For immediate release: Nov 03, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: John Erickson
Phone: 317/234-4214

Governor requests federal individual assistance for 10 more Indiana counties

INDIANAPOLIS (November 3, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels today requested that President George W. Bush add 10 additional counties to the disaster declaration for severe weather that began September 12.

The counties are Franklin, Gibson, Jasper, Ohio, Orange, Posey, Ripley, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh and Warrick.

If granted, the federal disaster declaration would qualify residents for individual assistance. Specifically, the governor has requested the Individual Assistance programs including the Individual and Household Program, Disaster Housing, Other Needs Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and US Small Business Administration Disaster Loans.

To date, 20 Indiana counties have been approved for federal individual assistance. Those counties are Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Martin, Perry, Pike, Porter, Scott, Spencer, Switzerland and Washington.

The governor is seeking federal assistance following damage that occurred in the northwest and southern parts of the state from strong winds and flooding caused by remnants of Hurricane Ike.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Governor requests federal individual assistance for 10 more Indiana counties Nov 03, 2008 content_id:E227E4EFEDAE4D7A98CF96BC69270294; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Nov 03, 2008; filterDate:200811; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;11 - November;2008;Press Release;Show on Home