For immediate release: Aug 05, 2011
Posted by: [DHS]
Contact: For Media Only: John Erickson or Emily Norcross
Phone: For Media Only: (317) 234-6713


INDIANAPOLIS - Governor Mitch Daniels today appealed the federal government's denial of disaster aid in the form of Individual Assistance for citizens and businesses in 11 counties.

The appeal is for damage sustained by severe weather that began April 19. The 11 counties in the appeal are: Decatur, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh and Vigo. 

The request seeks to extend storm events through June 6. The last severe storm in Indiana currently considered by the federal government is May 2. Also, Governor Daniels is seeking a decision reversal regarding a number of homes that were initially determined to be ineligible. 

Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, vehicles, counseling, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.
For questions, contact your county emergency management agency. Local agencies' contact information is available by accessing:

Leadership for a Safe and Secure Indiana




« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

GOVERNOR APPEALS FEDERAL DECISION ON ASSISTANCE FOR 11 COUNTIES Aug 05, 2011 content_id:999CA8C462AE4873BCE05DF03406C4CB; type:press; agency:DHS; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Aug 05, 2011; filterDate:201108; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:DHS;08 - August;2011;Press Release;Show on Home