For immediate release: Jul 06, 2010 12:00:00 EST
Posted by: [ISP]
Contact: Sgt. Rod Russell
Phone: 800-761-2985 (within Indiana) 765-369-2561 (outside Indiana)

Move Over, Slow Down-Updated Law Effective July 1, 2010

Effective July 1, 2010, there are two changes to Indiana's Move Over Law. Motorists must reduce their vehicles speed 10 mph under the posted speed limit if they cannot move to an adjacent lane safely. Secondly, the update law now includes utility service vehicles.

The Indiana State Police reminds drivers that Indiana law requires motorists to approach cautiously when an emergency or highway maintenance vehicle is stopped on two or four lane roadways with emergency lights flashing.

This is the time of year when highway work crews are out in road construction zones repairing roadways through out Indiana. Use extra care and reduce your speed in these work zones.

On March 16, 2010, a construction worker was struck and killed by a vehicle on I-80 at the 12.6 mile-marker in Lake County while patching the road. Also on March 24, 2010, a worker was struck by a vehicle, and injured on I-65 at the 131 mile-marker in Boone County while performing survey work in the median.

Motorists must change lanes away from the emergency vehicle if they can do it safely. If not they must reduce their speed 10 mph under the posted speed limit and proceed with caution. We are asking motorists NOT TO STOP in the roadway, this may cause a chain reaction rear end collision with other vehicles, but to MOVE OVER and/or SLOW DOWN.As you are driving, plan well ahead by watching for these vehicles.

Indiana emergency vehicles include:

·        Police vehicles

·        Ambulances

·        Fire trucks and rescue equipment

·        Highway incident-response vehicles

·        Highway maintenance vehicles

·        Utility service vehicles (effective July 1, 2010)

·        Vehicle recovery equipment (tow trucks)

The intent of this law is to protect the emergency and highway personnel who serve the public. Please be alert when you see emergency lights flashing and give them room to do their job safely. Violating the law can result in a fine and your license will be suspended up to 2 years if you cause damage to emergency equipment, injury or death to an emergency worker.

« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Move Over, Slow Down-Updated Law Effective July 1, 2010 Jul 06, 2010 content_id:B4B5451F10194D4B8D38E8B97D49634F; type:press; agency:ISP; showOnHomepage:; sortDate:Jul 06, 2010; filterDate:201007; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:ISP;07 - July;2010;Press Release;Show on Home