For immediate release: Nov 06, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

10 more counties approved for individual federal disaster assistance

INDIANAPOLIS (November 6, 2008 ) - Governor Mitch Daniels has received word that President George W. Bush has approved 10 additional counties for federal assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners suffering damage from severe weather that began September 12.

The counties are Franklin, Gibson, Jasper, Ohio, Orange, Posey, Ripley, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh and Warrick.

A total of 30 counties have been designated for federal individual assistance. Previously designated counties are Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Martin, Perry, Pike, Porter, Scott, Spencer, Switzerland and Washington counties. The state Department of Homeland Security has concluded damage assessments related to the September 12 storm.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) individual assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in those counties can apply for FEMA assistance immediately by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available 24 hours a day.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

10 more counties approved for individual federal disaster assistance Nov 06, 2008 content_id:AA252288014645B2A31629B5B7595DEE; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Nov 06, 2008; filterDate:200811; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;11 - November;2008;Press Release;Show on Home