug 16, 2011; filterDate:201108; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:DHS;08 - August;2011;Press Release;Show on Home