For immediate release: Jul 08, 2011
Posted by: [DHS]
Contact: John Erickson or Emily Norcross
Phone: For Media Only: (317) 234-6713


INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) received word today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has denied a request for Individual Assistance (citizens and businesses) for 11 counties and Public Assistance (governments and certain private non profits) for two counties.
The request was for damage sustained by severe weather that began April 19.
The 11 counties in the request were Decatur, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh and Vigo. The two counties remaining in the public assistance request were Clay and Lawrence counties.
It has not yet been determined if there will be an appeal of the decisions. IDHS has reserved the right to request assistance for additional counties if warranted.
Individual Assistance Description
Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, vehicles, counseling, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.
Public Assistance Counties Previously Approved
On June 23, 32 counties were approved for public (governments and certain private non profits) assistance. They were: Benton, Clark, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Dubois, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Martin, Monroe, Ohio, Orange, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, Starke, Sullivan, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick and Washington.
Public assistance means state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program
All counties in the State of Indiana are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program provides grants to state and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The purpose of the HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and shorten the time necessary for communities and individuals to recover from disasters large and small.
Individuals interested in pursuing HMGP projects in their community should contact their county emergency management agency, county commissioners or city or town board members.
For Individual and Public Assistance Questions
For questions about individual or public assistance, contact your county emergency management agency. Local agencies' contact information is available by accessing:

Leadership for a Safe and Secure Indiana


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

FEMA DENIES INDIVIDUAL ASSISTANCE FOR 11 COUNTIES; PUBLIC ASSISTANCE FOR 2 COUNTIES Jul 08, 2011 content_id:B810356EE9B14350B50816931287858F; type:press; agency:DHS; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Jul 08, 2011; filterDate:201107; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:DHS;07 - July;2011;Press Release;Show on Home