For immediate release: Oct 17, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Disaster assistance to begin in more southern Indiana counties on Monday

INDIANAPOLIS (October 17, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels said today the state will offer help next week to storm victims in the four counties approved Thursday for federal individual assistance as the result of severe weather that struck the state in mid-September.  

The governor was notified the federal government has declared Floyd, Perry, Scott and Washington counties as disasters and made federal assistance available for homeowners, renters and businesses.

The state will open a one-stop disaster assistance center at the Floyd County Fairgrounds, 2818 Green Valley Road in New Albany on Monday. The facility will include representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and will include computers and phones for impacted residents to complete applications. State agencies that will be represented are the Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA), Department of Workforce Development, Department of Insurance and the Department of Health. It will be open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. local time Monday through October 25.

Daniels has asked the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to allow emergency food stamp distribution for victims in all four counties. As of today, the state has not received a response to its request, but if approved, emergency food stamp distribution will occur at the Floyd County Fairgrounds location for residents of Floyd County and at existing FSSA county offices in the three other counties.

If approval is granted between now and Mondayemergency food stamps will be available beginning Monday at the Floyd County Fairgrounds and these locations in Perry, Scott and Washington counties. Offices will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. through October 25.

Perry County Division of Family Resources
204 State Road 66 East

Tell City


Scott County Division of Family Resources

1048 West Community Way



Washington County Division of Family Resources

711 Anson Street, Suite 101



FEMA representatives and other state agencies will not be stationed at these offices, but FEMA applications can be made online or by telephone 24 hours a day. Residents and business owners who sustained losses can apply for FEMA assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

FEMA assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

So far, federal disaster declarations for individual assistance have been approved for 20 Indiana counties as a result of severe weather caused by Hurricane Ike. Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Porter, Spencer and Switzerland counties previously were approved for federal assistance.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Disaster assistance to begin in more southern Indiana counties on Monday Oct 17, 2008 content_id:4155050AF3124449AF6394F49C76AB09; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 17, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release;Show on Home